We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent food, excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big City Tavern

Big City Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Big City Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 1,320 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian, American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: SE 6 Ave
Description: Big City Tavern is reminiscent of the great old taverns of Chicago, New York and Boston. The menu features fresh seafood, steaks, pasta and salads. Our extensive wine list emphasizes California varietals by the glass and bottle. Big City Tavern has a rotating selection of craft and specialty beers on tap and available in bottle. Desserts are all house made and all delicious. Big City Tavern features high tin ceilings, wood floors and rustic brick walls. Patrons can take their place at our long oak bar or in the comfort of the dining room.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“excellent food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We went as a party of 4 for dinner; our 7pm reservations were honored even though the restaurant was packed on a Friday night...the server never made us feel rushed and was attentive....the calamari appetizer was done perfectly and even though each person in the party ordered something different, everything came out together and done correctly.....what a pleasure

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank diamonddon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    255
    92
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
418 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great Brunch Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Located on Los Olas this place is in a prime location. The decor of the restaurant makes you feel like you are in a cabin in the woods/old school club. Came here on a Sunday for brunch and it was really good; had the steak and eggs and was not disappointed. you can have bottomless mimosas or bloody marys for $12. There is also a patio outside where you can sit near the side walk and enjoy the Florida weather and people watching.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Exec_Backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miller Place, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, tasty food, service was fine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had a very nice dinner here this past week. The place was suggested to us by a local retail shop on Las Olas. She was right and we enjoyed our food as well as the nice outdoor seating. We had the Grilled Chicken Breast Paillard with Mashed Potatoes, Market Vegetables and Lemon Butter Caper Sauce ($21)as well as the Pan Roasted Salmon Filet with Tomato Infused Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Grilled Asparagus, and Jasmine Rice ($26). They were both delicious and the presentation was also very nice. I would go again and would recommend it to friends visiting Fort Lauderdale.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 10acious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Burger-Not Much Else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Dropped in for a burger, it was very good, one of the best in town. Unfortunately, if was still happy hour and the locals were lighting it up at bar. Very noisy and they didn't want to seat me outside because the tables are for large parties and I was solo. My server was polite and prompt with taking my order, but I never saw him again. This spot has really gone downhill, food is very much overpriced for the bar scene they seem to cater to these days. I guess sine I don't drink, I'm not worth the effort. Too bad, burger was great, but I can find another good one somewhere in town.

Helpful?
Thank Equineannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
437 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,249 helpful votes
“Good food, service...eh!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We went here for Mother's Day. The restaurant is centered in the middle of Las Olas. It is quite deceiving from the outside as it is larger than it appears.

It has nice ambiance and is a bit dark for dining. I was very disappointed in the service, as the server never checked back to refill waters, see if the orders were okay, which they were not. We had to hunt down other waiters to get our order corrected.

Once our orders were finally right, the food was good, but not the best we ever had. The veggies were the best thing on the plate. The asparagus and broccoli, not to be missed. The burger, standard fare, which is a shame, because we originally tasted them at the Burger Bash and they were amazing. No so on this date.

Would I recommend you try it? Possibly, but I don't think I'll be going back.

If this review was helpful, please remember to click the "Yes" button. Thanks :->

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynderella43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big City Tavern also viewed

 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Big City Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing