We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a relaxing day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windamar Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I was in Ft. Lauderdale on a business trip and had an unexpected free day and wanted to check out the beach and possibly have some nude sun bathing time. I didn't feel like driving all the way to Haulover since the weather was overcast and opted instead for a day pass at Windamar.

The hotel is really only 2 blocks from and beach and it was great because I was able to leave my valuables in a locker and go to the beach for a bit.

The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating, answering all questions I had of the area. The facilities are nice and the landscaping is beautiful. The exterior could use a new coat of paint or a power washing. The pool/hot tub area is medium sized and well maintained, more comfortable lounge chairs would be nice. I met some very nice guests who kindly showed me their rooms since I had considered booking for a future trip. The rooms were nice, basic and clean.

The "cultural center" was in a basement area away from the pool area. It was what you would expect for a clothing optional mens resort.

All in all had a great time and it was a very relaxing day. I would consider staying there next time Im in town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

I have been coming here for 6 years and it just keeps getting better and better. They have now installed extremely comfortable king beds in a lot of rooms. The staff is very friendly and helpful, they make staying here a joy!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KM66027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Check in: Check in with Vim was ok. He was friendly. Was a little disappointed that we weren't give a quick tour of the place so we knew where everything was. But we figured it out quickly. Would have helped if we were given the internet code at check-in as well. Couldn't access the internet until Day 2.

Room: Our room was nice and clean. The A/C worked great. The bathroom needs a lot of attention. It's amazing what just a little paint and touch-ups can do. See attached pics. After 2nd day, we had to leave a note for the sheets to be changed since they were dirty. We did tip housekeeping! Just felt we shouldn't have needed to ask for the sheets to be changed.

Pool/jacuzzi area: The pool was dirty on the bottom and we didn't see anyone clean it the 5 days we were there. The jacuzzi was a little dirty too.

Video/Playroom: It was nice having this on site for some added spark!

Overall: The resort is somewhat smaller than other resorts in the area. It was okay. Not sure it is worth the price though.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

we stayed again this year for the 3rd time, 10/4/13 -10/12/13 and again a wonderful time, Jc ,Mike, and all were once again Great, we met so many wonderful people this year. cant wait to go back, nothing better than being naked 24/7 ;-)

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are quieter, also a few rooms have couch and kitchen if that is what you want. we lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed a long weekend at the Windamar in May '13, the friendly staff made me feel right at home. The rooms and pool area were clean and well kept, and I had fun meeting cool guys at poolside. On Saturday we were treated to beers and a cookout on the patio. The beach and restaurants are a short walk from the hotel, and cabs arrive quickly if you call for one. I look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyRuggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I stopped going here for about two years. It was just getting too dumpy. Newer manager Vim is a great new addition. Some new faces on staff make a wonderful difference. Cleanliness has improved a lot. Previously very dirty rooms! I will be coming back for the fun! Keep up the positive changes.

Room Tip: Upper floors better, can see the pool but get away from the crowd if you want to be outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Civette99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We had the BEST time ever. Met a great bunch of people, and found the whole experiance refreshing and exciting. Can't wait to come back to Windamar soon! Vim, Mike, and Jesse were just the best. The room was comfortable, great pool area, loved being nude!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank daryl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Hotel Lush Royale
Hotel Lush Royale
#12 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
317 reviews
Central Beach
Cheston House Gay Resort
Cheston House Gay Resort
#17 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
105 reviews
Central Beach
The Grand Resort and Spa
The Grand Resort and Spa
#2 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Worthington Guest House
#3 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
858 reviews
Alcazar Resort
#5 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
403 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windamar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windamar Beach Resort

Address: 543 Breakers Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4129
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Class:2 star — Windamar Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are One of Fort Lauderdale's Longest Running Gay Owned and Operated Guest Houses Catering Exclusively to Gay Men, and winner of the "Best of Fort Lauderdale" Award. Our Tropical Climate Resort, Beautiful Beaches and Busy Nightlife make Fort Lauderdale one of the Top Vacation Destinations in South Florida. We are located just steps from Seductive Beaches and Minutes from the Wilton Drive for Dancing and Socializing. Enjoy World Class Shopping and Fine/Casual Dining options Galore. Our Entire Property has been Recently Renovated. Guest Rooms are updated to a Crisp Contemporary Style and Feature Pool or Garden Views. If you enjoy a bit of Spice in your life, our Newly Remodeled Video Lounge is always available for Resort and Day Pass Men. The New Tiki Huts, Lush Landscaping and Private Garden Areas Enhance the Tropical Ambiance which will make you feel Secluded from the World around you. Lose the Tan Lines and Enjoy the Clothing Optional Fun Everywhere!! Soak away the Stress in our Shimmering Pool and Bubbling Hot Tub, Open 24/7. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windamar Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing