We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends what you want for your money?”
Review of TPC at Heron Bay

TPC at Heron Bay
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Depends what you want for your money?”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I have been playing here since the Honda was held here and all things considering they have done well to keep the venture going! On many occassions we have returned to Coral Springs thinking this will be closed!
It is basically a resort course, it is not long or tough by any standards and if you find water the shot probably merited it.
The numerous bunkers are there to try and toughen it up otherwise it would be a flat featureless pointless round of golf. Florida is flat and if water does not come into play what else do the designers have to add some features?
Consider if they played the Honda there now..........................36 under would probably win it, the tour could not allow this to happen.
Worth no more than 50 dollars a round as many of the holes seem the same and you will find once you try to remember your round that many holes are so similar they blur into one!
You may ask then why do i play it........................simply you can always get a tee time, the carts are timed so none of the 5 hour rounds now so common during the season with all the snow birds that would rather try and hack up the place and don't seem able to invest in the most basic of lessons (don't get me started on this subject......why dont they just have a few lessons and learn the rules and ettiquete?) We stood on one tee and saw a guy take six air shots before connecting, thankfully his playing partner let us play through!
One major shock...................go elsewhere for your post drink, no wonder the bar is always empty, 30 dollars for a vodka martini and a gin and tonic..................not even with bar snacks.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    14
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Setting!”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Heron Bay Golf Club (formerly TPC at Heron Bay) is now owned by Clublink. Clublink has done great things in Canada and I am hoping they bring some of their creativity to South Florida. Heron Bay is wonderful track. If I had one suggestion for the new Owners...loose some of the 92 bunkers.

If you are in the area, this is must! Reasonably priced given the quality of the course and its staff.

Thanks Heron Bay for another wonderful outing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparky-1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Past its prime but still a challenging course”
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We played here twice in one week and had the same experience both times. The course itself is a challenge, mostly because of the large number of huge bunkers that I spent a little time in. It's well maintained but certainly not spectacular. Staff are helpful but in a forced-friendly kind of way as opposed to a genuinely friendly way. Value was good compared to what we pay in Toronto for anything similar. Nice thing about our second day was that we actually completed a round in 4 hours. That doesn't seem to happen very much any more.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RoyGowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to our expectations”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

12 of us spent a week golfing and thought this would be the highlight of the week, it wasn't! Generally poor condition, no starter causing a bit of a free for all. On the dau we palyed there were really strong winds and with 96 huge bunkers it made for tough golf. We found that a lot of the holes were very similar, basically a big tee shot and a hope that you wouldn't find a bunker. Greens were poor. We played better condition and more enjoatable courses at: Emerald Hills, Preserve Plantation. Deer Creek and palm Aire (Oaks)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank andybevrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good course but greens a little slow recently.”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I played here recently and its not even close to the conditions that were maintained back in the late 90's when the PGA Tour was using this course. It's still a nice course and with a little improvement in the conditions it will be a top pick for the area. When I played in November 2012 the greens were slow and had a lot of top dressing which pretty much ruined any chance of making putts. The layout is fairly easy compared to Jacaranda or Colony West primarily due to the very forgiving driving areas. I'd recommend Jacaranda, Colony West, and Heron Bay in that order. When I played the place was pretty much empty on a Tuesday afternoon and the gentleman in the pro shop gave me the Resident's rate of $37. It's a good deal for under $40.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TPC at Heron Bay also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to TPC at Heron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing