We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach, away from super busy areas!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sun Tower Hotel & Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Right on the beach, away from super busy areas!”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

S Every room has an ocean view, steps from the beach, free lounge chairs, towels and hammocks. Sandbar Grill food was OK

Every room has a balcony. If you have a first floor room you have a ginormous porch with plenty of chairs and a little table. The weird thing is you share the porch with the room next door. If youre in 913 like i was, you also share your porch with the restaurant. I could see it getting annoying if you want privacy, but it was fine for me. So, what you sacrifice in privacy, you get back in space. Upper floor balconies are tiny.

Rooms looked recently remodeled, bed was comfy and bathroom was very clean. Tv lacked most channels (there were more infomercial channels than regular channels) and wifi was spotty. Staff was super friendly.

Best find was a B Cycle kiosk right in front of the hotel. for about 10 bucks you can rent a bike and ride a mile south to lots of touristy stuff and a great state park. Also, the pelican resort next store has an ATM, and a nice sundry store that was part ice cream parlor and coffee place.

Room Tip: first floor rooms have huge, but shared porch. Room 913 shares a wall with the restaurant, but wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    171
    36
    19
    8
See reviews for
208
281
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I just recently returned home from a fantastic vacation at the Sun Tower and can't wait to go back again next year! The staff were super friendly and really wanted you to enjoy your stay. The beach was beautiful and very clean. The restaurant had a variety of good food and the service was freindly and timely. The food was delicious and the prices were perfect. The rooms had a spectacular view of the ocen and were very clean and comfortable. There was a cute balcony in the room which was overlooking the beach and was a great spot to take in the view. I wouldn't stay anyother place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skanor, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Very good location right on the beach, but far away from all restaurants and activities. You´ll definitely need a car. Hotel staff very admonishing and not pleasant at all.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teeliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2012

stayed dec 18 - 22 .2011 . PROS.> Nice location on the beech , cute , pretty hideway pool , cute hotel setup compared to large hotels beside it , hear the waves 50 feet away, able to open patio door all night (no bugs) , nice staff , resonable rates. , restaurant not bad , nice setting Overall I would say very nice 3 or 4 star resort star hotel but definely not a 5 star resort , .....CONS >>> the rooms and bathrooms are dated like cracked sink , chipped mirrors, funny shower , The wall safe looked old and did not work , maintenance fixed it. Petit balconies in upper rooms , missing menu in room for room service or stuff about hotel , I asked for small plastic table for balcony , but it never came . Definitely missing attenion to details s but the location and made up for it... BEWARE OF HAMMOCKS - they have inviting hammocks on the beach, I slowly sat in and slammed my rear into the sand . I mildly hurt my tail-bone . I'm still feeling it 2months later . I saw another avg size man hurt himself and other hammock could not even suspend a 9 year old. above the ground ,, they obviously never checked this. It was mild tail bone pain OR I would taken more serious complaints or actions !

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsy1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We had a family reunion at this hotel recently. All the rooms face the beach and have sweet little balconies. There is a small pool and good funky little cafe for breakfast. I thought it was a very good value for a private beach in the heart of winter. It wasn't fancy, no spa - but it was clean and everyone had a good time. It's an excellent value.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuyorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Prairie, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Nine days in heaven, that is how I would describe my stay at the Sun Tower. Most of the postings on this hotel are positive for a very good reason, they are true. As for the other ones I guess even paradise would not satisfy them. Very clean, renovated room (not new, RENOVATED). They changed all the bedroom furniture of all the rooms while I was there, exept for the matress which is fine because it was VERY comfortable. King size bed, flat screen TV in the living room if you get bored with the unobstructed view of the magnificent atlantic ocean. A WIDE patio door were we kept the two mobile panels always open so as to listen to the heavenly sound of the ocean waves. A basic kitchenette we used for most of our meals so we could stay at the hotel to RELAX. It was like being on a cruise ship without having to throw up all the time.

Ultra friendly personnel starting with Christine the manager, Amanda, John and my new friend Carlos at the front desk. Very cozy restaurant with terrace on the beach and a friendly staff inside and outside of the kitchen, go Mike go! And a friendly and efficient maintenance staff for icing on the cake of a beatiful stay, thank you all very much.

My wife and I loved it so much we have already made a reservation for next year. Of course even heaven is not perfect. If you love wine, do like I did and buy or bring real glassware. Drinking wine in plastic stemglass is like drinking McWine. And for breakfast we bought a toaster at Wallmart for six bucks because the Sun Tower does not provide them.

I will certainly tell all my friends, and my enemies (they deserve to have fun too), to stay at this gem of a hotel. May this 1957 renovated hotel stay there for our pleasure to enjoy for many years to come.

See you next year!!!

Jacques (Not Jakass! Hasta luego Carlos! )

Room Tip: Of the 24 available rooms, one does not have a direct ocean view, it is probably less expensive but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacques L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I really liked the sun Tower. The staff is wonderful, the room all have a great view, and the bar/restaurant serves excellent food for a small place. Everything is fine until the weather turns on you. Once the rain comes, there's no place to stay aside from your room. We stayed the weekend, and Sunday morning it rained. The restaurant can sit about 20-25 people, and some were sent to the hotel next door. If they fix this issue, then the place is top notch value.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,689 reviews
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,049 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#19 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,780 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,683 reviews
Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A No...
#9 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Tower Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Tower Hotel & Suites

Property: Sun Tower Hotel & Suites
Address: 2030 N Ocean Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305-3727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Tower Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Lauderdale's Premiere boutique style hotel, located DIRECTLY on 350 ft of private beach, offers 23 NEWLY RENOVATED oceanfront suites and standard accommodations with private balconies. Enjoy our Sandbar Grille located on our expanded oceanfront terrace or relax by our heated pool. Lounge chairs & umbrella's are provided along with complimentary use of kayaks and paddle boards. Self parking on property is available for no additional cost. There is nothing between you and beach when you stay at Sun Tower Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sun Tower Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Tower Hotel And Suites On The Beach
Sun Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Sun Motel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing