We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place”
Review of Alcazar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alcazar Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2008

I highly recommend this place. Both the staff and fellow guests were extremly friendly. The room was clean and big. We liked the place so much that we booked it again in Dec 08.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank michaelmark08610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2008

A four night stay was just not long enough at the Alcazar!
From the moment I arrived, I knew I would have an enjoyable time mainly because of the office clerk.
He took the time to explain everything about the resort and took me on a tour before he showed me to my room.

The Alcazar and the Worthington Resort next door are now joined together under the same ownership. The Alcazar is an older resort built in the 50's I'm told and needs some updating. But it seems it is slowly being upgraded. In the meantime, enjoy the pool and the cosy atmosphere and take advantage of the hot tub and the pool at the Worthington.

Happy hours on Friday and Saturdays were a fun way to meet and socialize with guests from both resorts. I was a travelling alone and alas most guests were couples. But I still met some great people including a Canadian couple from Vancouver and a gentleman who used to work in Nova Scotia and New Brunswick. It's so nice to meet people from home when you're away!

The beach was a short 5 minute walk away. The water was wonderfully cool and refreshing. But the sand is difficult to walk on, I think mainly because the beach crew is raking it with a machine frequently. The gay beach at Sebastian Street is just another 10 minutes south by foot..

The sad thing is that huge hotel towers (including one from Trump) are being built right along the beach which will provide unwanted shade for the smaller resorts like Alcazar in the North Birch area.

Overall, Fort Lauderdale is a neat place to visit and is becoming a gay mecca... but having a car is a definite must. The city and surrounding area are sprawling. I spent 45 minutes by car getting to a sprawling outlet mall - the Sawgrass Mills. The bargains were decent but be wary that not all mall stores are outlets and many are regular retailers with higher prices.

A trip to the small enclave of Wilton Manors is a must with its gay shops, bars and restaurants. You'll feel right at home.

Since I had a car, I took a day trip to Palm Beach. It was a pleasant but very slow drive along the Atlantic coastal highway, A1A. Be wary of frequent waits at drawbridges as the highway parallels the intracoastal waterway system. I wisely took the interstate highway back to Lauderdale. But pay close attention to exit signs and ramps... local maps can be deceiving.

Fort Lauderdale Int'l Airport is easy to navigate and to find your rental car counter. Avoid Miami Airport if you can, it's a zoo compared to this one. Try and provide your own car insurance, rental companies will stiff you on this and other fees and taxes.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank awd1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2007

Really lovely resort, very clean with lovely gardens, two swimming pools and hot bubbling jacuzzi, which can be used 24hrs......bliss!!

The staff were really friendly and helpful and rooms cleaned and tidied every day. Also had free pool towels.

Overall, VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED AND WILL VISIT AGAIN!!

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LondonAb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2007

We were very happy with our stay at Alcazar. Having the Worthington property to use as well made all the difference. The grounds are very nice. The staff was very friendly. The weekend happy hours provided a nice way to mingle with the other guests. The pool was warm and clean. There was shade for those who wanted (or needed) it and sun for all. It was a nice walk to Sebastian Beach.

The rooms at the Alcazar have been upgraded from their original, but could use a bit more eventually.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TomH2OBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2007

The Alcazar Resort is located in the heart of the gay guesthouse district, at the corner of Birch and Terramar streets, just two blocks from the beach. The property was recently acquired by its neighbor, the Worthington, and the two have been joined into a single resort. The main difference between the two properties is that the rooms at the Alcazar are much more dated. Although they have had a superficial makeover, the rooms still sport older fixtures and flooring. However, you can save about $30 per night by booking the Alcazar instead of the Worthington, and still enjoy all of the facilities that the Worthington has to offer, since the two properties are now connected.

The staff is very friendly, and amenities include a continental breakfast, limited to juice, coffee, cereal, and bagels/muffins as well as wireless Internet access and a terminal available for guests to check their email. There are two lovely pool areas, the nicer one located on the Worthington side of the resort. Both pools are clothing optional, as is the case for most of the neighborhood's gay resorts and guest houses.

I found the guests to be quite friendly. It's easy enough to find someone to put sunscreen on your back, or make a dinner date while lounging around the pool in the afternoon! All in all, I was very satisfied with my stay.

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank BudgetChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rafa_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JensZeise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Lauderdale
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,815 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,032 reviews
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#60 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Hotel Lush Royale
Hotel Lush Royale
#12 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
312 reviews
The Cabanas Guesthouse & Spa
#1 of 3 in Wilton Manors
377 reviews
Central Beach
Cheston House Gay Resort
Cheston House Gay Resort
#17 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcazar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcazar Resort

Address: 555 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4020
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £124 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcazar Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alcazar resort is centrally located to all Gay Fort lauderdale Nightlife. Walk to the popular Sebastian St. Gay Beach. Two blocks from the W Hotel thats has fine dinning and breath taking views from the bars. All rooms at the Alcazar have undergone renovations that started in early 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alcazar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcazar Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Alcazar Resort Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing