We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific place with great people!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cheston House Gay Resort
Albany NY
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Terrific place with great people!”
Reviewed 14 March 2008

We've stayed at Cheston House five times, and look forward to it eagerly every year. The place is perfectly located, right near the beach, but on a quiet street. It's beautifully kept up, always clean and with a lot of nice touches. The staff is friendly, cheerful and always eager to help in any way, especially Bill the manager, who lives on the premises. Great pool with plenty of space, a perfect location to relax for whole afternoons. But the best part is the friendly, interesting, unpretentious clientele--we always meet great people to talk with, go out to eat with, etc. There are many repeat guests, so you begin to see some of the same guys every year, and they become real friends. It's great for young and older people alike. After a couple of stays, you get a discount on the rates, too. The only bad part is that we always have to leave before we want to!

  • Liked — The people, staff and guests
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LeeAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    23
    12
    6
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
53
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ST. LOUIS, MO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2008

We stayed at the Cheston House between Christmas and New Year's. What a way to spend the holiday week! We were pleased from the moment we checked in until we sadly walked away to head home.
The staff are the best. They became like good friends during the week we were there. They kept the place--including our room--spotless. Someone was always available to give directions, provide beach chairs or sunscreen, or ask about our stay. We often sat around the pool after breakfast only to find our room already cleaned when we went in to prepare for the rest of the day!
The continental breakfast was a good way to start the day around the pool with other guests. And we always planned our beach time in order to be back for the daily cocktail hour. This also proved to be a good time to meet the other guests from around the country and beyond.
The 24-hour pool was heated and spotless. There were plenty of lounge chairs for catching some sun--also shade for those who preferred.
We thank manager Bill and the fantastic Cheston House staff for making sure we had one of the best vacations ever. If I didn't know better, I'd give them credit for the sunny, 80-degree weather we expreienced! I know they'd do it if they could!

  • Liked — staff, facilty, location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank stlTRAVLRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2008

I have actually stayed at Cheston House on numerous occasions and found the "quaint, small but cozy" resort to be very, very nice. The Mgr, Bill is one of the nicest guys you could every meet and the staff is equally the same.

The rooms are large enough for 2 adults and have adequate closet space as well as the bathroom which you can close off for alittle privacy.

The resort is very quiet and just 2 blocks from the beach itself and a short 10-15 min walk the the gay beach. It has one pool that is always clean with plenty of chairs to lounge. The music is awesome and the drinks by the pool are to die for!!!

The whole atmosphere is great, the price is perfect and the staff is wonderful. Thanks Bill for a so many great stays!! I will always stay with you while in town!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BigRob28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2007

I wrote to the property directly and asked if space was available in September 2007. They wrote back the next day saying yes the dates I requested were available and I could book online. I then noticed they offered a special of pay for 3 nights get the 4th night free. As I am going down to go on a Cruise for a week I wrote back and asked would they allow me to stay 3 nights prior to my cruise and use the 4th free night the night I return from my cruise since I have to stay over that night anyway. Simple question and a simple answer like Yes, no problem or No, sorry, nights must be consecutive, and I would have been happy and changed my vacation dates, but I heard nothing from them. I wrote to them first by replying to their email about availability and then through their website and still received nothing back. September is a slow month in Florida. You would think they would have welcomed the business and a New Customer...Needless to say I booked elsewhere...Their loss, both of revenue and creditability as a warm friendly resort...

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Cody581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2007

Just returned from a weekend stay at the Cheston House and loved it.

Everything was perfect. To start, there is plenty of guest parking, which is a plus when, staying close to the beach.

Check-in was fast and we were shown around the resort and then to our room.
We had one of the apartments with a living\dining combo, full kitchen, bedroom and bath. Everything was spotless! Free Wi-Fi and other amenities made this a perfect choice for us.

Pool and grounds are maintained to a great standard.
Evening Happy Hour was a great way to meet other guests. We really enjoyed the other guests here. Young, old, in between, everyone was friendly and seemed to enjoy meeting one another.

Breakfast in the morning was basic, but it was a good way to start the day.
Pool area was beautiful and there were plenty of chairs for sunning. They place was sold out during our stay, but it never felt crowded at the pool.

The staff here is also great, and went out of their way to be sure that each and every guest was happy.

We will certainly stay at the Cheston House when we return to Fort Lauderdale! We’ve stayed at other guesthouses in Fort Lauderdale and would choose to come back to the Cheston House.

  • Liked — Amazing staff!
  • Disliked — Not one thing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank coachdog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2006

Just came back from my second stay at Cheston House, and will return again. The place is spotlessly clean, nice relaxed atmosphere, conveniently located to the beach.... just a great place to stay. Room was well kept, basic amenities... the refrigerator is a nice touch. Great staff.... Bill makes sure everyone feels welcome, and keeps his staff on their toes.

  • Liked — general upkeep
  • Disliked — a good reading lamp might be nice
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank graycottag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2006

My partner and I stayed for 8 nights and loved it. We were looking for a small pet friendly all male hotel with a pool, close to the beach, full kitchen, etc. After looking at all the sites in Ft Lauderdale we chose Cheston House.

What a wonderful staff, clean rooms, big picture windows, and a fully stocked kitchen.
We met many nice guests who were coming and going throughout our stay. We are a monogamous couple and did not feel hit upon. People flirt all the time but some hotels we have stayed people would knock on our door at night, etc. A scene we are not into. There were a few parties in the afternoon that the Cheston House hosted for various organizations which we found fun and a nice change.

Even though high rises are going up all over the beach and there are about 14 other gay male places to stay in the six block area, we will stay with Cheston House each time as we truely felt at home.

We are both in the hospitality industry in Key West and know clean rooms and good service. Bill and his crew went one step more with us and made our stay the best.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JimandNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Hotel Lush Royale
Hotel Lush Royale
#11 of 34 in Fort Lauderdale
311 reviews
Grand Palm Plaza
#16 of 34 in Fort Lauderdale
387 reviews
Coral Reef Guesthouse
#10 of 34 in Fort Lauderdale
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Worthington Guest House
#3 of 34 in Fort Lauderdale
826 reviews
Alcazar Resort
#4 of 34 in Fort Lauderdale
394 reviews
Central Beach
The Drift Hotel
The Drift Hotel
#4 of 24 in Fort Lauderdale
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheston House Gay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheston House Gay Resort

Property: Cheston House Gay Resort
Address: 520 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale Beach, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4043
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheston House Gay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheston House, an intimate, all male gay resort, located 2 blocks from Ft. Lauderdale beach. Friendly staff, warm hospitality and spacious accommodations awaits you. Experience our immaculate lush tropical surroundings along with a swim in our heated, clothing optional pool. Whether you choose a guest room, suite or apartment we bring you all the comforts of home. See for yourself why our guests keep coming back time after time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Cheston House Gay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheston House Gay Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing