We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not family friendly” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coconut Bay Resort
Ranked #62 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not family friendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Not a place to go relax and have some fun:
On site there is a small hot tub and pool that homeless were coming into taking their weekly bath. The pictures were not of units we were offered. Think Bates Hotel for the showers- The AC sounded like a jet plane- Office is no help for anything only opens from 9am- 5pm sharp. If you need anything you have to wait. No nice dinner / cocktail places within walking distance so you have to pay the meter to get into the "happening" area.. Oh but there is a 7 Eleven across the parking lot if your hungry
We traded with RCI 2- 3 bedroom crown units for 2- 1 bedrooms units here to have some fun with children and our 4 year old granddaughter

Room Tip: Don't choose here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    61
    31
    16
    12
See reviews for
67
56
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

From the outside it does not look very attractive. However, on the inside of the unit, the apartment was excellent, roomy, and well furnish. The staff was very helpful. The location was excellent for restaurants and shopping. Excellent mobility to get to Miami , Palm Beach and the airport

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lgrunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We exchanged our time share unit - and shame on us for waiting till the last minute to do so....But I would never have expected what we got. I thought standards that the exchange company would be higher than this. When we opened the door to our unit we were overcome with an odor I didn't think we would be able to stand! Should have walked out and demanded something else but we chose to go out and buy plug in air fresheners and canned air fresheners. What "Resort" does not have safes in the room these days. When I called the front desk to ask about this I was told "Don't worry - nothing ever happens here and our staff will not go in your room without your permission" I ended up buying disinfectant cleaner before unpacking and putting my clothes away because the drawers were filthy! Really we should have left!!! Two nights in a row we had leaks in our room - We were on the first floor of a 3 floor building. I could go on but you get where I am going with this! We will not be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank aberube24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Lauderdale hotels

Punta Gorda, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

COCONUT BAY RESORT even with some minor faults
an EXCELENT vacation choice.
If your human you can find something to X-itch about - I/we couldn't.
Sure you count inventory most everywhere, even @ our plush 3BR Orlando Unit,
yet we found most or enough Utensils etc. available to cook our own meals.
There were so many towels ( assortment )
even big enough ones to wrap around a little BUDDAs body like mine.
Blue Beach/POOL towels in the room were/are supplied.
so many complimentary soap, paper products/tissue/paper towels etc.
Also FREE dish soap which we only saw the second day after purchasing our own.
I especially liked the FREE Wi-Fi and FREE ample parking.
at 73yo it's NOT exactly fun to walk long distances
Walking to the beach 2 blocks was comfortable in the morning
and to the pool on the property also, none too far.
Shopping close by @ 7-11 or walk/drive to Publix, yet
we drove a bit further to Wal-Mart.
Having met some UNIT Owners as well as traveling International Guests
most cordial and forthcoming, even the NON English speaking Russians.
A .50 cent Trolley runs along the beachfront - I believe even to Los Olas.
Where can you go for that amount? OR buy a day pass and use it all day.
If you like FREE then you will like weekly Doughnut and Hot dog socials
OH YES! the Barbeque grills by the Pool to use is also FREE.
so -don't complain LIFE IS GREAT if You allow yourself the Pleasure.
AUFWIEDERSEHEN !
means = I Will see you again - Coconut Bay Resort

Room Tip: helps 2 B near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank H G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

My mother and I stayed at this timeshare this past week in room #102. Since we had a late flight, and we knew that (like most timeshares) no one would be there to check us in personally that late into the night, we called ahead of time. They were very nice, and made it easy by putting a real-estate-like lock box on the door so we could key in a code to get in the room. Once we got in, we were very happy with our 1 bedroom, 1 living room suite. Like a lot of beach hotels, the decor was very "beachy", but not too dated like some other properties. In our living room there was plenty of space- it had a sofa, a love seat, and a flat screen t.v. In the glass part of the tv stand there were even some books to read, which I thought was awesome since that was one of the things I forgot to pack! The kitchen was nice, and they had pretty much everything we needed to cook and dine in with. There was a half bath in between the living room and bedroom, and the bedroom had a very nice bathroom, as well as plenty of closet space. But it wasn't until the next morning that we looked around more and noticed we had a back deck. And right in front of the back deck- surprise!- were some big, beautiful boats. It definitely put a smile on our faces. Now although we did not have a laundry area in the room, there is a laundry area in the facility, as well as a beautiful heated pool and hot tub. The pool area overlooked the boats, and there were plenty of lounging//dining spaces, as well as several barbeques. Another thing I liked about the pool area was that they had restrooms right there so you didn't have to run back to your room to go, and they even had a shower out there to wash all of the sand and what-not off of you. The lady at the front desk was VERY nice- I don't remember her name, but she usually wore a dark shirt, and had dark hair, and dark eyes. What I assume were the owners (a grey-haired gentleman and a well-dressed foreign lady; possible husband and wife duo) were also pretty nice as well, even though they assumed my mom was retired when she is definitely not the age of a retiree, and nor does she look it (and i'm not just saying that because i'm her daughter!). But all in all, they were still very nice, and helpful with directions. However, unless you know Spanish you're probably going to have some trouble communicating with housekeeping. We only had 1 issue with that, where we turned in a dish towel and didn't get one back 'til the next day, but that wasn't a big deal or anything. When it comes to location, this place is in a very good spot. We were only a few miles from I-95, there was a 7-11 right in front of us and several restaurants, and if you turned the corner after the next hotel (right in front of the beach!) you'd find a nice array of bars, food places, and night life. Taxis are most everywhere, but I would still suggest getting a rental car for 1) day trips to Miami and 2) going to Los Olas Blvd. This is where you get tons of boutique shopping, local eateries, and even some nice super-car spotting! But there were 2 issues we had on the trip. The first one occured not on the actual hotel property, but on the property of the Italian restaurant that is right in front of the hotel in viewing distance. My mother and I saw some... uhh.... "not very family friendly" activities going on over there. I will state nice and clearly that this was OBVIOUSLY not the hotel's fault because it wasn't on their property (and not even the restaurant's fault because I don't think they were workers!), but the only reason i'm writing this on here is so folks who have never been to Ft. Lauderdale will know that some wild things do happen here, so you may want to keep an eye on your kids during night-time no matter where you are located in the town. Next up is an actual hotel issue. I have severe insomnia, and I have to take medication for it. The housekeeping area was right beside our unit, so I got woken up by loud talking, and slamming of doors. I knew this was SUPER loud because it is not easy to wake me after being medicated. I WAS supposed to get up 2 hours later, but because my sleep was disturbed so bad for so long I ended up sleeping in. I would also like to point out that my mother also got woken up that night because the walls are SO paper thin there, that it sounded like the people above us were tap dancing. Because of this, we both ended up sleeping in late since we were kept up for so long. We asked for a 1 hour late check-out, but they said that if the keys are turned in any time after 10:30 you're charged $20 per every half an hour. I didn't think this was fair as it was their fault we were kept up. But other than that, everything was pretty good, and the location was superb. So all around, I would reccomend this place, but just keep an eye out late at night.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the laundry room and pool, as that is where you'll here the most noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank playingtheange1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I exchanged my time share for a unit at Coconut Bay. It was a decent place. It was clean and 2 blocks from the beach. It is in walking distance to many other amenities. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We had a 2 bedroom unit and it was very spacious. Plenty of free parking. It is not upscale but it was fine with a nice location close to the water.

Room Tip: Worth the trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathycallard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

just got back from a week at Coconut Bay Resort and I will not go back. They still have a hard key to unlock the rooms and no security locks on most rooms. Noone in the office after 7:00 pm . My room had an ac unit that was so loud could not sleep at night . I have never stayed an place where I had to take inventory of what was in the kitchen and hand it in the office. unreal
The pool was not cleaned everyday and I'm sure no chemicals were added everyday.
The only good thing I can say is the location was great. The employees were not freindly or pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Silver Seas Beach Resort
Silver Seas Beach Resort
#88 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites...
#33 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#32 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Cocobelle Resort
Cocobelle Resort
#77 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,613 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Bay Resort

Property: Coconut Bay Resort
Address: 919 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3317
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coconut Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Bay Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing