We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great room and a great view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great room and a great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We read the reviews for this place before we booked and could tell that it was going to be good value for money, as we would have normally expected to pay more for the location. The reviews convinced us that there was no need to pay any extra money for a place to stay in Fort Lauderdale as this place was entirely acceptable. We found this to be true.
The hotel is situated in a pleasant and quiet area of Fort Lauderdale and right on the beach which was a huge plus. When we arrived, the downstairs area beyond the pool that leads to lifts and the beach looked rather shabby and run down. Our advice is to overlook this initial, negative impression as everything else is of a good quality for the money and very clean. If the shabby area at the back could be smartened up then the whole place would look a lot more attractive and appealing to visitors. We felt very safe there and it was so good to have that ocean view from our room. The beach area available for customers staying at the Sun Tower seems to be much bigger than for those staying at the larger, more up-market hotel next door and the Sun Tower provides plenty of beach towels,loungers and umbrellas free of charge for use on the beach.
Some front desk people were particularly helpful and friendly. The rooms were well-prepared and clean for our arrival and were far better quality than one might anticipate from the outside. We were very pleased with the room itself. The hotel is much cheaper than many in a similar location and the room's presentation and view make this hotel very good value for money to stay in.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allthe4s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    168
    36
    19
    8
See reviews for
202
274
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cooper City, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

This hotel works perfect for what we want. My friends from high school all reserve a room at sun tower and have just the best of time. The resturaunt was great, pool area relaxing and right on the beach. You cannot beat it. The staff was very accommodating. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Td1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

the place is not updated but everything else made up for it. me and my boy friend stayed nine days we had the suite with the ocean view every day was better than the day before the location was awsome the water was perfect the view the staff and the little caffe was great we'll be back again

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

This property was a great find. All rooms are oceanfront, and, although not brand new, are well-appointed, well-maintained, and much more reasonably priced than other beachfront properties. Our spacious room had a king bed, microwave, refrigerator, and small balcony with two chairs.

Free beach chairs and umbrellas are available for guests, and the pool was somewhat small but very nice.

The hotel also features a beachside bar and restaurant with a large deck. They served great food - upscale pub grub that was tasty.

Parking is tight, but front desk staff will valet your car if necessary for no extra charge. In fact, all staff went out of their way to be helpful.

We'd stay here again on a return trip to Ft. Lauderdale.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank AWeekOrAWeekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Hotel had a small but very nice indoor, outdoor restaurant. Tony makes a great breakfast as well as lunch and dinner. Hotel is on beach, with beach views, clean, inexpensive and close to other beaches, shopping, restaurants, etc. Great owner, very personable. Would go back to vacation!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoustonsEatWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We just got back from a beautiful week in Ft Lauderdale, and the part of the trip that made it the best was our return to the Sun Tower. We love this little 23 room hotel. In my past post, I had mentioned that the offerings from this hotel are much better than what you will get from some of the more "luxurious " hotels, especially for the money. It's just a few feet from the beach. Parking is free and chairs and umbrellas are also provided. The rooms are clean, spacious and very comfortable. What really makes this hotel like a home away from home, is the staff. Christine the manager is always around. On somedays you will see her in her office, in the reception desk and on the beach talking to guest. We have also seen her serving at the Sandbar restaurant as well as trimming the landscaping around the pool area. The rest of the staff is just as happy wearing different hats as well. I need to mention Amanda, Carlos, Mike, Chris and the house keeping staff. They all take pride in making you feel at home.

There is nothing I could say negative about the Sun Tower. It truly is a gem among some huge hotels near by. If I could say anything, and this is purely nit picking, I wish the wireless that you pay a slight fee for had better band width. If you are planning on using Netflix, you might see if getting a room closer to the office may do better. Staying on the third floor, we found the wireless not "home quality". but in the end, who needs to be on the web, when you have the beautiful Atlantic within a few feet.

Last thing, do yourself a favor and eat at the Sand Bar. There is a reason the local folks come to eat there. The Flat Breads are incredible, the burgers are good and the homemade potato chips are fantastic. Other than one super birthday dinner at Casa D Angelo's one night, we at dinner at the Sand Bar every night.

We can't wait until next year to come back to our favorite little beach home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatekAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grenloch
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Not sure why this hotel gets such great reviews. My girlfriend and I travel constantly, and this place was a huge let down. The only thing this place has going for it is the private beach, which is beautiful and connects right to the hotel. The beach bar was good not great but the rooms were terrible. The first room they put us in had a giant iron burn in the carpet as soon as we walked in, and the AC unit was shot. The bathroom was a mess and the whole room just felt shabby. After bringing to the front desks attention that we had booked an oceanview king (not the double queen they put us in), Carlos at the desk informed me that when booking online you don't get to choose what bed you get. I beg to differ, I couldn't believe he even said that. I still insisted that we were not happy w the room and he said he would see what he could do, he had to talk to his "boss" whom he apparently couldn't get a hold of. Later in the evening I talked to the night clerk who was much more responsive, who agreed that yes I did indeed book a king and that he would leave a note for the morning clerk. Next day they did upgrade us to the 6th floor suite, which was a considerably nicer room, but it smelled!!!! As soon as we walked in we both agreed that it smelled like BO, like a big sweaty man had just left! We walked all around until we discovered it was the BED that smelled!!! The pillows and sheets! I took a pillow case off and took it to the front desk where Chris (?) smelled the case and expressed extreme embarrassment and took me to the laundry room for fresh sheets and pillowcases. He found 1 pillow to give me as a replacement and seemed genuinely sorry and embarrassed. Back to the room we stripped the bed and put all of the previous bedding in the closet, made our bed up fresh and reluctantly got in. I would never stay at this hotel again. The only good thing about this place was the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank che b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A No...
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach

Property: Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach
Address: 2030 N Ocean Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305-3727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Lauderdale's Premiere boutique style hotel, located DIRECTLY on 350 ft of private beach, offers 23 NEWLY RENOVATED oceanfront suites and standard accommodations with private balconies. Enjoy our Sandbar Grille located on our expanded oceanfront terrace or relax by our heated pool. Lounge chairs & umbrella's are provided along with complimentary use of kayaks and paddleboards. Self parking on property is available for no additional cost. There is nothing between you and beach when you stay at Sun Tower Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Tower Hotel & Suites on the beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Tower Hotel And Suites On The Beach
Sun Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Sun Motel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing