We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much improved on three years ago, comfortable and scrupulously clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coconut Bay Resort
Ranked #62 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
465 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Much improved on three years ago, comfortable and scrupulously clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

We last stayed here in 2006 just after Katrina had wreaked havoc. Hence no coverings on pool deck. But this time there had been a lot of changes, all for the good. The pool deck had got its cover back, the pool area had been refurbished, many of the rooms had been refurbished and the attention to cleanliness across the whole resort was amazing.
The only downside was that the room next to us was being refurbished so we got some builders noise during the day. Our one bed apartment was advertised as privacy for four. we were only two but could not see how four would get privacy. Two people would have to sleep in the lounge, and although they had a toilet and wash basin available the only bath and shower was off the main bedroom - hardly private. Still that did not bother us but I would advise any parties of four to make sure they get a two bedroom unit.
The staff were all very helpful and knowledgable about the local area. As other people have sais the resort is well located, two blocks to the beach, across the road from a State Park and from Bonnett House and just across the bridge from Galleria Shopping Mall. We found the best meal was to visit the Blue Martini at the Galleria during happy hour when not only the drinks but also the food was half price, plus a voucher from one of the booklets at the resort gave two free martinis. We plan to be back.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobbio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    61
    31
    16
    12
See reviews for
67
56
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2009

We traded our beautiful 2 bedroom ski condo to stay at Coconut Bay. The main reason for the trade was the proximity to the beach. Upon arrival I was immediately disappointed with the surrounding area and the general external appearance of the property. Having been assigned our 2 bedroom waterfront condo - my heart sank as we turned the key into an aged, smelly condo with a balcony that had more of a prison cell feeling than a waterfront vista. Being a family of non-smokers the foul, stale smell led us to frantically call around for alternate accommodation. Whilst strolling to the 7-11 next door for water, my husband was approached to buy drugs. Upon check out a fellow guest was complaining of cockroaches that had appeared in his room. I can only assume that this venue has slipped through the RCI control net - if such a thing exists. The area of Fort Lauderdale was not particularly desirable and the walk to the beach involved a stroll along a very busy road. The only positive aspect was that the employees were courteous and efficient and clearly were working hard to do the best they could with the resources that they had.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelMum67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Lauderdale hotels

Clinton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

We booked this resort through RCI and were pleasantly surprised when we got there. We could not get there on Saturday for check-in, so when we arrived at midnight, there was a key waiting for us in a key box on the door. The rooms were nicely decorated, perfect size for what we needed. The beach was a 5 minute walk and it was close to everything! Would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessxsarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2008

I just got back from spending a week at the Coconut Bay Resort in Fort Lauderdale. The rooms have been recently renovated and are very tastefully decorated. They are not luxurious accommodations but are very comfortable. I was not thrilled with the comfort of the beds but they were not the worst either. The grounds are clean and kept up very well. The maintenance staff is very attentive to your needs and they do a great job. The pool is the best feature of this place. There are plenty of chairs around and the pool is a good size and is always very clean. The CBR is very conveniently located to the beach and several other little shops, bars, and restaurants. It is also right across the street from a state park. All in all, I had a great time and would not hesitate to spend another week at the Coconut Bay Resort in Fort Lauderdale!

  • Liked — The pool and the location.
  • Disliked — The beds.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cprsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2008

This was a timeshare exchange through RCI and we had two one bedrooms, one larger than the other. The staff were unobtrusive and didn't harangue us too much about sales pitches. We rented a toddler bed through a local company that delivered & picked up. Pool was fantastic - warm and perfect way to end the day. Room was clean and comfortable with full kitchen. Winn-Dixie, Publix, and Whole Foods all within 3 miles. The beach was a block or two away, and it was a great jumping-off point to explore Miami and Ft Lauderdale.

  • Liked — Comfort, size of room, kitchen
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BuffaloPundit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2008

Stayed there in 2006 with our son and had a great time so booked again the next time we decided to go to Florida (2008). The same staff were there and were very friendly and remembered us. We had a 2 bed unit which had been refurbished not height of luxury but very comfortable with good kitchen. Pool area is the place to chill in the late afternoon, unfortunately there were lots of mosquitoes about and the sprays were not detering them - the only thing that went wrong in the holiday. The blue fish cafe is great - good food discounts and happy hour and of course you walk across the road to the ocean. Mix of people there both times we have been . Some singles and familly groups. Not the place for lots of entertainment and nightlife but chill near the beach fantastic.

  • Liked — space and good kitchen appliances
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsgWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2008

My sister & I went in search of the sun to Florida & just manages to escape the spring break from Miami by heading to Key Largo & it wasn't a moment too late.
We could have stayed there for weeks. There is one thing I love about USA hotels. double beds for single occupancy.
We pulled into the drive, by the way the place was not hard to find and it was a quiet resort in between palm trees, with a little private beach with loads of facilites to offer for rental.
The hiper market was not far and we packed a good picnic for the evening & then we saw it. The photo on the website of the sunset is not tampered. Infact we have a photo excatly the same.
The owner was lovely and helpful in everyway. If you are traveling with your family, alone, partner or friends...it has all to offer. Local attractions: marine, restaurants, good seafood. Top Marks!

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RaumaTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Silver Seas Beach Resort
Silver Seas Beach Resort
#84 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
GALLERYone - A DoubleTree Suites...
#33 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,598 reviews
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#30 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Cocobelle Resort
Cocobelle Resort
#75 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,616 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Bay Resort

Property: Coconut Bay Resort
Address: 919 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3317
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coconut Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Bay Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing