We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique wonderful little boutique hotel”
Review of The Aqua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Aqua Hotel
Ranked #10 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Henderson, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Unique wonderful little boutique hotel”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had an early morning flight after spending New Year's in the Keys and wanted to stay in Ft. Lauderdale. We came across this cute little place on Trip Advisor and decided to give it a try. After 3 days in the humid Keys, this hotel was a breath of fresh air! No carpet, all wood flooring, and wonderful platform bed, great bathroom with plenty of storage and of course, it was Aqua. Even the in-room coffee was good! The sweet on site Manger (lady) was wonderful, so friendly and helped us with our bags, there is no elevator, which actually was not a big problem. The room had a dehumidifier - how fantastic was that!! It would have been fun to stay there longer, only about 2 blocks from the beach, lots of restaurants, and close to the Galleria Mall. If you want to break away from the chain hotels and put a little "Aqua" into your life, this is the place!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spidersuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
spidersuz,
Next time you're in Florida you should just skip the Keys and spend the entire time with us! We'd love to have you! Thanks so much for your review. Hope to see you again soon. Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    255
    50
    24
    12
See reviews for
305
454
49
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We had a short stay after cruise, nicer than the cruise itself.

Warm welcome and helpful staff, car rental arrangment made by Manager Maggie, very clean place, wonderful room (had room 1302 penthouse with 2 king beds), great location, free wifi and parking, heated pool, 1 block from beach, near everything. Early check in was possible for us. Perfect boutique hotel. We recommend this place and we'll go back soon.

Thank you to Maggie and Andrew.
Caroline, Martin and Olivier.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spirek2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Caroline, Martin & Oliver,
What a nice review, thank you so much! Next time you should skip the cruise and stay with us the entire time! With rooms types that include full kitchens, we can accommodate extended stays and large groups. We appreciate you choosing Aqua and hope that you'll choose us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Aqua Hotel is a everything a big chain hotel is not.
An international group of guests, friendly staff of Maggie, Andrew and Shelley provided great service, answered all our questions about the quiet neighborhood only two blocks from the beach.
I loved the clean lines and thoughtful touches in the room. It was one of the smallest rooms, but more than adequate for a solo traveller. Had a iron, ironing board, hairdryer,microwave, and cold small refrigerator. Of course, the bed made for a great sleep, modern bath with good hot water and thick towels and a wonderful bathrobe.
Loved the grass area between the buildings, two heated pools and plenty of lounge chairs.
Stayed two days after a cruise and it was a wonderful way to end my vacation in Fort Lauderdale.
Look forward to staying again here or at one of their other North Beach Village properties again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Azulann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Azulann,
Aqua proves that the expression "good things come in small packages" can be true! While we have all the amenities of those larger chain hotels, we pride ourselves in being a boutique hotel and love being able to really get to know and enjoy our guests. Give us a call next time you're in Ft. Lauderdale, we'd love to give you a tour of all of our NBV properties! Thanks so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is a very nice hotel and as you can tell by my title line I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the room. check in was fast and efficient and the manager assisted us with our luggage. We stayed two nights prior to going on a cruise. It is one block from the beach and we walked to the Galleria for shopping. If I return to Ft. Lauderdale I will certainly stay at this hotel. I also felt very safe. The manager arranged our taxi service to the cruise port the next day. I highly recommend this small stylish boutique hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelfan7455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Travelfan7455,
Thanks so much for your review. You mentioned 3 things that we really take pride in - efficient staff, clean rooms and a safe location. Our guest happiness is our number one priority, and we are so happy that we were able to provide you with the vacation that you deserve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Cute place but our stay was ruined by the door alarm going off @ 3 a.m on our last night. As we don't have a phone and no one told us there was a phone outside the front gates we endured the loud beep, beep, beep for another hour when for some reason it stopped only to start again every half hour. We had a late flight that night followed by a long drive so to say we were miserable was an understatement. When we spoke to Maggie the next day she told us it was a machine so it was out of their hands and couldn't have been avoided. True, but she could have said, "I'm sorry". Another weird incident occurred when our door suddenly opened and Andrew was standing there with another couple to place in our room. His response was "oh", not, "I'm sorry" or "excuse me". Other than those incidents the hotel is clean and the maids were really lovely, all of them.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank TorontoPiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
TorontoPiper,
Please accept our apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. We do have call boxes at all of our properties for those late night arrivals but will look into ways to improve this system and really appreciate your feedback. We hope that you will visit us again soon, we know that we can do better! Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is a truly great place to stay at in Fort Lauderdale. Stylish rooms and a cosy atmosphere. Free Parking and wifi. Close to the ocean. The staff was very helpful and super nice. We had a great time there and will surely be back.
/Magnus and Sofia Wistam

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mwistam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Magnus & Sofia,
It's always nice to hear from a local, thanks so much for your review! You're right, the location is unbeatable, just steps from the ocean. We work hard to provide our guests with a great hotel at a great value, and we're so happy to hear that you found this in Aqua. Thanks again, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived this afternoon at the Aqua Motel to be greeted by a very friendly and pleasant manager.., Maggie who welcomed my wife and I as if we had been friends..., a great start to a very enjoyable stay. The Aqua is one of the cleanest hotels we have found. It is 2 blocks off the beach and close to many of the Lauderdale attractions. We would highly recommend the Aqua Hotel, especially for couples looking for the best..!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank hgenekoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
hgenekoch,
It's always nice to be pleasantly surprised isn't it? We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Aqua. Thanks for recommending this hotel, especially for couples. We are always happy to help create that romantic getaway that all couples deserve. Oh and once you meet Maggie, you really are family! So come back soon and visit your family:) Thanks so much for your review, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,726 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#27 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,095 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,802 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,920 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aqua Hotel

Property: The Aqua Hotel
Address: 3016 Windamar St., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4019 (Formerly Angela's Beach Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aqua Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why are AQUA’s reviews so excellent? Is it that North Beach Village’s boutique hotels are located in an extraordinary area of Fort Lauderdale beach that’s perfect for kids and fun-loving adults? Or is it that AQUA’s concierge-like services ensure happiness? Could it be our sandy beaches a few minutes’ walk away or how our heated pools induce laughter? Maybe it’s our incredibly reasonable rates for modernized suites with flat-screens, kitchens and Wi-Fi included? Yes – families revisit us for these details and many more! From golden beaches and turquoise waters to the winding Intracoastal Waterways – AQUA’s at the heart of a lush barrier island. Our tropical ambiance and 322 days of Caribbean sunshine also adds to AQUA’s success – plus we’re minutes from Fort Lauderdale’s world-class airport, cruises, shops, nightlife, entertainment and restaurants. Imagine – rejuvenating family beach picnics, water taxi rides to chic Las Olas or thrilling watersport adventures!AQUA’s 39 spacious rooms – studios, suites and penthouses – have a refreshing, beachy décor. We never charge resort fees, or for coffee or beach views. Recharge your inner holiday and book AQUA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angela`s Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Angelas Beach Hotel
Hotel Angelas Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing