We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cheston House Gay Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Aqua Hotel(Fort Lauderdale)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Beach Gardens(Fort Lauderdale)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
W Fort Lauderdale(Fort Lauderdale)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Birch Patio Motel(Fort Lauderdale)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa(Fort Lauderdale)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Fortuna Hotel(Fort Lauderdale)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elita Hotel(Fort Lauderdale)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
54
26
12
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
26
12
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubother guestswilton manorspool arealast minute tripeach morningsized bedfree internetcontinental breakfastcoffee makerlauderdale beachpropertyftratesirmaprivacymicrowave
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This resort feels like your home, everything is just laid back and perfect. The grounds and Charm of the Hotel itself are something else. It is like stepping back in time when things had a different value. The guests that I met while there were fantastic and very friendly. Perhaps it is like taking a step back in time, when hotels were hotels and not some number on the charts. Thank you for a great visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RalphJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We had such an awesome time over Memorial Day. The property was so nice. Pictures don't do it justice. Chuck and the staff were very attentive. I don't have to ask for a thing because it was already provided. We didn't see Lawrence a lot, but new he was there from how clean our room stayed. Thanks for a great stay. We will definitely return.

Kevin & Barry

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We had a nice and pleasant stay during memorial day weekend. Stay was friendly and crowd was a mixture of ages which I like. Pool area is nicely done and kept clean. Room was comfortable with my only complaint being that in a warm day I think the air conditioner in the bedroom is not sufficient for the entire room. Breakfast is indeed repetitive with prepackaged bagels and coffee. Wouldn't hurt them to hit a local bagel shop or Publix for fresh bagels. Maybe some fresh fruit?
Close to the beach and the bars. Despite the items I've mentioned I'm sure we will be back.

Stayed: May 2013
3  Thank Littlecubtampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This was our first time coming to Cheston House and will not be our last. The staff Chuck, Lawrence, and Larry were all great. Chuck went above and beyond for me. One morning I woke up and broke my eye glasses well Chuck told me to go to his eye doctor and tell him that Chuck sent me and his doctor didnt charge me to fix them. The grounds were private and well kept. This location is great for the guys that love a little quite while on vacation. Very close to the beach. Just overall great time.

Bobby and Robert

Room Tip: room 16 is great :P large shower and closet to the pool
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Our recent stay at the Cheston House was our third in the past five years. Unfortunately, we did not enjoy this visit as much as in the past and the quality and service at this resort seem to be slipping.

Our room was large, with an extra sitting room, but with the older furniture and air conditioner located there, it's not a room you can make much use of, except for storing luggage. There is no soundproofing between the walls and you can hear guests next to you talking loudly or even coughing. The worst was the mattress on the bed, which was so soft and lumpy, it definitely needed replacing.

The pool area is pleasant, with plenty of seating area, a good southern exposure for sun and newer lounge chairs. The resort and rooms are kept clean, parking is plentiful and it's a very short walk to the beach. The clientele are mostly on the mature side and many are return visitors. The other guests are friendly, just be prepared for this age bracket, as we did not have as much in common with a lot of the retirement conversation.

It's the little service details, which would be so easy to fix, where this resort comes up short. At this price point, they have the nerve to supply one-ply bathroom tissue? When we used plastic drinking cups one day, they weren't replaced the next... had we used up our limit? And the breakfast offering, mentioned here in other reviews, is really basic and repetitive.

After a four night stay, when handing in the keys, the manager did not ask us about our stay, say thank you for our business or remind us to come again next year... nothing. It was this lack of appreciation for our continued business that stuck out as the main reason we will look elsewhere the next time we are in Fort Lauderdale. Perhaps you should too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheHawk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews