We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
new jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Absolute Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Grand Resort for the first time, as we were looking for a short little getaway from the cold weather. We found the Grand resort met all our expectations. Beautiful grounds well maintained, large rooms that were clean and had all the amenities. A nice pool and hot tub, gardens, and hospitality room. Upon our arrival, Herb welcomed us and gave a full tour of the property and answered all our questions. We requested a late checkout and although our room was the day we were leaving, went out of there way to make sure we stayed as late as we needed. We meet great people at the Grand and a pleasure to hang around the pool and talk. We took advantage of the spa treatments that was wonderful. We found a new home in Ft Lauderale!!
Mike and Rob NJ

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikewnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    55
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
183
79
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

Our first stay at a guesthouse on Ft. Lauderdale beach, but we have vacationed in Ft. Lauderdale dozens of times over decades. We are very pleased and would definitely go back here anytime. Very friendly, very professional staff. Perfect rooms. Perfect cleanliness. Good location. Reasonable prices. The Grand is run really well and we highly recommend it. If you want a sleazy frisky place, go elsewhere. If you want a beautiful room and well kept up property with professional management, go here.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Worm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashville, tn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

Our 6 night stay at the Grand was superb. The grounds are amazing the the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. After staying at and researching other gay resorts in the past, The Grand will be our destination of choice whenever we return to Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNtraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2009

Had two rooms booked here for two nights in May 09. Booked the cheapest rooms and was pleasantly surprised at the size of the room I was given. Good size, nice decor, good furnishings and an excellent bathroom ... especially the large, walk-in shower with rainfall showerhead. The other room provided was rejected because it smelt of damp, but a transfer to an upgraded room alongside the pool was arranged without a fuss.

My only criticism of the room I was in was the lighting ... yes, it's nice to have 'atmosphere' lighting, but there's too little of it! In particular the alcove in which the coffeemaker and snacks are stored was extremely dark and it was extremely difficult to see what I was doing. Also, the refrigerator was rather noisy ... I unplugged it on the first night but did have to mop up a small amount of water from the floor the following morning! For some reason it wasn't as noisy the second night ... perhaps I'd inadvertently defrosted it.

Breakfast, as reviewed by someone else, is pretty basic comprising pre-packed muffins, cereals and bagels. Evidently this is because the licensing requirements for food preparation are very stringent and onerous and they've been either unable or unwilling to accommodate them.

As a criticism, I was rather irritated to find an envelope left on the bed on the day of departure suggesting that I may like to leave a gratuity for the staff. I've never encountered this in a hotel before and found it to be rather unacceptable. The tipping culture in the US is getting out of hand with excpectations of 18% on top of the cost of a meal.

One final point - we were recommend to a restaurant called Hi Life Cafe. Evidently very popular, great food, good reputation. The food was OK, not great. They also offer half-portions at pretty much half the menu price - great idea given the normal size of a plate of food in the US ... unfortunately their full size plates are around half the size of a normal US plate, meaning that the half-portion is woefully inadequate. Over priced. Wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KerryKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2009

We stayed at Grand resort for 4 nights back in May as part of our 2 week Florida trip from UK. We booked a court yard room but up on arrival the manager upgrade us to a 1 bedroom suite which was a nice surprise. The room was really spacious with the kitchen which was handy when we didn't feel like going out for a meal. The king size bed was really comfortable. The location of th hotel could not have been better. It's one block behind the main street and about 10 miutes walk to Sebatian beach, and they provide you with free beach towels which was really handy. Breakfast was simple affair with bagels, toast and cereal but the afternoon au dourves on the weekend was a nice touch. The only downside of the hotel is that the clothing options area is at the back of the hotel where the tropical garden and spa is and there were a few mosquitos. All in all we had a great stay and all the staff were very friendly and attentive. Would definetly stay at Grand resort again when we visit Ft Lauderdale next time.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pharaohnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

Well located hotel, not far from the beach. The rooms are nicely decorated, clean and tidy. Very good standards overall. The hotel is just a 15 min. ride from Wilton Manors - taxis are not expensive but a car would be highly recommended (unless you're going to drink, in which case Florida laws are very strict). The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the atmosphere relaxed and just lovely. Great pool and jacuzzi! The only point preventing me from giving the "exceptional" rating is because of breakfast: from a 4-star resort I would have expected fresh breakfast and not pre-packaged bagels or pastry. The choice was fine though! I would certainly go back if I decided to visit Ft. Lauderdale again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InspirationLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

We had high hopes for this place, but the front desk staff were so unfriendly and snotty that it made the rest of the stay unpleasant. So, that was the bad part, but the good part is that the spa was great and we would recommend that anytime. As for the hotel itself, the rooms were nice, clean, etc. I guess if you can avoid the front desk staff you may be fine. Just remember that there are lots of alternatives where they actually appreciate your business and are nice to you!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank alwaysonthego87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,665 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,567 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,950 reviews
The Worthington Guest House
#3 of 33 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Resort and Spa

Property: The Grand Resort and Spa
Address: 539 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Resort and Spa is Fort Lauderdale Beach's largest gay owned men's spa-resort. 33 updated stylish rooms and suites all with flat panel TVs and Blu Ray DVD players. Just steps to the Atlantic Ocean, we take great strides to ensure that your stay is enjoyable and carefree. You will sense an exceptional friendliness and warmth each time you visit. "The Spa at the Grand Resort" is also open to the public. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing