We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the discerning gay traveller - you must stay at The Grand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2009

After researching the internet and reading the UK Gay publications, we decided on staying at The Grand Resort and Spa as part of our 3 city South Florida holiday. We could not have picked a better place.

We had booked a suite but were upgraded to the Apartment with its own lounge, kitchen, 2 beds and a bathroom. We could not have been looked after more. It was like a home from home. Extremely peaceful with free cocktails, wifi, breakfast and other little treats, you felt like royalty.

We had been warned about parking being limited but there is plenty of parking free of charge at either side of the resort.

We had a couples massage which was devine and the rest of the Spa treatments equally looked superb.

The only problem with The Grand was leaving. Sure its a bit more expensive but worth every single penny...

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andysteve01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2009

First timers to Ft. Lauderdale and after doing a good bit of research decided to give the Grand a go. Really glad we did. The rooms were recently renovated with slate floors and tiled showers with great water flow on the showers. The products offered in the bathrooms were spa quality. We really appreciated the fact that the pool area required bathing suits and the courtyard with the jacuzzi was clothing optional. Young professional couple here and we have been to other resorts in Palm Springs and find this to be head over heels better than those. The proximity to Sebastian Beach is great as well. However, the best thing about this place has to be Casey and Herb who went out of their way to make every guest feel welcome and pampered. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atlsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

We just got back from another wonderful stay at the Grand. Never have I stayed at someplace where the staff was so friendly and set the mood for all of the guests. My partner and I were traveling with a friend and were immediately offered the penthouse suite by the wonderful Herb. The room was roomy and great. The daily happy hour is a great opprotunity to make new friends and meet the staff. The owner Casey is a sweet heart. We were very happily surprised by friends we met there last year and look forward to staying again next year.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank chrssmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009

For our first anniversary trip, my partner and I spent a lot of time last fall researching the perfect place in Ft. Lauderdale. Having just spent the past four nights at The Grand, we can certainly say we left very pleased with our selection.

A few of the highlights of this resort include:

• The Spa! - The staff is very friendly, the cabana massage is a must (we did the deep tissue – and it was great), and we both enjoyed the facial. You can go to the spa regardless if you stay at the resort, but if you’re going to stay on property you can save about $100 by booking the “Quick Chill” package.
• The Beach - You are only two blocks from the beach and four more down to reach the gay area. Look for the kid’s playground – it was built a few years ago by the very anti-gay ex-mayor!
• The Layout – The pool is nicely situated at the front of the resort, with the hot tub/courtyard area in the back (same place where the spa does the private cabana massage). Above the office area is a great sun deck. Never had a problem finding a chair somewhere. The only clothing optional area is the courtyard, which on some days was filled with a few less desirables. h We found everyone to be very friendly and overall the great part of the layout was the many options offered!

A couple of things we would change:

• Drinks – It would be nice if you could order a drink and/or some food. I think the liquor laws make this challenging for a small resort.
• Gym – while the size was to be expected (rather small), the elliptical machine was not even operational. That was a bummer.

One must do --- at about 5:30 (don’t get there later than 6pm), go to the Ritz Carlton (just north of the gay beach on A1A), take the elevator up to the pool level (7), and grab a drink from the gay bartender while he is closing down for the evening. You will have the place to yourself in an ocean front lounging couch, one heck of a powerful drink, and a view of the fading horizon that only the Ritz can provide.

We ate at four excellent restaurants during our visit:

• Café Vico – A awesome Italian place near Sunrise and US1 – the Chicken Ravoli in a Black Cherry wine sauce was out of this world.
• Galanga - Thai food right in the heart of Wilton Mannors. The calamari appetizer was great.
• Blue Moon Fish Company – Right on the intercoastal (10 min north of the resort in Lauderdale by the Sea). It is on Comercial Ave. Not very gay, but friendly for sure.
• Canyon – You can’t read about restaurants in Ft L without hearing about this one! Go for the prickly pear margarita but make sure and save room for the signature bread pudding.

Hope you enjoy Lauderdale. I am ready to plan a return trip!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bigd_travelguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2009

We are regular visitors to Ft. Lauderdale but had never stayed at The Grand Resort and Spa although we had taken advantage of the spa services before.

We felt very comfortable at this resort.....the room was immaculate, the staff very friendly, and it is conveniently located within a 2 minute walk to the beach.

We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank brand11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2008

First of all I have to tell you in all my travels to Fort Lauderdale I have not stayed at a better place than the Grand Resort. Me and my partner just got back there from a week long stay it was remarkable. From the moment we walked in Herb was the most polite and helpful staff person accomadating us at our every need. The resort itself is beautiful and the rooms are definelty updated and up to par for the course. Nothing comes close to it anywhere near by. I have stayed at many resorts there. Save your thinking and just book here. You will be in paradise and love it. I promise.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gronberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2008

Myself and my partner stayed at the Grand Resort in early September 08 and stayed in one of the Junior Suites. The room was very comfortable and right next to the pool (which is great by the way). Being the weekend of Labor Day, the resort was buzzing and there was a great atmosphere about the place. The room was of a very high standard and was cleaned meticulously each day. The staff were also very professional and friendly and were always on hand to give advice about Fort Lauderdale. The hotel is a short walk from the beach, but the city is very spread out so you'll probably have to drive or taxi it to many of the pubs and night clubs. I really enjoyed my visit to the Grand and would love to return there some day. Needless to say, i would definitely recommend the Grand Resort & Spa.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank viking74Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,819 reviews
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdal...
#2 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,014 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,764 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,573 reviews
The Worthington Guest House
#3 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Resort and Spa

Address: 539 North Birch Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £138 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Resort and Spa is Fort Lauderdale Beach's largest gay owned men's spa-resort. 33 updated stylish rooms and suites all with flat panel TVs and Blu Ray DVD players. Just steps to the Atlantic Ocean, we take great strides to ensure that your stay is enjoyable and carefree. You will sense an exceptional friendliness and warmth each time you visit. "The Spa at the Grand Resort" is also open to the public. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your The Grand Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing