We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nearly Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Just returned from an 8 night stay at the grand, having stayed at a few of the other gay hotels in the area, I have to say this is by far the best. The staff are very professional and helpful, the room spotless and large. (we had the two bedroom penthouse) I also like the fact that the pool is NOT clothing optional. There is a clothing optional area if that is your thing. I will definitely return to the Grand.
There was one problem, the pool area is lovely but the pool was VERY cold, this is meant to be a heated pool, I am a bit of a pool person and love to spend hours in a heated pool, the pool didn't feel like it was heated. In the 8 days we were there no one stayed in the pool more than 10 minutes due to the temperature. This really does need to be addressed.
One other slight problem was the website stated on the details for the room "Your Great Room opens to an outdoor living room on your private sun deck" the deck is very nice but not very "private" At least twice a day other guests would "stray" onto the deck and look into the room and generally have a nose about. There should be a sign or gate or something if this was to be a truly "private" deck as stated in the room description.
I so much wanted to give the Grand five stars but will have to settle for 4 due to the pool temperature. However it was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

We recently stayed at the Grand Resort and Spa for four nights in one of the penthouse suites overlooking the gardens. We had a terrific time and wanted to especially comment on the service. The staff there make you feel at home - especially the owner! I even left my sweatshirt on the bed and realized it when I got to the airport. I called, and I received it in the mail in Canada a week later. Also had two massages while there at the beautiful spa. We'll be going back, for sure!

Room Tip: Go for the penthouse room with private balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This resort truly surpassed our expectations...from check-in to check-out! Upon arrival, the attendant at the front desk gave us a tour of the entire grounds and pointed out all amenities that would make our stay enjoyable. The rooms were very clean with many modern touches, a nice tv, beautiful shower, and music playing upon arrival, making it feel like a home apartment rather than just another hotel room. The grounds are beautiful with many tropical trees and a beautiful assortment of orchids growing from the palm trees. The main pool at the front of the grounds is very nice and open 24 hours. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and available at all times, day or night. They offered coupons to several restaurants, made calls to cabs, and helped with the many questions we had regarding places to go around the city. The resort had beach chairs to use and offered towels to take to the beach daily. The spa and services are very affordable and add a relaxing touch that every vacation needs. The morning continental breakfast and evening happy hour drinks and appetizers were wonderful and gave us the opportunity to meet others at the resort. The Grand Resort and Spa will forever be our resort of choice when staying in Ft. Lauderdale!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shaunti79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My friends and I (from Melbourne, Australia) thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay at the resort. Staff were warm and very friendly -we just arrived from NYC so that was very noticeable. Our rooms were very clean and quiet, breakfast was great, pool was clean and the resort is surrounded by trees. It is located about 10 minutes walk from San Sebastian gay beach. After all our traveling (London, Toronto, Montreal, Quebec City & NYC in 3 weeks), Grand was the perfect place for us to unwind and relax before our long journey home. I will definitely recommend this resort to friends. A special shout out to Hugh & Bill for their hospitality.Thank you again for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I returned to the Grand Resort after many long years and it's better than ever. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the place is immaculate, and the rooms are sparkling clean. The staff seem to work round the clock to keep the place in tip-top shape. My vacation is extremely relaxing because I stayed at the Grand and I can't wait to return. Don't hesitate to book your next stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The hotel was great. The rooms were perfectly decorated and kept very clean. The king bed I stayed in was wonderful and had perfect linens. I slept better in the room than I do at home. Very quiet and the window unit AC was never an issue. Very modern - I appreciated that with the 50's architecture around the hotel. Mixed very well will the inside and out. There were limited food choices around the hotel. Also, nightlife - bars, were limited in the area. Wilton Manors was a taxi cab away ($50+ with tip roundtrip) but the W had 2 very interesting bars that were walking distance. A rental car is a must but parking is provided. I went solo to get away from everything for 4 days. It did provide the quite and tranquility I was looking for.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KYUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Look no further gentlemen, the Grand Resort is a beautifully kept, well ran, very clean, and nicely decorated bed-n-breakfast. They know Hospitality to a key and the staff is exceptionally well mannered. Very close to the ocean with beach accessories to accommodate your needs. I walked in a tense NY’er, and walked out totally relaxed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,813 reviews
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdal...
#2 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,019 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,031 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#5 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,591 reviews
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#17 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Resort and Spa

Address: 539 North Birch Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £128 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXCEEDING EXPECTATIONS: The Grand Resort and Spa is Fort Lauderdale’s largest and finest gay owned and operated men’s spa-resort that first opened in 1999. With 33 well-appointed rooms and suites, we are located just steps from the beach and convenient to all of Fort Lauderdale’s attractions and nightlife. As Fort Lauderdale’s first gay resort with its own full-service day spa and hair studio, we can offer our guests an experience that is unique and wonderfully indulgent. From a relaxing Swedish massage to a haircut before your night on the town, we can accommodate all your needs right here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Grand Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing