We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location”
Review of The Aqua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Aqua Hotel
Ranked #11 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Scotch Plains
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The hotel aqua is a boutique hotel 2 blocks from the Ft lauderdale beach and 7 miles from the airport. It is also very close to the Galleria mall. The rooms are quite comfortable and offer kitchenettes with cook top, toasters and others conveniences. The property offers 2 pools in addition to its close proximity to the beach. The only reason I did not score it a 5 is that they have no one in reception after midnite and if you arrive late, as we did, it is a bit of a hassle to check in. Secondly, the folks upstairs from us decided to move furniture at 3 I the morning....but there is nothing the management can do about that,except remind their guests to be mindful of their neighbors...a crap shoot in any hotel and lastly, the air conditioning system is very loud, and should be reviewed by management.
The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IMB95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    253
    50
    24
    12
See reviews for
303
453
48
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We took the suite upstairs with full kitchenette for 1 night, very nice,
clean, neat and welcoming.
Booked through the internet in advance on Aqua's website.
One of the outlets in the kitchen wasn't working, so the lady manager on
duty gave us an extension to plug appliance in to another outlet;
my nephew was twirling in a leather chair (can twirl 360 degrees) and
she saw him doing this and she said if he breaks it, we'll have to replace it or pay for it --- my
nephew said : ohhh ok i'm so sorry. I was shocked.
ahhhh okkkkkkk --- won't be going back there. He wasn't being rough at all.. just slow motion
twirling in the chair. my nephew has a deep respect for other peoples' valuables.
But that was just 1 manager - I met 2 others at the desk (younger) they were great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beach_Vacation_Girl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed here for a week post cruise and really enjoyed our time at the Aqua. The location is ideal being just a couple blocks from the beach and all the beachside activities and is far enough away from the strip to be quiet in the evenings. You can just park your car and relax taking in all Ft Lauderdale has to offer. There is a Starbucks across the street in the Hilton resort (and one further down the street in the Westin) which is handy for a daily fix of your beverage of choice.

The staff are friendly and very helpful and always on hand with suggestions and advice. Room was always clean and ready when we needed it and it was nice to have beach towels in the room.

We originally booked a one room king but on seeing the one bedroom and full kitchen rooms upgraded to one of these for our stay. Its well worth it if you are there for more than a day or two. Had to change rooms after a day since the wifi was non existent in our first room (Room 2210 on the outside corner) and we moved to room 1207 nearer the office and the wifi was fine if slow. If wifi is important to you check the reception before committing to the room.

TIP: Room 1207 and its neighbor have a nice balcony with table, chairs and sun loungers and we found this to be a great additional living space to have breakfast etc and watch the world go by below.

Couple of other little things we noticed. The TV does not receive CNN even although it says it does--not a big deal but when you want to watch the news its a bit disappointing. There are a number of little things needing repaired in the room: several lamps have base parts missing, the glass shelves in the bathroom are ready to fall off the wall. I think the hotel needs on ongoing repair plan to sort these things out before they break.

All in all a great find and we will stay here agin when in Ft Lauderdale.

Room Tip: Room 1207 and its neighbor have a nice balcony with table, chairs and sun loungers and we found this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephenwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium -
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

.. this is the place to be even for a short stay before you leave .
We arrived in fort lauderdale 04/11 and we were on our way to key West with a party of 4 . This hotels is absolutly amazing.
Both rooms were very nice and clean.
The room was cool, and had a coffee maker, and full kitchen.
The staff was.. very friendly.
Our female location manager , help us out during registration. She welcomed us and told us about things we could do and restaurants nearby

So All Belgian/European people who are on there way to another location or are planning to go on a cruise, this is the place to be .
Your vacation starts right here. Its close enouigh to the beach ands till not far from airport or terminal.


Thx again to the nice friendly lady , i 'm very pleased to give 5 star review.
Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: take the upgraded suite room at the pool. number 8 i think
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belgian40ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

What a great place! I spent two days there, and enjoyed it very much. It is located close enough to the strip, but far enough away from the noise and the crowds. The beach is very close, and the hotel provides towels and beach chairs. The room was so cool, and had a coffee maker, and full kitchen. The staff was unbelievably friendly and willing to help.

Room Tip: I had a room right outside the pool, I liked it a lot, I could just go out my door and jump in. Alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gretchen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Our trip to the Aqua Hotel was a result of my daughter 's love of finding "just the right place" to vacation. I am a lover of the ocean but not of crowds- she researched the Ft. Lauderdale area and suggested Tom and I check it out. So glad we did. The Aqua is a rare gem- and an incredible value. Everything about out stay was welcoming, soothing and relaxing. The king suite included a kitchen, dining and living area,an EXTREMELY comfortable bed,quality workmanship as well as the furnishings, free parking, complimentary wi-fi, a backyard area with a grill between the two pool areas ( one salt water pool),beach chairs, bicycles, an outdoor bistro and breakfast place (DELICIOUS) a block over- AND Maggie the manager who I read so much about in the Trip Advisor reviews. Maggie and her side kick Andrew make you feel like family. Everything they rave about her is true : )
The Aqua is close enough to everything yet far enough away to enjoy a very serene atmosphere. Looking forward to returning next year for a longer stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor overlooking the pool on one side and the backyard and grilling area th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I have just returned from a short stay at the Aqua Hotel and I cannot praise it, and the people, enough. I arrived in a very poorly condition, having been food poisoned 36 hours previously. When I checked in I responded to the very cheerful "how are you?" By telling them that I was far from well. I was dealt with in a most concerned way and within 30 minutes they brought medication and electrolyte drinks to my room and told me that a doctor was on stand by if I needed one. No charge for any of it!
It was only a short stay and, because of my condition, I did not get to enjoy the lovely facilities to the full but I will never forget Maggie and her team (particularly Shelley) for the caring and constant support I was given.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MM16Lake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,689 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
809 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,062 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#19 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,970 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aqua Hotel

Property: The Aqua Hotel
Address: 3016 Windamar St., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4019 (Formerly Angela's Beach Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aqua Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why are AQUA’s reviews so excellent? Is it that North Beach Village’s boutique hotels are located in an extraordinary area of Fort Lauderdale beach that’s perfect for kids and fun-loving adults? Or is it that AQUA’s concierge-like services ensure happiness? Could it be our sandy beaches a few minutes’ walk away or how our heated pools induce laughter? Maybe it’s our incredibly reasonable rates for modernized suites with flat-screens, kitchens and Wi-Fi included? Yes – families revisit us for these details and many more! From golden beaches and turquoise waters to the winding Intracoastal Waterways – AQUA’s at the heart of a lush barrier island. Our tropical ambiance and 322 days of Caribbean sunshine also adds to AQUA’s success – plus we’re minutes from Fort Lauderdale’s world-class airport, cruises, shops, nightlife, entertainment and restaurants. Imagine – rejuvenating family beach picnics, water taxi rides to chic Las Olas or thrilling watersport adventures!AQUA’s 39 spacious rooms – studios, suites and penthouses – have a refreshing, beachy décor. We never charge resort fees, or for coffee or beach views. Recharge your inner holiday and book AQUA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angela`s Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Angelas Beach Hotel
Hotel Angelas Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing