We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious yet sparse, well located, well priced”
Review of Summerland Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Lauderdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Summerland Suites
Ranked #56 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The first thing that struck us was the size of the suites which are bigger than you'd expect at that price bracket with a separate bedroom, bathroom, lounge and kitchenette. The front desk lady was excellent to deal with, very efficient yet welcoming and knowledgeable.

The air con worked well despite the oppressive heat and humidity.

The Summerland Suites are a short walk of 2-3 blocks down to the beach and is a short drive North of where all the actual Fort Lauderdale action is. However, the beach up this end is really beautiful and didn't feel overly busy at any time.

The pool is a decent size although we didn't use it.

Overall I'd stay here again for the value and size of the rooms although detracting factors are the lack of homeliness due to the white tiled floors throughout the suite.

Room Tip: Don't go to the nearby outdoor restaurant we were recommended by front desk. Its not very good a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7TroopCutCopyPaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed here for two nights. The suites were very basic, seemingly decorated in the 1980's by someone with no taste. However, they are in an excellent location near the beach, The rooms were very ckean, with good lighting. There was a king-sized bed and a single. There were three closets. The bathroom had good towels and a good shower, but no toiletries were provided. I was annoyed that local and toll-free calls made from the room were 50 cents each. The receptionist in the tiny office was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms offer a bit more privacy, though you need to carry your luggage up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coffeemavenswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

we stayed here for 5 nights, whilst visiting Florida. The hotel was really clean and comfortable, not luxurious, but really good value for money. Our room was facing the pool on the ground floor and was basic, but had everything you could need on a self catering holiday. There was a large cooker, microwave, fridge, in a compact kitchen area. The living area was airy, bright and comfortable. The bedroom was seperate, with ensuite bathroom, again basic but a lovely comfy bed nice and clean and bright.

Ok this is not 4 star luxury, but if you are on a tight budget and want really clean place to stay in a great location for all the attractions, this is the place to stay.

Angela on front desk was really helpful and friendly as were the ground staff. There is a laudry on site to take care of your dirty clothes and reasonable too so you can pop in a washload and sunbathe at the same time.

The Galleria shopping mall is in walking distance as is the beach and all the bars and restaurants along the prom.

Fort Lauderdale is a great place to visit and the Summerland Suites a great choice.

Room Tip: hotel is in quiet cul de sac so no noise, except for some inconsiderate guests early by the pool. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wholelottaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed here because of the price & reviews on Tripadvisor. Everything people said is true. We were upgraded to a 1 bedroom apartment. Everything was very clean, the king bed very comfortable. We're smokers, but no problem. We could sit outside our room on the balcony, open the blinds & window & watch tv. The pool was small, but the water temp. was perfect. The only things missing, were an ice machine, pop machine & coffee. Advise you to go to the grocery store & stock up. The kitchen is fully stocked, including a cork screw & pizza cutter. The beach is a few blocks away & since you have to pay for parking EVERY WHERE, walk. If you want quiet, this is the place!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thegoalie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I suggest this place for families, and singles not interested in luxury but in privacy and comfort. Angela at the front desk was so sweet and helpful. Kitchen had all the appliances/tools we needed. Our suite was a 1 bedroom apartment w/a king bed and a double in the bedroom. Pull out couch in living room. The place was perfect for my 20 year old son, his girl friend and I. We walked to the beach each day (about 2 short blocks) and even walked to the strip where the restaurants and bars were just a few blocks.

Angela gave us a late check out which was really convienent since we didn't have to leave for the airport until 4:30.

Some things to note:

Shop at Target ( a short distance away) it's way more reasonable than the local grocery store Publix and CVS. The Target has a grocery section with fresh meats and veggies and had much better prices.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justines256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Arrived late saturday night after long flight from UK. Superb welcome and easy directions to find the block where our rooms were. The guy on the desk next morning answered all my questions about where to go and passed on recommendations on what to do and see. Free and easy parking, less than 5 minutes walk to beach and 10 minute walk to Beach Place area and 20 mins to Galleria mall. Been to Fort Lauderdale before but was a bit too far from all the action. The location was great, service friendly and welcoming and accommodation was good value for money. Stayed 5 nights and wanted to extend but were fully booked. The next hotel is another story!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank margaritagirluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We stayed in the Summerland Suites 5 nights in April 2011. I booked this hotel because of kitchen facilities and price and was prepared for very basic accommodation. Yes, you can call it basic, because it doesn’t have all these perks of the luxury hotels (most of which we never used anyway). From the first day there I felt at home - everything was perfectly right: very comfortable bed, fully equipped kitchen, enough grills in the back yard to find one available at any time of day. The smartest things they have are tile floor (cool and clean), fully opening windows (I hate the hotels where you have to fully rely on air-conditioner) and the linen cord in the backyard for drying beach towels and swimming suits.
Location is perfect as well. Quiet area, but close to all the festivities (if your want entertainment). The walk to the beach takes less than five minutes.
So if you want a quiet family vacation with all the conveniences of home, and you are not into the counting of threads on your sheets - go to Summerland Suites (by the way, the quality of sheets was very good, as much as I understand in it).

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank puteshestvennik_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Villa Venezia
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
164 reviews
Manhattan Tower Apartment Hotel
#31 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
198 reviews
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#58 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Fort Laude...
#46 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
523 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
829 reviews
Central Beach
Soleado Hotel
Soleado Hotel
#41 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerland Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerland Suites

Address: 700 Orton Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4079
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#40 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £55 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Summerland Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Summerland Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing