We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Casa Hotel
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

1st of all, I'm so glad to have had to opportunity to stay in this place. We drove down 15 hours from Richmond, VA. to find out that the hotel we had originality booked was under construction. It was so disappointing to find out that our plans have just been ruined and I was not about to stay in a place for 9 night with all that construction noise. Thankfully a few months ago we had looked up another NBV hotel that had looked really nice, but they were booked. I thought I would give it another try and give them a call, maybe they would have other options or openings. I spoke with Kevin and he was very delighted and willing to help. He told me that unfortunately he did not have any openings with 2 beds that they were all booked for that weekend. I asked him if he had anything with a pull out couch and he said YES! I immediately asked him if it was a possibility to come and look at the place just to make sure it would be confortable since we were going to stay 9 nights. We came by and fell in love with the environment of the hotel. It's so private and serene. The place is beautiful and very comfortable. The room is spacious even with the pull out couch open. The bathroom is very modern and clean. Our bed was extremely comfortable and to top, it was a king size bed. My 9 year old girl and my 7 year old boy had a wonderful time. It felt like we had our own villa. The other guest that were there were very friendly. We will defiantly come back to this place next time we are down here. Thanks for the wonderful hospitality.
P.s: Don't cut down the bushes that are around the front of the hotel. They give this place this wonderful privacy, they make the place fell so much more private and cozy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fcli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at La Casa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Carolina M,
Sorry to hear that your vacation didn't start out too well, but it's nice to know that we were able to turn it around! One of the great things about North Beach Village is that we definitely have a hotel for everyone's taste and budget, and we're always very happy to help our guests find that perfect place. We hope that you're able to come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    52
    14
    7
    9
See reviews for
15
104
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I absolutely loved our little staycation at La Casa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale. My two sister's each had their own rooms as well and the property was perfect for all of us. From the staff greeting us and showing us to our rooms, constantly there to help us if needed and such a pleasure. The property is small but extremely intimate and cozy. Perfect time for the kiddies in the pool and awesome location very close to the beach. Property had a grill that was perfect and suites are equipped with a kitchen with a stove only (no ovens). We had so much fun and will recommend to anyone looking to be treated awesome, be close to the beach and get a good rate! Five Stars!!!

Room Tip: All rooms were awesome! We had a few, including one/one and two suites with kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at La Casa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Jessica D,
We're here anytime you need a little break from the everyday routine! You're right, with only 16 rooms, La Casa is very intimate and cozy. Guests can rent out the entire property for reunions, weddings or even just a party! Thanks so much for your review. We have a lot of great specials going on during the summer so give us a call and let us be part of your next stay-cation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have been coming to this hotel for the last ten years on our anniversary. It is now under new management and we had high hopes for it. It touted the same quality service as the Flamingo...but now it's for everyone. We were all for it. We have always longed to bring our straight friends here to enjoy this getaway with us! Our experience has always been five star-- from the design of the facilities, the cleanliness of the rooms, to the impeccable quality of service; we were treated like royalty -- free happy hour drinks and a wonderful continental breakfast each day were an added plus.

From the moment we arrived last weekend, we noticed there was a different vibe to the hotel. No one answered the front gate, and we had to check in at the hotel across the street. We were given our keys and made our way to our room. We were told that the hotel was now "family friendly," but when we walked in, a heterosexual couple was heavy petting in the pool surrounded by alcoholic beverages on the table. I'm okay with this, as long as we're truthful about what "family friendly" means.

Upon entering the room, there was a strong smell of mildew and a hint of urine. We were immediately attacked by mosquitoes (we killed five in the fifteen minutes we stayed in the room). When we tried to inquire about the television, we realized that the room didn't have a telephone -- none of them did. We had to use our cell. This was too much in too short a time and disappointment was setting in. The number provided online did not go directly to the hotel but to an affiliate that I could not hear because of static on their side. I tried twice before walking across the street.

The front desk attendant was very kind and provided great service. She was the best part of the whole experience. She walked with me to check out our complaints, and was apologetic. She recognized the smell, noticed the dead mosquitoes, she was confused by the broken television and offered us a one bedroom suite at the same price. We accepted because we had no other choice; we were leaving for a cruise the next morning. The room was an upgrade, but there was still a faint odor of mildew, and the carpets and the couch had dirty stains.

The cost is worth the facilities. For some, $75 dollars for this hotel may seem like a bargain when you're not used to quality. But for others, the low cost now comes with a poor experience. I don't know what the other properties look like, but we are saddened to say that we will not be staying here again. Ft. Lauderdale has always been inextricably linked to this hotel. I guess it's time to say good-bye and move on to Royal Palms.

By the way, the mosquito problem must be directly related to the large planters that were nearly overflowing with old rain water and mosquito larvae.

Room Tip: Check the odor of the room before you settle on it. The smell of mildew seems to be pervasive, alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at La Casa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Vincent M,
You are correct, this hotel has changed from a gay men only hotel to a hotel that is open to everyone. We were sorry to hear about your experience and can assure you this is not the norm. We try very hard to make sure our guests are happy and encourage you to check out our other hotels that do cater to the gay only crowd, like Lush Royale, Palm Plaza, Elysium & as you mentioned, Royal Palms. Thank you for your feedback, we always appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Very disappointed with this hotel. This hotel was not good for a family. The room was too small and only had a refrigerator which worked out OK for breakfast if all we wanted was cereal but other meals had to be eaten out. The pool was small and got deep very quickly especially for little ones. Also, there was very little seating around the pool. There is a fence and entryway along the pool area which doesn't allow for many people to sit near the pool.

Room Tip: There are some suites available if you can afford the prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank private_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at La Casa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
private_7,
Thank you for your feedback. We really do have something for everyone and would love the chance to find you and your family the perfect hotel in North Beach Village. Please give us a call next time you're in the area and let us help! Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My Husband and I planned a spontaneous little getaway for Father's Day weekend. We honestly could not have picked a better hotel! A lush property with amazing staff made us feel so welcomed and relaxed. This is a quiet little hideaway in Fort Lauderdale is blocks from the beach. The rooms where spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. This is the Perfect Boutique Hotel. We will definitely be planning another stay here but next time with friends. :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at La Casa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Jessica D,
Isn't it great to find a nice surprise? La Casa is a real hidden gem, close to the beach but tucked away far enough that guests are able to have peace and quiet. Please give us a call next time you're coming, and let us help you plan that perfect visit. We have a variety of room types so if you come for a romantic weekend or want to rent the entire place for party we can accommodate! Thanks so much for your review, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

For three years, we have been enjoying the absolute joy of this very special place. It was our home away from home. We have cultivated friendships and knew that when the gate swung open, we were greeted with open and warm arms by the staff who had become dear friends. There is no better feeling than floating in that pool (in February no less) enjoying the whisper of the breeze through the lush foliage, and staring through the center court "4 palms." Quiet, quaint, luxurious, all words to describe the Flamingo. There is no better martini, than the ones crafted "with love" by dear Kevin. To step behind those walls of stucco and foliage, transported you to a safe, serene, relaxed, and loving environment where memories have been made, friendships formed, and a couple cultivated the love that they had for each other. It was our place, our home away from home. Farewell old friend, Perhaps the new owners will come to their senses. I cannot believe that we are the only people that feel this way...I'm sure the "February 2014" group is most dismayed.

Room Tip: Start a letter writing campaign to get "our" Flamingo back!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sexyrexy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at La Casa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
sexyrexy35,
We understand how it feels and would like to invite you to say hello to some new friends! North Beach Village has numerous properties, all with various styles, rates and clientele, and we know that we could help you find a new perfect spot in Ft. Lauderdale! Elysium Resort, Hotel Lush Royale and Grand Palm Plaza all cater to gay men. However, you're also still very welcome at La Casa (formerly Flamingo). Kevin is still there and we're sure he could still craft that martini for you! The place is still the same, with lush foliage and beautifully appointment rooms, just now there are more types of people to meet and more friendships to be made!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Just received an e-mail informing of the demise of the Flamingo Inn Amongst the Flowers. And so falls another of Fort Lauderdale's iconic gay properties. It had been sold to the North Beach Village group with it's insatiable appetite for swallowing the small independents in this area, so the writing was on the wall. The property will now operate under a policy of "inclusivity...welcoming all". I am neither anti-family nor misogynist, but it pains me to think of the class and civility of the Flamingo being "washed away" into the bland "whiteness" that is the branding of North Beach properties. How sad to think of the charming British West Indies decor (with just the right touches of "gay"!) replaced with IKEA showroom "chic"! (Not sure how the existing room layouts/amenities will translate to "family friendly"?)
So after many years of enjoyable visits.... I bid farewell....to the Flamingo...and likely Fort Lauderdale too....as it continues it's "Orlando-fication"!
Hopefully I can find a spot that will provide the sense of refinement (yep that means NO kids...there I said it!) and quality that the Flamingo represented.

Room Tip: None can be recommended now!
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank sanben9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,616 reviews
Beach Gardens
#63 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#56 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Winterset Hotel
#72 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Hotel

Property: La Casa Hotel
Address: 2727 Terramar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3906 (Formerly The Flamingo Inn Amongst the Flowers)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casa Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Casa, a charming boutique hotel located in the heart of North Beach Village. Surrounded by lush tropical landscapes, this 15 unit hotel is the ideal place for a quiet and relaxing holiday. With a variety of room types, including one bedroom apartments, we can easily accommodate both long and short term stays. Relax by the pools or enjoy a dip in the ocean, just five minutes away. Guests staying in any North Beach Village hotel are able to take advantage of all of the amenities in the village. Dine in casual elegance at the Village Cafe, spoil yourself at the Village Spa or keep fit and healthy with our health and fitness options, including Village Yoga. Imagine enjoying all of this without ever having to get out of your beach attire! Warmth and hospitality await you at La Casa. Give us a call today and let us help book your perfect visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Casa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Flamingo Inn Amongst The Flowers Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing