We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine place for a bite, but not cheap” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big City Tavern

Big City Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Big City Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 1,322 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian, American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: SE 6 Ave
Description: Big City Tavern is reminiscent of the great old taverns of Chicago, New York and Boston. The menu features fresh seafood, steaks, pasta and salads. Our extensive wine list emphasizes California varietals by the glass and bottle. Big City Tavern has a rotating selection of craft and specialty beers on tap and available in bottle. Desserts are all house made and all delicious. Big City Tavern features high tin ceilings, wood floors and rustic brick walls. Patrons can take their place at our long oak bar or in the comfort of the dining room.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fine place for a bite, but not cheap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Looked like it should be pub food. Food was fine; descriptions and prices were more upscale than the reality. At dinner the "background" music was too loud for conversation

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank maureane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    255
    92
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Nice atmosphere, outside seating great for people-watching. Good food, a little pricey but not outrageous.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Unsure at first, but all was well in the end!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We visit City Cellar, a sister restaurant of Big City on a regular basis, so we had hopes that the food and service would be the same. When we first arrived, we weren't sure that was going to be the case. The bartender who was behind the bar wasn't very attentive and getting our initial drink order in took way too long. When he delivered our drinks, he never came back to ask how they were. My drink had so much mix and very little of anything else. We ordered some food when he dropped the drinks off, but he never put the order in. As we tried repeatedly to get his attention, along with the few other bar patrons that were there, we watched as he counted his tips and figured that he was getting ready to end his shift. We were correct, as when the new bartender arrived, we were taken care of immediately. He asked how the drink was and I told him it was way too sweet, so he fixed that. He said that the bottle that they poured the sour mix out of wasn't properly secured, so I got mostly drink mix, with no alcohol in it. The nee drink he gave me was completely different. He looked for our food order and found nothing, so he got us some bread and food. He told us that the person who had been waiting on us was new and it was only his 2nd day. That might explain a lot, but still no excuse for lack of prompt service. The coconut shrimp and the meatballs, were absolutely delicious. As was the flatbread. Issac took really good care of us, he told us he's been with the restaurant for about 12 years. You could tell that he was a seasoned professional. We'll definitely be back again, but will be sure to sit on Isaac's side of the bar!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SeekTheBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
322 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Tasty food and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We recently visited the Big City Tavern on our recent trip to Florida.

We were unable to get a table on the outdoor patio, so we settled for one inside. The service was fast and friendly with the server explaining their menu. Everyone enjoyed the meals, from the Maryland jumbo lump crabcakes, 10oz home burger, pizza pepperoni to the local black grouper.

There are also a couple of TVs above the bar, so you can have a few drinks and watch sports before or after your meal if you so desire.

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and will be back the next time we are in Florida.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moondoggie317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best Hamburger Ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

All the food looked great but I couldn't resist trying a simple hamburger. Out of the park great. Huge selection of beer. Could have stayed all day and sampled every one.

Helpful?
Thank KENTW302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big City Tavern also viewed

 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Big City Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing