We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another week in paradise”
Review of La Casa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa Hotel
Houston, TX
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Another week in paradise”
Reviewed 28 June 2007

My parnter and I spent another wonderful week at The Flamingo in June. The every staff member works extra hard to make sure you feel that every need is met with recomendations for dining & things to do as well as giving you a map to the specific location. If you are planning a trip to Fort Lauderdale, you will not find a better place to stay than The Flamingo - Inn Amongst the Flowers. The rooms are beautifully decorated the baths are soptless w/ Aveda products and the beds are so restful you don't want to get up in the morning. Did I mention thast every afternoon they host a happy hour for the guests? We love this place and the owners Ray & Chip. Both of us are already counting the days until we are able to retun.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SamHouTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    57
    14
    7
    10
See reviews for
16
107
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2007

I have been staying at the Flamingo for my vacation for several years now - this shows that I really like this place!

First of all, it is a very nicely and classily decorated,. luxurious guesthouse - far above the usual standard of gay guesthouses. The rooms are also well decorated with large kingsize beds. They have many details that make your stay comfortable (e.g. umbrellas in case it rains, bathrobes etc.).

The owners as well as the staff are very friendly and helpfull.

As the guesthouse is more expensive than other gay guesthouses, it attracts a clientele that is well positioned and you always meet interesting, classy people with no attitude there. Yes it is a gay place but don't expect a cruising place, this is a place where you go to have a nive and quiet vacation.

Many gay guesthouses are expensive because people choose them to be with other gays but there is no luxury nor any comfort - the Flamingo is clearly an exception: luxurious with the standard of a 5-star hotel - I have stayed also in straight upscale places in Fort Lauderdale, but they are not as good as the Flamingo! I can 100% recommend this guesthouse!

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank TandTSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevensville, MD
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2007

My partner and I just returned from a great stay at the Flamingo. We stayed a total of 4 nights. The Inn has a lot to offer. Very nicely appointed rooms. Great size beds. Quiet and relaxing atmosphere with no attitude.
The Inn was pretty full while we were their. The daily 5:30 to 6:30 free cocktail hour was a great place to meet other guests as well as the owners. Free iced tea and cookies was a nice touch while sitting by the pool soaking up the sun.
We will definately be back next year!!
Only one minor complaint... A better quality of guest towels for the rooms.

  • Liked — Atmosphere, Other Guests
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ki1791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2006

We just stayed at The Flamingo for the first time and left quite satisfied; it was a relaxing, pleasant gay retreat in Fort Lauderdale. We stayed in one of the larger rooms, which was very clean and nicely appointed with luxurious linens, fresh flowers, wireless Internet - the works. The pool area is beautifully landscaped and very relaxing, the staff was friendly and helpful, and it's a nice location just a block from the beach. We'd definitely stay here again, and plan to do so soon.

  • Liked — The nice clean rooms and beautiful pool area.
  • Disliked — The breakfast is pretty basic.
  • Tips/Secrets — The Flamingo is near many of the other gay B&Bs but be forewarned that you have to drive or take a taxi to any of the gay clubs or businesses.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank davidbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullamore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2006

Such a great find! From the moment we arrived we felt at home, really hospitable hosts, great room and a lovely friendly atmosphere. Definetly the best gay hotel we've ever stayed in. Lovely products in the room, DVD library etc. We were there for the Streisand Concert (Stunning!!) our first visit to Fort lauderdale which I have to say was a little plastic and false but not the Inn!! So good that when our taxi failed to materialise one of the owners drove us to the Airport!!! Now that's hospitality!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank StreisandFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 618 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2006

This was our fourth stay at this hotel, so of course we must like it. My partner and I stay here or at Pineapple Point. Each hotel has its pluses and minuses. Our main reasons for choosing this hotel are the nice classic rooms, designed in a British West Indies style, the beautiful center courtyard area, and the proximity to the beach. We have stayed in different rooms and prefer the smaller rooms on the second floor in the back of the hotel. They are corner rooms and do not have windows that other guest can walk by, so you do not have to keep blinds closed for privacy. The preference for second floor rooms is because they receive more light. The bathrooms are nice and average size. Our most recent room had a glass block shower wall. All of the rooms have an upscale but relaxing feel. The rooms that we have stayed in have had both ceiling fans and air conditioning. The rooms are in good shape with housekeeping staying on top of things.

As I mentioned, the center courtyard is very nice with several umbrellas, tables, a fountain, and lots of comfortable lounge chairs overlooking the small but nice pool. The entire area is beautifully lit at night. The common lounge room is nicely decorated and has lots of newspapers, magazines, and books available. There is also a large collection of movies available.

A nice complimentary breakfast is provided, and there is a complimentary cocktail hour each night. Cookies and iced tea are provided during the midday hours. The staff is very nice and helpful. The clientele is mostly couples thirty and over. If you are looking for a nice more upscale hotel with a low key environment, then this is the right choice for you.

  • Liked — Classy environment
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Calafate, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2006

Summer is the slow season for the hotel and so this review may be a bit skewed. The positives are the location (very close to the beach), the pool, the friendliness of the staff and the room amenities (Avena). Some of the negatives however, rate this as an average boutique gay hotel: the constant visuals/noise of staff running between cleaning rooms, retentive tidying, landscape maintenance, mosquitos prevalent mid-morning and at dusk (need controlled), and breakfast/coffee between 8 and 9am -- definitely not what one would consider amenable to sleeping in.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T0Pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,017 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
809 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Winterset Hotel
#73 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
352 reviews
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#57 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
745 reviews
Central Beach
Tranquilo
Tranquilo
#49 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Hotel

Property: La Casa Hotel
Address: 2727 Terramar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3906 (Formerly The Flamingo Inn Amongst the Flowers)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casa Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Casa, a charming boutique hotel located in the heart of North Beach Village. Surrounded by lush tropical landscapes, this 15 unit hotel is the ideal place for a quiet and relaxing holiday. With a variety of room types, including one bedroom apartments, we can easily accommodate both long and short term stays. Relax by the pools or enjoy a dip in the ocean, just five minutes away. Guests staying in any North Beach Village hotel are able to take advantage of all of the amenities in the village. Dine in casual elegance at the Village Cafe, spoil yourself at the Village Spa or keep fit and healthy with our health and fitness options, including Village Yoga. Imagine enjoying all of this without ever having to get out of your beach attire! Warmth and hospitality await you at La Casa. Give us a call today and let us help book your perfect visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Casa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Flamingo Inn Amongst The Flowers Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing