We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #6 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice but not excellent”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Nice hotel, friendly staff. Rooms were always very clean. The pool was pleasant and there is a way to access the beach from the elevator in the pool area too. But I would have liked the hotel more if it was right on the beach and not across the street. The restaurant in the hotel was good but found better restaurants at walking distance from the hotel. They offer chairs, towels and stuff by the beach, which is always nice. Overall it is a good hotel but nothing impressive.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dafne_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,033
    319
    112
    55
    27
See reviews for
360
675
61
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed with a convention and we compared rooms and found a huge variety of rooms, each with their own pluses. The staff is what made this trip, they were very helpful at the desk, bar area, restaurant and poolside. The path from the pool to the beach is a little iffy and you feel like you are going through a back alley. We found it much nicer to go out through the lobby and across the road that way. I had beautiful views of the sunrise over the ocean from my deck which was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dcark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I rarely write negative reviews but unfortunately I have to in this case. Perhaps my stay is an isolated incident but it was a comedy of events without anyone taking whole ownership of correcting our experience

Below is part of message I sent to hotel after our stay but never received a reply:

Our room that was assigned was nice, ocean facing however it had a very ‘musty’ smell to it. I was told that sometimes they get like that and to open the balcony door a bit to air it out, the bellman was very apologetic and extremely polite.

When we went to the balcony there were cigarettes and what I am pretty sure was a joint. I left them all there and did not touch them. There was also two wine glasses half drank with lipstick on one. My guess all from the previous guests. They were all in plain sight.

When we went to try to order room service we couldn’t because the phones didn’t work in the room. The technician came and did his best to fix the phone even bringing entirely new phones but no luck. He was very polite and apologetic. In the end it was late in the day and he couldn’t repair it, he offered us a free movie for the kids but it was too late at this point and we needed to head out, grab food and put them to bed. I do believe he did do his best. The room however should have been checked before we arrived, at this point we had unpacked and it would have added to frustration by moving rooms.

There was an orange haze on the bottom of the bathtub. Either left over from rusty water or perhaps a type of sun tan lotion either way it was not part of tub for sure. We had our daughters shower rather than bath.

The overall state of the room was not a Ritz Carleton level, when I was checking out lady at the front desk asked about our stay and I told her about my disappointment. She offered to pay for our breakfast which was a nice gesture and I accepted.

The day we arrived the pool was closed, the whole day. We later found out it was a sanitary issue outside of your control but we were somewhat disappointed.

If I were to rate the politeness and professionalism of communication I would say 9/10. However problem solving with respect to customer experience a 3/10. The state of the room would probably have been a 4-5/10 for a Ritz Carleton.

The only reason I didn't mark it a "Terrible" above is because the staff was extremely polite.

FOR MARRIOT REARDS MEMBERS:
When I asked for an upgrade I was told that only paid upgrades were available, there was availability but that since I booked using my points I was not eligible. I was also told the hotel was not at capacity. Since we were only there one night I didn’t mind too much but found it puzzling, I have never been told that at other Ritz Carlton properties.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank roadwar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christine c, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Roadwr1,
Thank you for taking the time to post a feedback of your recent visit on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comment as they help us always to be the best that we can, and to be responsive to our guests.Feedback is extremely important to us. I thank you for bringing to my attention your concerns about the bathtub, phone and the cleanliness of the balcony. I am truly sorry that you experienced several issues during your stay, some issues that should have been resolved right away. I would be most appreciative for the opportunity to discuss them with you directly. Please feel free to contact me at 954.465.2300 at your convenience.
Thank you again for your feedback.
Kind regards,

Greg Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgman, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed a week at the Ritz….nice but not excellent. Very surprised at the lack of cleanliness, from the room to the lanai they have cleaning opportunities. The staff was friendly and helpful, location was very nice and rooms average size. Pool and pool service was great. The walkway bridge to the beach has a horrific smell- they need to close the bridge until the smell is gone (I think CVS was having an issue which caused the stench).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PracticingTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had a great stay at this Ritz Carlton in Fort Lauderdale.

Check In: We arrived at a very busy time and they had plenty of valet staff to keep things moving smoothly and to greet us. We had reserved and ocean view room and were given a suite on the 7th floor. Beautiful room, two bathrooms, bar area, dining table, living room, then separate bedroom with large bathroom. The bellman that took us to our room was great.

We were celebrating our 20th anniversary on this trip and once we unpacked in our room, went to the pool and came back, a large chocolate dessert and bottle of Chardonnay were waiting for us. Very nice touch.

Pool: First thing we did was to head to the pool which was right outside our sliding door. The bartender was friendly and we ordered two cocktails and sat in the chairs overlooking the ocean. The pool staff was excellent during our stay.

Dinner: Oh how I wish we could remember our server's name. He was EXCELLENT. Very tall guy? We sat outside, it was so nice. At dessert he brought us a very special dessert and two glasses of champagne. The food was absolutely delicious and the service was the best.

Breakfast: Breakfast was included in our stay and we had oatmeal and berries from the buffet. They were fine, we didn't order anything else so not sure about the quality of the rest of the breakfast items. What we had worked for us.

Stay: We had a very quiet room.

Checkout: Couldn't be easier. Our flight wasn't until late in the day and we checked out at noon. We had our bags stored, sat at by the pool til it was time to go, used the shower facilities at the pool and caught our flight. Easy!

Management - rest assured, you have a great staff at this location.

Last time we stayed at another hotel that we thought would be nice and it was absolutely chaotic and a pretty horrid stay. So glad we picked the Ritz Carlton this time.

Room Tip: Reserve an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleD_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Recently stayed at the Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale after a completing a cruise. We have stayed in other hotels in this area, and the Ritz Carlton surpasses any of the others by a large margin. Our room was a one bedroom suite overlooking the ocean. The room was well appointed and bed was very comfortable. I had read other reviews regarding this hotel indicating the beds were not comfortable, however, we found the opposite to be true. I also read some reviews regarding noise from the pool area, but again, we found the opposite to be the case. I have rated this hotel a 4 out of 5 (this is high for me), and would have given it a 5 out of 5 if a few items were fixed. We found the carpet within the room to be quite dirty, and a few of the fixtures within the room were a bit worn. I know this sounds petty, but given the room rate that we paid, and the reputation of Ritz Carlton, I would expect this sort of thing to taken care of.

The common areas of the hotel (pool, spa, lobby, restaurants) were very clean, and well equipped. In addition, all staff members that we dealt with were very helpful, courteous, and friendly.

We will definitely stay at this hotel again ... most likely within the year ... and I sincerely hope the small deficiencies that we found are corrected.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JetJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We love Ritz hotels. They are chic, elegant and full of comfortable and palatable amenities. Having stayed in a few around the world, I have to agree with other reviewers about there being something different about this location. We were not bothered as much from noise, even though there was a family with small kids in the adjacent room. Our room was overlooking the pool and because it closed at 6PM, there was no noise at night. Even the noise from Beach Place which is an outdoor entertainment complex next door to the hotel was very well kept out. All the restaurant and bar staff were courteous although few changes to breakfast staff would be befitting. The pool is great for kids since its deepest point is 4ft 2in and relatively small. The beach however was perfect. It seemed to me like the pool staff was reserving chairs and shades, I am guessing for certain guests. Only after pressing the pool boy, we were able to get one of the reserved but unused umbrellas for our use. The sky bridge from the pool to the beach was out of operation during our stay which caused some inconvenience. The lounge chair in our room was literally filthy. It had stains all over it. I called the reception right away but they only covered over it with a bed sheet! This was the low-light of our stay! Final thoughts on this location is that it is good if you plan to stick to a beach vacation. For us, it would have been better to keep our original reservations at Boca Raton Resort since we enjoy the wide range of delightful experiences Boca has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,094 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,990 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdal...
#2 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,003 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,237 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor ...
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale
Address: 1 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale infuses the Gold Coast with casual luxury as the city's first and only AAA Five Diamond hotel. The 24-story, dramatically tiered and glass walled structure has sweeping curves that are reminiscent of a luxury liner. Design elements recall the 1940's, with artwork that includes playful murals inspired by French artist Jean Cocteau and a 13-foot high mural of a seascape inspired by the 1880 painting, "King Neptune and His Horses." The property features 192 guest rooms and suites; a 2,200 square foot Club Lounge, 24,000 square feet of light-filled meeting space; a 29,000 square foot oceanfront sundeck with an infinity pool and private cabanas; destination Spa with an organic and active-botanical treatment menu and a water-view fitness center. Four dining and entertainment options include the new Via Luna Italian grill with seating indoors or al fresco on an oceanfront patio, the dramatic oceanfront Via Luna Bar, a private Wine Room with a 5,000 bottle wine cellar and a seventh floor Poolside Cafe with commanding ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ritz Carlton
St Regis Fort Lauderdale
St Regis Ft Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing