We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, big rooms, inespensive.”
Review of snooze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
snooze
Ranked #4 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
West Seneca, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, big rooms, inespensive.”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The Ocean Holiday Motel Resort is located right on the beach, parking is included. The room itself was excellent, very large and clean. Service was excellent and the price was very affordable. Free WiFi was included.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkCromwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    165
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
132
356
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Seneca, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I was very pleased with my stay at the Ocean Holiday Motel Resort. What I look for is a clean room, good location, helpful service and a reasonable price.

The rooms were always cleaned very nicely, despite us being a bit messy with sand in our shoes from time on the beach. Our room (had two double beds), one for myself and my brother. It was very large and had a nice kitchenette.

The location was key. It was a right across from the beach along the major strip for Ft. Lauderdale. Feet from all the nice restaurants!

The service at the hotel was helpful. They recommended places to eat, let us check out a little late (because we had a late flight) and even helped me park my car one day.

Value - the price was very reasonable compared to other hotels.

Overall I have to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the ocean and others do not. If this matters to you, try calling before y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 401, top floor, ocean view from the sofa! Bed was king and comfortable. Reasonably priced as well. Enjoyed the atmosphere and room / view so much, stayed a 2nd night. There is an elevator, parking, wifi, which works well. Fridge freezer, microwave, coffeemaker, toaster, tv, breakfast bar, 2 tables, large mirror. Good ac and ceiling fan. Did I mention the view! We would definitely recommend this motel if you like value for your money. Beach is just across the road, shared patio terrace out the front. Shops / bars etc down the street 5 mins walk. We both enjoyed our room here very much, on our road trip.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnx144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We used this motel to stay till 3am to catch our flight at FLL, this motel is the best price in the neighborhood for our purpose (for group of 12). I am rating is very good based on what the property is and my experience with the stay. It is no mean of comparing to nearby more expensive properties.

Booking the hotel was a breeze, I paid after my stay and the owner even added another room for the same rate!! Awesome!

The three words I will use to describe this motel is: inexpensive, sufficient and basic.

We went in the morning for an early check-in, the fellow knew about me and immediately took all of our luggage and gave me some useful information on how to spend the day there.

Location wise, it is about 3 min from walking to the beach. It is also very close to other restaurant, cafe. So not having any amenities is not a concern.

The 3 rooms we had were the 2 king beds units, they were big and had a small kitchen, a microwave, mini-fridge and a coffee maker. The property probably went through a renovation about some time ago. I could tell the renovation was probably a DIY project. The room conditions were better than an average motel that I stayed at before.

I agree with the other reviewer, the washroom needs more storage!

The rooms definitely need a more thorough cleaning because dusts are everywhere in windows, walls etc.

One of our room had wet sheets and bedding, the room wasn't available to us until late afternoon. These are the only issues I have, otherwise I am happy with our short stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davie, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

OK The place was clean I will give it that. But...there was not a coffee pot, a cup, a rug, ice machine a pool or a phone at all in the room but a decent size fridge to keep the ice you brought yourself. Great location just steps from the beach. The kicker when you check in on a board behind the desk it listed the rates of other hotels like the Westin, the Ritz etc and how expensive they were...what do you expect they give you the basic needs and than some. I dont know why you would even consider comparing yourself to the others.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob205, Owner at snooze, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hi Heather,
Thank you for your review of our place. Everything you say is true for the king room type you booked. It also matches the room descriptions we have online. That is what our place is all about....everything you need in a room. We are Modern, Essential and Affordable all while having coffee shops/restaurants/shopping seconds walk from us in a location directly on the beach. We also toss in some extras like free parking, wifi, beach towels, chairs and umbrellas - all things you pay for elsewhere.

As for your other concerns, fear not, we will be adding an ice machine and guest laundry next year. Also, rugs are generally unsanitary and with the beach sand everywhere, we have tile in all our rooms to help keep things so clean. If you wanted that essential coffee maker, upgrade to our kitchenette room, double the square footage, two king beds, toaster and microwave too. The sign in our office showing different hotels is a reminder to our guests that they made the right decision in choosing us. Why pay more for things you won't use on holiday? We encourage all travellers considering booking with us to rate us based on what we promise to offer and nothing else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed in motels before, so I'm not comparing this one to a Westin or such.
Our room was really fresh and clean. Big comfortable bed. People are extremely frendly and caring. Thank you, you're wonderful! But there were a few simple things I wish were there... Like a shelf in a bathroom you can put your toiletries on. Towel hooks. A mirror in a room (the single one in a bathroom is too high to see anything but your head :-)) I would also like to have a coffeemaker, though Starback a block or two away did make up for this deficiency. A thing we definitely did not like was an in-wall A/C: it was either very noisy, or not producing enough output, if in a quiet mode.
Sorry, I really wanted to like the place, as a location is excellent, it's clean, and people are frendly, but it's just too modest... The price is good though :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cle_stranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob205, Owner at snooze, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Cle_stranger,
Thank you for staying with us and not comparing us to a five/four star hotel - we love people that understand what we are all about. As you mentioned, our rooms are fresh and clean due to the recent renovation. We are still waiting on some renovation items and the glass shelving for the bathrooms is one of them (should be in any day now). There is, however, a towel hook in all guest rooms to the right or left of each bathroom sink. There is also a huge 5 foot dressing mirror in each room just when you walk in - that is in addition to the one in the bathroom. Upgrading to a kitchenette will cover the need for a coffee maker as well as give you double the space, a microwave, toaster, eating area and utensils. As you said, Starbucks is also one block away. Our A/C units are just over a year old and work as advertised - as in any hotel, please let us know if you have a concern regarding anything you are not comfortable with and we will do our best to help!
Kind regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwick, Mass
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Although it is a dated motel there have been upgrades. We have room 305 and a friend is in room 303 both are redone in a simple clean manner. Good hot shower new mini fridge, dressers and lighting. The staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful. I will book next years rooms even before I leave!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KareBear45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,726 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,802 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,697 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
812 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#27 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to snooze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about snooze

Property: snooze
Address: 205 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4311 (Formerly Ocean Holiday Motel Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#21 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — snooze 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snooze is a modern take on the essentials needed for your home away from home. We believe traveling in style should be affordable without any hidden costs - just pay your room rate plus tax and that's it! We offer a clean, comfortable and modern room, plus add free parking, wifi, beach towels, beach chairs and umbrellas. Keep in mind we offer the essentials so...No pool, no 24 hr service, no phones, no spa, no bell boy, no valet and no chocolates on your pillows. Why spend the extra money on extras you don't need? We are the last oceanfront Ft. Lauderdale hotel left with less than 20 rooms. There are plenty of "big box" branded hotels out there and we are proud we are not one of them. Snooze is located directly accross the street from Fort Lauderdale Beach next to the Westin and Ritz Carlton hotels. Direct Ocean View, Kitchenette and Hotel Rooms are available at the property. The airport (7 miles), cruise terminal (5 miles) and convention center (5 miles) are just minutes away. Free Wi-Fi and beach chairs and towels. Free parking as long as it is not an over-sized vehicle. Our check-in age is 25 and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your snooze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Holiday Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing