We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation Stay!”
Review of The Aqua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Aqua Hotel
Ranked #11 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Pickering, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Vacation Stay!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I found this gem by accident here on Tripadvisor. We stayed from March 6-14th 2014. Upon arriving, the staff greeted us in the office with a beautiful smile, and made us feel comfortable right away after our 24 hour drive. The office was clean, the smell was spa like and so relaxing. We were ushered to our room, and felt so comfortable, the room was equiped with a fridge, cooktop and micro/convection oven. There was a beautiful courtroom, that was welcoming, peaceful and pure zen. Many times I saw mom's put their babies to sleep there in the afternoon. Two pools, one salt, one chlorinated....... both equally relaxing and peaceful. It could be cleaned more often....... but that is not the hotel I dont think......its their contractor. But it didnt stop us from enjoying ourselves at all. You really feel like family when you get to this hotel. Maggie...... she is awesome..... she treats you like you are staying at her house. She brings you a cold washcloth smelling of eucalytus and lavender, which is so refreshing while basking in the sun.! Did I mention you are a two minute walk from the beach........ yet tucked away off the noise of the main strip. You are located within walking distance from restaurants, malls, and the Fort Lauderdale action! The hotel will ensure your safe arrival to the airport by calling a company they use regularly and rely on. They really go the extra mile to give you the extra special treatment you look for in a vacation. I was really impressed as a former manager of customer service. You dont see people trained like this anymore!! We had children with us, and there were bikes, toys, and lots of things to do and see at this location, all for family pricing.

You have to stay at the Aqua Hotel when you visit Fort Lauderdale.. We really loved it. Its so clean, the staff are great, its affordable and its in a great location!!!

Thankyou North Beach Family!!!!

Room Tip: Any room is great........but the one bedroom King, is amazing......two flat screen TV's!! Amazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaunad2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    253
    49
    24
    12
See reviews for
301
450
47
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
177 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

After a lot of internet research to find a reasonable priced hotel for 2 pre-cruise nights in Ft. Lauderdale, I settled on The Aqua. What a great decision! My husband and I loved the place. The staff-especially manager Maggie was-was friendly and helpful. The neighborhood was quiet and a quick 1 block walk to the beach. The pool we used (fresh water-there is a 2nd salt water pool) was well maintained and there were plenty of chaise lounges. The room we had was spacious and clean. Loved the updated decor-mostly white with touches of aqua of course! There are many restaurants within walking distance. We enjoyed some beach time and also walked to the Bonnet House and Gardens and loved that tour. Will definitely recommend to friends and we plan to stay there again if ever in the area.

Room Tip: Avoid staying across from the housekeeper's closet-we had that room and the housekeepers tend to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slorettao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed for 1 night. The overall property is nice/small.
The pool near our unit was dirty with leaves/debris. I do realize that it is windy in Ft. lauderdale quite often but I saw no attempt to clean it. The other pool was clean and we used that one.
The unit itself is spacious and has a nautical feel. However the ceramic floors were very dirty. Everyone in my family had "black" feet from walking on the floor. Not sure if they forgot to wash it?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This hotel is amazing. We loved everything about it. We were traveling with our family of 5, including 3 children (ages 5, 3 and 7 months). The staff were so accommodating and friendly. I loved the location of the hotel. It was in a quiet neighbourhood and only a 1 block walk to the beach. All of the hotels are located across from the beach anyways, so having to walk a block was hardly an inconvenience and you saved a lot of money! There are two pools, one quite warmer than the other which the kids loved. You never had a problem finding a lounge chair by the pool to relax on. The rooms were fully equipped with Ikea furnishings and very clean. We had a 1 bedroom king suite which was the perfect size for our family. We also had a ground floor suite overlooking the pool which was perfect for the kids. They had no stairs to climb and the view of the pool at night when it is lit up is beautiful and relaxing. There is too much close by in terms of shopping. We had to drive to the nearest grocery store which was only a couple minutes by car. Be prepared to walk to restaurants/bars if that is what you require. We made a lot of our own meals and used the hotel BBQ. We had our meals in the courtyard which was peaceful and relaxing. We took a walk down the strip one day where most of the college spring-breakers were.....interesting to say the least. Glad the hotel was located away from all that craziness. Definitely not the kind of area you want to hang out in with children after dark. All in all this was one of the most relaxing vacations I have taken in a long time considering I have young children. Do not hesitate to book the Aqua. It has a great mix of people (families, older couples, young couples, singles...). Definitely NOT a party hotel full of college kids!!! We are planning on coming back next year because we had such an amazing time!

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor room if you have children.....saves you having to go up and down stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tart1176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We only had one night at this lovely hotel, stayed here with our two older daughters, we all agreed that we wish we had more time.
Maggie was very accommodating as our flight did arrive early and we did linger a little on check out. It was just too nice to leave.
Would recommend it for many reasons. Location, Friendly Staff, Great Room Amenities, Cleanliness and very quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Just back from a week's stay in the Aqua, and loved every minute of it. Hotel is sparkling clean, modern and well-equipped rooms, and two great pools. As someone who normally goes for the big-hotel experience, I wasn't sure if the Aqua would suit me, but it was wonderful! I was staying in a regular room for three nights and a suite for the remaining four, and the changeover was a piece of cake, thanks to the very helpful Maggie. Hotel is very well located, only a block from the beach and a few minutes from bars, restaurants, etc, but is like an oasis of seclusion - this was my first visit to Fort Lauderdale, but when I come back I'll definitely return to the Aqua!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CityTourist2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

great find. did not want to do the large monster hotel experience but still wanted nice amenities close to the beach.

Pros:
* large spaces (we had a 1-bedroom) - true 1 bed with kitchen
* fantastic decorations - the place was very recently renovated with all the furniture and amenities in like new condition
* size - the place is a 50s motel fully renovated to modern standards, but still has that small property feel
* 2 pools with beach chairs and soothing musing - really cool just to hang out.
* location - one block away from the beach and 10 min away from the strip with all the bars & restaurants (although the w hotel and hilton restaurants are 5 min away)

negatives:
* none really, given the price range

Given the price i would return to this property hands down every time i am back in ft lauderdale. We did not have a car but apparently the parking is free at this hotel as well.

Room Tip: we stayed in a 2nd floor room - 1 bedroom which was tremendously spacious with a sofa bed if needed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NYC_yuppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,657 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,755 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,953 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,026 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aqua Hotel

Property: The Aqua Hotel
Address: 3016 Windamar St., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4019 (Formerly Angela's Beach Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aqua Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why are AQUA’s reviews so excellent? Is it that North Beach Village’s boutique hotels are located in an extraordinary area of Fort Lauderdale beach that’s perfect for kids and fun-loving adults? Or is it that AQUA’s concierge-like services ensure happiness? Could it be our sandy beaches a few minutes’ walk away or how our heated pools induce laughter? Maybe it’s our incredibly reasonable rates for modernized suites with flat-screens, kitchens and Wi-Fi included? Yes – families revisit us for these details and many more! From golden beaches and turquoise waters to the winding Intracoastal Waterways – AQUA’s at the heart of a lush barrier island. Our tropical ambiance and 322 days of Caribbean sunshine also adds to AQUA’s success – plus we’re minutes from Fort Lauderdale’s world-class airport, cruises, shops, nightlife, entertainment and restaurants. Imagine – rejuvenating family beach picnics, water taxi rides to chic Las Olas or thrilling watersport adventures!AQUA’s 39 spacious rooms – studios, suites and penthouses – have a refreshing, beachy décor. We never charge resort fees, or for coffee or beach views. Recharge your inner holiday and book AQUA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angela`s Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Angelas Beach Hotel
Hotel Angelas Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing