We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL & CHARMING Stay”
Review of Coconut Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coconut Bay Resort
Ranked #57 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Went here with girlfriends and had a fabulous vacation in the timeshare unit. We totally lucked out with our awesome room. We had a balcony overlooking the beautiful pool area where we could enjoy morning coffee and afternoon wine. Our initial though of our studio size room was WOW. It was charming and clean and larger than we'd expected. The decor was stylish and more it more than adequately met all of our needs for a splendid vacation!!

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Checkin was quick and they answered all of our questions. There were a couple items we specifically asked for and they quickly made sure we received them. When checking in we received four beach towels and two room keys. You keep the towels all week and return when leaving. Our linens/towels were changed over once while there. One thing we wished that we'd had was a room safe. Otherwise everything in our room was great.

The pool is amazing. The area is cleaned every morning...meaning all tables & grills are washed down. With our view from the balcony we watched the hard work each day. The pool was very clean and refreshing. There were more than enough new lounge chairs. They had a couple places where you could be completely in the shade under canopies. There were three grills for guest use. There was a hottub as well. The pool was enclosed in a lush area of vegetation, which added to the charm of the pool area. On one side of the pool was a marina waterway where some very lovely yachts were parked. You could walk up and down the boardwalk for a bit but then it was a deadend. In our opinion, it added character to the resort. We loved the whole area.

There is a 7-Eleven as other people have written. Because we were without car and on a budget, we did utilize this store a number of times. However, there is an area just a block away headed towards the beach where there are little stores and shops. We found a jampacked grocery store where we saw local shopowners heading into. We found some additional groceries here. There are the beach shops, ice cream shop and restaurants all right in that area. We enjoyed taking this little detour walk. For beverages, we found that the places all sold beer and wine but not liquor. However, there is a liquor store across the lift-bridge (which is across the parking lot). There was also a CVS store there and soon to be a Publix opening (??which I think is a grocery store????)

We ate most meals in but we did go out for supper. There is a yummy Mexican restaurant across the parking lot of the resort. We went to a fabulous Chinese restaurant across the lift-bride...both are walking. We went to a couple beach places as well. We did ride the city bus. It cost $1.50 each way. Very easy.

The beach....we loved it. Because there isn't much for shade, you really may wish to have an umbrella. Before completely checking things out, we bought an umbrella. We may not have needed to do this however. The beach shops up the road from our resort, directly across from the beach had beach chairs and umbrellas for rent. They charged $4 to $5 each for all day. The city has lounge chairs and umbrellas for rent as well but they were quite a bit more money. These beach chairs more than served our need for a fun day on the beach.

All in all, we had a wonderful vacation. We enjoyed how clean Ft. Lauderdale was, the people were more than friendly and our time was another great memory!! Staying at the Coconut Bay Resort can easily be done without a car if you are willing to walk a bit. It is a charming little resort. :-)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank wisconsinlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

Coconut Bay Resort is conveniently located only about one block from the beach. It has very well kept grounds, clean rooms, and a nice pool. Our studio was well equipped and had tropical decor that was inviting. We enjoyed the warm pool daily. Ground keepers maintained the beautiful vegetation surrounding the pool area and the staff cleaned the area every morning. Having the waterway adjacent to the property gave it extra charm. The resort is a smaller friendly place to stay. I would definitely stay at Coconut Bay again if I return to Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wisconsin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

This is an "old Florida" style property which needs updating. Have stayed at this property on and off for the last 23 years on a yacht in the canal. The yacht has been broken into and the car was stolen. It is a timeshare property and the timeshare salesman lives onsite. When a new high rise was built across the canal, it puts the pool at this place in the shade from early afternoon on. The bathroom facilities at the pool are in terrible shape. They don't even have a mirror in the bathroom. The hot tub is out of commission alot. There are raccoons that love the pool area from the early evening on. And, on top of everything else, there is a fire station right across the street and the sirens go off every time they leave, which is several times per day and night! Look elsewhere!

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Yorkielvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Premier sejour dans mon timeshare apres un premier sejour echang rci.residence au calme tres agreable avec une belle vue sur l intercoastal tres specifique de fort lauderdale.tout a proximite'plage,shopping,parc et bonnet house a 2 pas.la piscine sur le cote entouree de palmiers et chaude est tres agreable.personnel discret et efficace.la residence n est pas recente mais bien entretenue.seul bemol:le jacuzzi vraiment trop chaud!a conseiller sans hesiter!....

Room Tip: Plutot au 2e etage car plus belle vue......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quentinluisant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

We stayed here 3 nights. We thought it was better then the pictures made it look. Nice walk to the beach and state park. Internet only available in office until 5pm or in the pool area. Our room was close to pool but the connection wasn't great. Older building with cheaper renovations. I felt safe here.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnsonWithAnO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

The place was clean and well maintained. We had a bedroom, 2 bathrooms, living room with pullout sofa, full kitchen with all the pots & pans, utensils, coffee pot, microwave, stove, etc. Cooked breakfast each morning before heading to the beach and/or pool. Grounds were nice, with one of the nicest pools I’ve been in.
Nice short block and half walk to the ocean. We enjoyed the neighborhood with good restaurants, bars, beach shops, a state park across the road, and the Bonnet House down the street. Also had a convenient 7-Eleven store next door. The main Ft. Lauderdale beach is just down the road.. All-in-all the Coconut Bay Resort was extremely pleasant with friendly staff. We will stay there again

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank handymanUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We were a bit apprehensive about booking this resort after reading some reviews but decided to anyway as we wanted to stay Wed-Wed and they could accomodate us. Our home resort is Palm Beach Shores which is extremely nice with lots of amenities. The Coconut Bay Resort lacked most of those except for a pool and hot tub; they're adding wireless internet access throughout the resort but for now it's only available in/near the office and pool. We didn't book this resort for the amenities, we booked it because we wanted to be near the beach and Ft. Lauderdale activities, which it is. We had a small one bedroom which was OK for 2 adults. Unlike other reviewers, our bed was extremely comfortable; the kitchen, bathroom, and living area were clean and adequate for our week's stay. We enjoyed the neighborhood -- good restaurants, a couple of beach shops, a great state park across the road w/ walking/hiking/biking/canoeing, and the Bonnet House next door. Some people w/ kids might not like the neighborhood bars and tattoo shops; we checked them out and the people were very friendly. The main Ft. Lauderdale beach w/ ocean-front shopping was an enjoyable walk (or short drive) down the road. There's also a very economical car rental company literally across the parking lot (and through the hedge) which made renting and returning the car VERY easy. They also picked us up and returned us to the airport. All-in-all the Coconut Bay Resort was extremely pleasant w/ very friendly and helpful staff. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank The1PlantMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites...
#42 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,810 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,813 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#25 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
103 reviews
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#60 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
752 reviews
Central Beach
Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
#9 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Bay Resort

Address: 919 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3317
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £62 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coconut Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Bay Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing