We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed. This Ritz dilutes the brand.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #6 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed. This Ritz dilutes the brand.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We visited the Ritz Carlton in Fort Lauderdale for a week around the New Years holiday. It was our first vacation with our 6-month old and we were really looking forward to some R&R in high end accommodations. Our ocean front room was fine- beautiful view, great balcony, decent size, beautiful and massive marble bathroom, but I agree with other contributors that the white decor looked tired and worn. The room just felt a little dingy. The staff was excellent- attentive, warm and welcoming, but unfortunately, they couldn't make up for the fundamental issues with this property.

The big issue is the location. The hotel is located at the southern end of a strip of new hotels on Fort Lauderdale beach. Immediately next to the Ritz is a seedy outdoor mall with a Hooters and a bunch of spring-break-style open air bars (Fat Tuesdays, The Big Kahuna, and LuLu's bait shack). The beach is public, which meant that stepping outside of the Ritz involved navigating a promenade of drunk early twenty-somethings clutching Fat Tuesday-branded thermoses of cheap liquor to get to a beach that was littered with hoards of locals soaking up the sun. The Ritz outsources the beach chair/umbrella service to a third party vendor. The beach service team was very nice and really attentive, but the chairs and umbrellas were very basic (no plush cushions or nice towels) and no food or drink service was available. The beach towels were pretty gross, and they were in short supply, so we had to smuggle towels down from the pool when we wanted to go to the beach. The 7th floor pool was an oasis from the busy beach, and there is an elevator and skyway over the A1A highway from the pool deck to the beach. The elevator from the pool to the skyway was either broken or slow half of the time, and both were pretty worn, so we ended up walking through the main hotel lobby to get to the beach most times.

The pool was small, but never felt crowded (even with the busy holiday crowd). It is not big enough to swim laps, and it's way too shallow to dive into. It's really just for lounging/beating the heat. The pool deck was comfortable, and the staff was great. Fast, friendly and attentive. The lounge chairs at the pool were nice with plush cushions (if you arrived early. We had to fight for the good chairs and good locations near the pool. Some of the nicest lounge chairs are reserved for residents of the hotel). The food was fine- essentially bar food (quesadillas, burgers, sandwiches) and the bar offered the usual drinks. The only down side at the pool is that the smoke and greasy smell from the kitchens at the neighboring Hooters/spring-break bars blew right into the Ritz pool area, so it tended to stink in the afternoons. The mall also had sewage problems while we were there, so the pool stunk like sewage for an afternoon, but that was an anomaly. There are also these vicious little crows that swarm down on the lounge area of the pool during lunch, which was annoying.

The food at the restaurant and bar was excellent (great service at the restaurant, too). We really enjoyed it. We ended up ordering room service for a few nights since we had the baby, and a lot of the good dishes from the restaurant were available for room service, and that was nice.

The staff was very good- they accommodated early check in and late check out, and responded to our complaints about the sewage smell at the pool and the lack of towels at the beach with a free spa service and dinner at the restaurant.

We walked North of the Ritz to the Westin, the W and the Hilton, and the beach and vibe on the A1A promenade there was much nicer since there was greater distance from the seedy bars and shops next to the Ritz. We'd stay at one of those hotels if we ever return. We didn't rent a car, so you might be fine with the Ritz if you stayed in the hotel and drove away from the area for restaurants, beach and night life.

This Ritz isn't worth it, in our opinion. Especially for the money.

Room Tip: Request high floor rooms to avoid noise from the 7th floor pool, and on the north side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Associate123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    300
    105
    51
    27
See reviews for
323
613
50
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed here over the holidays and truly enjoyed it!! We were welcomed nicely by the staff and given an upgrade to oceanfront rooms, overlooking the pool. They were terrific. The bellmen were excellent and helped us each and every time (and we had a lot of luggage). We ate at Via Luna which was nice (in the hotel). We used the gym several times - very nice, with new equipment. The one disappointment was that the gym was not manned. Other than that, we would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose an oceanfront room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefhef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton Ft. Lauderdale for one night pre cruise down day. The staff was very attentive and as always very accommodating. While a majority of reviewers boast on how wonderful the property is I disagree, to me it just did not have the Ritz Carlton “Bang” to it. Our one bedroom suite was well appointed, and did have a rather large bathroom. To me the property just felt tired. When I pay over $400 a night for a room, I don’t expect to pay $14.95 to check my email, that it is ridicules. The front desk did reverse the charge, but if you don’t question it? This year we have stayed four different properties, as this one was short on meeting our expectations.
The Service was excellent, just no wow factor

Room Tip: Always the Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stayed one night after our flight from LA while awaiting our Cruise ship and then a second night upon our return after 18-days at sea. Our first room overlooked the pool and ocean and was oversized (was told we got an upgrade) and our second room overlooked the inter-coastal with a side view of the ocean. The ocean front rooms just above the pool seem best as you don’t hear any traffic noise. Staff and both rooms were excellent except for some minor things such as the makeup mirror light out, a TV in the bath and a scale not working.

Our two breakfasts were excellent. We also enjoyed small plates in the Luna bar that was much better then the food on our Silversea Cruise Ship. Jumbo Shrimp. Meatball Sliders, Flatbreads and Salads all very good. The lounge service was off both visits however. We experienced staff in training that should not have been on the floor alone. On our second visit a single bar tender could not keep up with serving us and pouring drinks for the wait staff. Lunch poolside was excellent and the pool bartender very friendly.

The fitness center was once of the best I’ve seen. All new equipment is a large space with great views. The pool cabana’s looked great and private overlooking the ocean.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms just above the pool seem best as you don’t hear any traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shinyroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

I have stayed here multiple times and have not always had the most positive reviews. However, this stay was wonderful and excellent on every level.

Gorgeous physical property. Strongly suggest a pool terrace room so that you can open your door and go right out to the understated, but elegant pool. Service including check-in to bell hops to the pool and restaurant staff was terrific. Room was immaculate and up to the highest Ritz Carlton standards. Bathrooms very nice. Shower head and shower was terrific.

I have stayed in many Fort Lauderdale hotels and the Ritz Carlton absolutely wins as the finest hotel in this city.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luxuryhotelcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

This is an extremely beautiful hotel. The lobby is gorgeous and the rooms are so well-designed. The bathroom is really fantastic-- the bathtub is beautiful and comfortable.
The pool is also very lovely-- on the 7th floor overlooking the ocean.
The service was very good, especially from Gerson (I know I misspelled that--sorry!) at breakfast.
Our room (on the 10th floor, facing the City/Intercoastal) overlooked 3 very ugly industrial fans, which was the only downside to the room.
I have stayed at several Ritzs-- others have had better value and slightly better service (it's still good at this hotel, just not the overwhelmingly unbelievable service I have had at other Ritz properties).
If the price is right, I will be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShatzOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

I had the pleasure of staying two nights at the Ritz Carlton, Ft. Lauderdale. Paola at the front desk was very helpful and to my surprise, she upgraded me to a Jr. Suite overlooking the beautiful intercoastal waterway.

The room was beautiful - bathroom luxurious - enjoyed the soaking tub! Spent a lot of time outside on the balcony which was over 30 ft. long!

Ate lunch once in front of the hotel overlooking the ocean. The southwestern salad with grilled shrimp was excellent. The other lunch I enjoyed on the pool terrace, again overlooking the ocean, and loved the mahi tacos! Pool service very nice, just remember the lounges closest to the glass overlooking the ocean are normally reserved for residents.

I will look forward to another future stay!

Room Tip: The intercoastal view is actually more interesting - especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonhwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,945 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#18 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdal...
#2 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,653 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale
Address: 1 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale infuses the Gold Coast with casual luxury as the city's first and only AAA Five Diamond hotel. The 24-story, dramatically tiered and glass walled structure has sweeping curves that are reminiscent of a luxury liner. Design elements recall the 1940's, with artwork that includes playful murals inspired by French artist Jean Cocteau and a 13-foot high mural of a seascape inspired by the 1880 painting, "King Neptune and His Horses." The property features 192 guest rooms and suites; a 2,200 square foot Club Lounge, 24,000 square feet of light-filled meeting space; a 29,000 square foot oceanfront sundeck with an infinity pool and private cabanas; destination Spa with an organic and active-botanical treatment menu and a water-view fitness center. Four dining and entertainment options include the new Via Luna Italian grill with seating indoors or al fresco on an oceanfront patio, the dramatic oceanfront Via Luna Bar, a private Wine Room with a 5,000 bottle wine cellar and a seventh floor Poolside Cafe with commanding ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ritz Carlton
St Regis Fort Lauderdale
St Regis Ft Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing