We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resort to stay at in Fort Lauderdale”
Review of Alcazar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alcazar Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is my second visit to the Worthington, Alcazar, Villa Venice Resort complex.
This is my second review on this site, so forgive me if I miss stuff out. Learning curve and all that!

The place is great fun. Relaxing, loud, restful, exciting. Yes contradictory I know! But, it is big enough to be all those things and still keep a family run charm about it with the connecting layout of the three resorts.

Shout out to thank my Quebecian friends for such a great time. I already miss Rosie's great wraps, Alibi buy one get one free beers, and I am sure I am not old enough to return to Trops for good few years! Oh sorry doing holiday stuff.....back to Alzr....

So I have stayed at the Alcazar both times and really like the space and atmosphere it has.
I am not sure any one of the three pool areas are more "lively" than the other, it just depends on the group of people and flow of refreshments. The more drink, the more people, the more noise. Its a holiday!

The Worthington and Villa pools are both heated and in the evening they are great fun to relax in, especially after a night out. Everyone seems to end up in one of the two pools.
The Alcazar pool is not heated and in the mid day sun it is so refreshing.

The rooms are clean, beds made every day etc. Towels / toiletries provided in the plenty.

Handy washer and dryer for your clothes in the Gym.

It is not far from the beach, about 2 minutes in flip flops. And the gay beach, is few minutes extra.

On Saturday they have a soirée (4-6pm). Music was good with remixed dance tracks. The mixing of strangers is great, and people happily seem to do the obligatory "where r u from" and it goes from there. Nice tradition. Staff are very helpful and friendly.

I had a great time and really look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R-GSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

I visited Fort Lauderdale in June and stayed at the Alcazar Resort, have stayed there on numerous occasions prior to this trip, very nice that you have acsess to all 3 resorts, but prefer to stay at Alcazar, seems a little more quiet than the rest. everyone from Jim the owner, to the front desk staff, the housekeepers, have been nothing but kind and hospitable great bunch of guys!!! Would, and do recommend The Worthington Resorts.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I visited the Alcazar resort in late April with a friend and we had a great time there. The room we had was very large and sunny, nice amenities. I love the fact that there are 3 resorts in one, because it gives you more space to wander in and lots of new faces all the time. I have to give the staff a lot of credit too, because they were always friendly and helpful. There was a great mix of guys there too so nobody should feel too old or too young. I'll definitely be back for more fun times in the future!

Room Tip: We loved room 219, which has 2 double beds and is a nice size with lots of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pvmxfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have stayed for three/four times now at the Alcazar/Worthington. Always a very pleasant stay. The staff is very friendly and help full.
One room is better/nicer then the other but always clean.

The area around the resort is good and safe.
Close (walking distance) to shops, restaurants and the beach. If you would like to see more of Fort Lauderdale you need a car. When travelling in the US we always book a car...when you want to a gaybar then you need to go by car or a cab. The staff can tell you everything when and where to go for a night out.

We are gone stay again at the resort in November and we are already looking foward to be there again!

Greetings from 2 dutch guys

Room Tip: If you would like to have some rest and piece stay then at the poolside from the Alcazar or Venice s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

It's like going to my second home and visiting with family every time I stay at this resort. Beautiful property, friendly staff and very nice accommodations. I love the layout where 3 properties have been combined, giving a choice of environments to enjoy with 3 pools, 2 hot tubs and various social areas providing sun or shade.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJCincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I travel roughly 5 weeks a year, mixing it up both here in the states and in Europe. We really love Fort Lauderdale. It's like an old, reliable friend to us. We make a point of visiting at least once a year. It's a sunny, scenic paradise, with plenty of gay life, beautiful beaches, shops, clubs, and a surplus of great food in some of the best restaurants anywhere. After trying out a few other guesthouses when we first discovered Lauderdale, we settled on the Alcazar about 5 yrs. ago. They are simply THE BEST. Reasonable Rates. Clean, nicely appointed Rooms. Friendly Staff. A nice mix of Guests. And Consistently Great Service all around. We have recommended them to friends and other travelers for years now. We just returned last night from a spectacular week there. Since it was the holiday, the hotel also had a nice Memorial Day cookout by the pool, with plenty of food and drinks for the guests. A nice touch. Alcazar is our only choice for accommodations in Ft. Lauderdale. Try them. You won't be disappointed. Mark and Rick in PA.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

First time at Worthington/Alcazar. the staff in the front office a bit odd at first. It's a good place to stay but there are better close by. The breakfast is very basic. Rooms clean and updated. Most of the guys that stay here are over 40 or 50 and friendly. Beds clean and firm a good sleep. The area has many other gay places to stay. The gay bars, shops and restaurants are not close by, but the gay beach is.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baraboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,045 reviews
The Worthington Guest House
#3 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
858 reviews
Central Beach
Hotel Lush Royale
Hotel Lush Royale
#12 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Cheston House Gay Resort
Cheston House Gay Resort
#17 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
105 reviews
Central Beach
The Grand Resort and Spa
The Grand Resort and Spa
#2 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
402 reviews
Victoria Park
Pineapple Point Guest House and Resort
Pineapple Point Guest House and ...
#1 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcazar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcazar Resort

Address: 555 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4020
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £123 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcazar Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alcazar resort is centrally located to all Gay Fort lauderdale Nightlife. Walk to the popular Sebastian St. Gay Beach. Two blocks from the W Hotel thats has fine dinning and breath taking views from the bars. All rooms at the Alcazar have undergone renovations that started in early 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Alcazar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcazar Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Alcazar Resort Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing