We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Problem with front desk !” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Problem with front desk !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

On the nicest resort in Fort Lauderdale, Fl.

But Linda at the front desk need to find a new job. She's very nasty with all the staff, very short with the customer and doesn't want solve problems.

I don't know how she got the job or what she's doing to keep it but she the only reason I would not go back: But the property is perfect, the staff by the pool is from Haven, the restaurant, the bar...

The hotel was almost empty, there no reason a guest should wait till 4 pm to get a room, upgrade your guest, it doesn't cost you anything but you will get repeat customer.

Room Tip: It's not going to be cheap but worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Charles V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christine c, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Charles V,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
We appreciate your comments and I am sorry that your experienced some isues at check-in time, but I am pleased to know that you received great service from everyone. Please feel free to contact me at 954-465-2300, at your convenience, should you wish to discuss your stay further.
Thank you.

Greg Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    893
    293
    102
    50
    27
See reviews for
311
600
50
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

As a former customer of The W in Ft. Lauderdale, we thought we'd give this a try. Check in was outstanding - probably the most professional, efficient and friendly I'o ever experienced. The room was exactly as expected which included a full ocean view. The bathroom was particularly remarkable and the bed and linens were of very high quality.

The room price included breakfast and valet parking - we were there for four nights. The restaurant experience was not five stars. Each morning the restaurant was not busy. The host/hostess each morning was very good. One morning, we sat on the terrace (terrific view and location) and sat for a while after finishing breakfast. No one ever came by to ask how our food was or to replenish the coffee. In fact, our empty plates sat in front of us for 20 minutes so we finally decided to get up and leave. Oddly, during that time the waiter came by and placed the check on the table! The other breakfast experiences were better, but it seemed as though there was a lot of room for improvement to meet what is the high Ritz standard.

Everything else was excellent. The room, front desk staff, concierge, bar staff, valet staff all are five star quality. After checking out, we decided that this is a property to which we will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Had a quick overnight here after a week in the Keys as it is so close to the Fort Lauderdale airport. Service was excellent, room on the 8th floor overlooked the pool deck on the 7th floor, also with a great ocean view. Room was a good size, the chez lounge chair was quite stained, I would hate to give it the blue light test. Room service was prompt and good, bell and door guys were great. A little pricey at $345 plus tax. Great stop for a night or two.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doghouse66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin Square, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have stayed in many Ritz-Carlton's and have come to expect the very best in service, luxury and only first class facilities.

This Ritz is a shade below that typical level. Its a great place, in a perfect location, but its just not the level of normal Ritz.

The facilitiy is a little dated and appears to be an older holder remodeled. It shows that at every turn

The service does not seem genuinely first class and the restuarant service was very very slow, waited over and hour for a sandwich.

With that said, it is a very nice place, solid with private beach front atrea, spa, nice fitness center, ETC.

If you are looking for a nice relaxing beach vacation in Ft Lauderdale, This is a great spot, but its very expensive. Sometimes very expensive just feels right, you dont mind it. But here, it just does not.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a beach front room and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had a GREAT time Mother's Day weekend. This hotel is excellent in every aspect. The staff was awesome and food was excellent. Sunday Brunch is a MUST (expensive) but totally worth it. Right accrss from the beach which is beautiful!! Would recommend and would stay there again. Valet service was right on top of things. Perfect stay!! Get the Ocean front Suite you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get the ocean front suite, AMAZING view. We had diner out on our balcony and it was awesome. One o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Actually we have been their for two weeks in September 2011, but I still remember how they good. I liked the big room, breakfast and specially I liked advices from concierge) I remember funny one,
When I was tiered from high class cousin, I asked for the place with good burgers, I asked maybe try McDonald in America? And he answered that the last time when touch McDonald was 35 years ago)) now only Five guys !!))) and we loved this place too)
Negative - road near the hotel..

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vladimir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This place is awesome! Valet is quick and very friendly. Overall, the staff at the Ritz-Carlton is great.

The hotel is very clean and the location is hard to beat - right across the street from the beach with bars and restaurants within walking distance.

The pool is beautiful, and the drinks are strong . The poolside service is outstanding, friendly and prompt. The food was great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,889 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,616 reviews
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdal...
#2 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale
Address: 1 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale infuses the Gold Coast with casual luxury as the city's first and only AAA Five Diamond hotel. The 24-story, dramatically tiered and glass walled structure has sweeping curves that are reminiscent of a luxury liner. Design elements recall the 1940's, with artwork that includes playful murals inspired by French artist Jean Cocteau and a 13-foot high mural of a seascape inspired by the 1880 painting, "King Neptune and His Horses." The property features 192 guest rooms and suites; a 2,200 square foot Club Lounge, 24,000 square feet of light-filled meeting space; a 29,000 square foot oceanfront sundeck with an infinity pool and private cabanas; destination Spa with an organic and active-botanical treatment menu and a water-view fitness center. Four dining and entertainment options include the new Via Luna Italian grill with seating indoors or al fresco on an oceanfront patio, the dramatic oceanfront Via Luna Bar, a private Wine Room with a 5,000 bottle wine cellar and a seventh floor Poolside Cafe with commanding ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Marriott, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ritz Carlton
St Regis Fort Lauderdale
St Regis Ft Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing