We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were seeking and we got it at Snooze!”
Review of snooze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
snooze
Ranked #4 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Northport, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We were seeking and we got it at Snooze!”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The top 5 star rating is for it being exactly what we wanted for a clean, fun no frills spot. Just returned from 8 nights at Snooze in lovely Fort Lauderdale. I was primarily seeking somewhere I would not need a car and be on the beach. Voila! Approx. $22 taxi from airport. Walked everywhere I wanted to go (well except did take lovely ride on the water taxi on the inter-coastal). Recently renovated with sleek bright white walls, aqua bedding and pillows and minimalist furniture, flat screen TV. Clean, pretty, bright and everything in working order. Even comfortable bed! I mean really - what more could I ask for.......how about very reasonable, yes. Though I will say that with all the updating and another roof top project coming soon, the rates will be going up. I chose the room with kitchenette due to number of days. Sink, micro, fridge, coffee pot. Wonderful. VERY nice Casablanca restaurant directly next door too. The ocean view out the front "perch" was fabulous. A good place to meet the guests and relax. Rob and Joe and all the housekeeping staff were top notch. We were so well cared for - felt like family. Very customer aware. One and only downside is that being directly on A1A, it is not quiet during the day at all. But slept like a rock. I would love to be able to return some day.

Room Tip: One King size bed with the kitchenette can be selected on the front of the building which also gives...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3rdtrimester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    164
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
130
356
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in a 2 king with kitchenette. All nicely decorated, Ikea style, but I wonder how long it will stay looking so good. Husband found it a bit clinical in appearance but I thought very modern.Very reasonable prices for the area, parking a bit tight but Joe always happy to help! Beds comfortable, was a bit cold so had to ask for extra bedding. No problem and supplied straight away. Would I stay here again? Probably, if the price was still so good

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 73Cristal73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I will definitely go back to this motel next visit to Fort Lauderdale. It was clean, the bed where good. Great location, good price. On a busy street, but relatively quiet in the rooms.

Thanks for a great stay


  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Claude F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This is a very clean hotel, but it has the basics only. There is no phone in the room and no alarm clock to wake you. It works under the assumption that you have a cell phone and you are willing to pay roaming fees for all your calls. We came from Canada and only planned on being here a few days before and after our cruise. Without a phone and the office hours being 9am to 9pm, we could not wake up and call for a cab before we had to be at the airport at 8am. There is no coffee machine in the room or in the office, so you always had to go out to Starbuck's which is right up the street. No pool but the beach right across the street. Only one place to sit on a balcony and when we were there, 2 people sat in the only 2 chairs looking at the beach for at least 6 hours.Our view was of the elevator. The only mirror in the room was in the bathroom and I could hardly see my face. As I said it is very clean and nice, but just did not work for us at this time.

Room Tip: Pay for a view looking at the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karin1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob205, Owner at snooze, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Hi Karin,
Thank you for the review. I am sorry you didn't have a great stay with us. We are very honest as to what we offer in all our rooms in each room description. This is specified on our personal website and on other websites where you find us. We are a bit of a hybrid in that sense, we give you everything you need and nothing you don't.

We do not have phones and alarm clocks in our rooms. We also have no problem reserving a taxi for you prior to when you need it....we do it all the time for other guests. You can also use our office phone as well. Coffee makers are found in our kitchenette rooms along with a microwave, toaster dining area and kitchenware. We hope to earn your business next time.
Kind regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus OH
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This hotel emphasizes the reason that we rely so heavily on Tripadvisor for making travel decisions. I would never have thought to check this place out. Thankfully, I did my research before making reservations. This hotel is not a fancy resort….if you are looking for that, look elsewhere…there are plenty of those around. The Snooze Hotel is the best at what it is….a small, charming, comfortable, extremely clean hotel, with a great location, run by friendly and helpful people. This is an older hotel, 1950’s, with a completely fresh and modern look. When we walked into our room, we were impressed by the brightness and cleanliness. The rooms have been recently renovated by the new owners and the love and care that has been taken in doing so certainly shows. We had an ocean view room, with two big windows overlooking Ft. Lauderdale Beach. It is a very large room, with a well equipped kitchenette. This made it easy to have our coffee and breakfast each morning enjoying the view. The bed was so much more comfortable than I usually find while traveling. One of the greatest assets of the Snooze is the staff. Robert and Joe could not have been more friendly and helpful, they make you feel at home from the time you make your reservation. The free wi-fi, and complimentary beach towels and chairs were added bonuses. Plus, free parking….that is not easy to find in that location. Although the parking area is tight, Joe or Robert were always ready to make certain we had a parking space waiting for us. All of this for a price that is probably half of what you would pay for most hotels on the beach. As others have said, the extra cost for the ocean view rooms are well worth it. However, there is a very nice balcony/terrace type area overlooking the beach on the second floor. It is a great place to enjoy the view and people watch. We cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: As others have said....ocean view well worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcbcbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton Ab Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

A great place to be close to the atlantic ocean and see lovely sunrises. The rooms are great and the staff are excellent. With free parking and walking distance to lots to do. Walking distance to the water taxis that brings you all over. An excellent restaurant next door. We were there for two nights. It was very nice.

Room Tip: If you want action and ocean view get a king with kitchenette. We were on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skiwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob205, Owner at snooze, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you skiwizard,
I'm glad you had a great stay with us! Your review keeps us informed that we are doing the right thing....keeping things modern, essential and affordable. Keep us in mind the next time you travel.
Regards,
Robert, my family, Joe, Jessy and Gabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed at snooze for two nights in an ocean view room and it was well worth paying the extra few dollars for the fantastic view.The room was large and well equipped with fridge and seating.We were driving from Naples and the hotel called to tell us the name had been changed and to make sure we o.k. with directions which we thought was nice (large chain hotels would never do this).As stated in other reviews,a great place to stay,very friendly, clean and no silly charges for "extra's" like parking,beach chairs or beach towels.Visit Snooze grab a drink and sit on the terrace and watch the ocean.Thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teljill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,723 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,799 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,695 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
812 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to snooze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about snooze

Property: snooze
Address: 205 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4311 (Formerly Ocean Holiday Motel Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#21 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — snooze 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snooze is a modern take on the essentials needed for your home away from home. We believe traveling in style should be affordable without any hidden costs - just pay your room rate plus tax and that's it! We offer a clean, comfortable and modern room, plus add free parking, wifi, beach towels, beach chairs and umbrellas. Keep in mind we offer the essentials so...No pool, no 24 hr service, no phones, no spa, no bell boy, no valet and no chocolates on your pillows. Why spend the extra money on extras you don't need? We are the last oceanfront Ft. Lauderdale hotel left with less than 20 rooms. There are plenty of "big box" branded hotels out there and we are proud we are not one of them. Snooze is located directly accross the street from Fort Lauderdale Beach next to the Westin and Ritz Carlton hotels. Direct Ocean View, Kitchenette and Hotel Rooms are available at the property. The airport (7 miles), cruise terminal (5 miles) and convention center (5 miles) are just minutes away. Free Wi-Fi and beach chairs and towels. Free parking as long as it is not an over-sized vehicle. Our check-in age is 25 and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your snooze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Holiday Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing