We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dine-out Fort-Lauderdale at Chima ! Ridiculous menu restrictions”
Review of Chima Brazilian

Chima Brazilian
Reserve with OpenTable
Chima Brazilian is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 1,335 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$49
Cuisines: Barbecue, Brazilian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Located on the trendy Las Olas Boulevard just minutes from the beach, Chima offers a serene dining experience with a touch of exclusivity. The Fort Lauderdale location provides a chic dining experience from the minute you step foot into the captivating courtyard. The outside bar and courtyard provide an escape from the traditional happy-hour scene with our exceptional drink specials.
Montréal
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dine-out Fort-Lauderdale at Chima ! Ridiculous menu restrictions”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I am a big fan of Chima, I go regularly and recommended it on many occasions. On October 16th ( a wednesday) we went to Chima. We were motivated to go mid-week by the Dine-out Fort lauderdale promotions that sets menu at $35 form Sunday to thursday nights during that low season month.
At the table we were informed that the dine-out menu has some execeptions... basically everything was off limit except for chicken, somes sausages and some fish!. This was embarassing both for us and that poor waitress.
I think this shows a total disrecpect for your clients, this is the worst possible client experience. It made us feel embasrrased to have ask about that menu, and make the restaurant look cheap.
It is fine if you don't nor can't have such a promotion, JUST DON'T DO IT and DO NOT lure you clients to think that you do. We are not idiots and we can afford the bill.
We ended up taking the regular menu including meat!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank dalllo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    234
    58
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bahamas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A friend recommended this one”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Wow what a great place. This was recommended to me by a friend. Go hungry & leave stuffed. The service is superb . A totally different restaurant experience, but very enjoyable. I will be back

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Be ready to feast like the kings of old”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Absolutely exquisite service and food. Our servers and waiters were phenomenal at their job and never kept us waiting for anything. Drinks were always replaced before they were empty and they even raced each other to replace a fork that my wife had dropped on the ground. This brings me to the meat.... some of the finest cuts and as much as you want... shrimp..lamb...chicken...pork...steak. swordfish. ..and salmon. ALL AMAZING!

Helpful?
Thank Jordan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A meat lover's dream”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

October 5th

Shelly and I were in Fort Lauderdale for the night and found Chima from tripadvisor. It had been 10 years since we went to a Brazilian restaurant and wanted to give Chima a try.

Your dining experience starts with their amazing salad bar which has selections that included smoked salmon. Our servers Dawn and Eddie brought us plates of bread and side dishes. The restaurant has "gauchos" walking from table to table with spits of meat. I lost count but I think there were 15 kinds of meat plus salmon and shrimp.

Eddie suggested that we start off with the "Caiprinha" which is the national cocktail of Brazil. The Caiprinha has Cachaca (Brazilian rum), muddled limes and two tablespoons of sugar. This drink is amazing and I would recommend this to anyone that wants to experience an exotic drink.

Between the gauchos and our servers, Eddie and Dawn, we were never forgotten or neglected. The General Manager and three other managers visited our table often which shows how much this family owned restaurant is dedicated to your complete dining satisfaction.

Normally, I take pictures of the meals that I review. This meal, I was too busy sampling all of the great offering from Chima to take any photos.

We will be back on our next visit to Fort Lauderdale.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Shelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Go there very hungry...”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

What a feast. Buffet style salads and sides. The main course was brought by several servers who carved the meat at the table. Beef, lamb, pork, salmon, shrimp. Endless quantity!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chima Brazilian also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Chima Brazilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing