We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #26 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We always enjoy coming to this property. The staff is genuine, caring, friendly and helpful. The restaurant has tremendous food and the high floor sunsets are gorgeous. We thoroughly enjoy our time in Fort Lauderdale because of the W resort.

Room Tip: High floor, full ocean view, large terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Bob R,

Thank you for your continued loyalty. It’s wonderful to hear that you always enjoy your visits, because we surely enjoy having you here! Please let us know next time your travels bring you our way by emailing us at GM.WFortLauderdale@Whotels.com.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,252
    844
    440
    243
    171
See reviews for
793
1,462
208
580
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,152)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

My family and I just checked out of the W & our entire experience was wonderful! Jarett Loperfito in the wheels dept assisted us during check-in & check-out and provided excellent service! We travel to Ft. Lauderdale at least twice a year & the W always provides us with a 5 star experience!!!

~Kelley

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank telli304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
telli304,

Thanks so much for the kind review! I’m so glad to hear that our Wheels team were able to assist you. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed 5 nights in a one bedroom apartment, and overall had a fantastic stay. The staff were exceptional, and in general the facilities were great. Our apartment felt very comfortable. I even cooked two meals as we felt so 'at home' that we just wanted to enjoy the surroundings. Unlike other hotel apartments we have stayed in. If I am giving any areas that could be improved, it would be the following. The rooms are great in design, but some elements are weak in terms of practicality and quality of finish. Rather than W, it felt a little IKEA at times. Our apartment was severely lacking in closet space, especially for hanging. The closet doors and the sliding division doors did not run or close properly. The sink in the bathroom had no plug and no mirror adjacent, making shaving impossible without messing up the surfaces. Finally, the valet parking at $32 a day seems steep. Other options? There seem only to be 'tow away' zones next to the hotel, unless you want to take the risk a few blocks away. We asked at the Shell Hotel opposite and paid $10 a night! Ask if they have space. Lastly, the breakfast service (continental) at the bar adjacent to reception was often very poorly resourced. The staff did there very best, and with a smile, but one person serving, and making coffee for a hotel of this size, was woefully inadequate. Overall though, we loved our stay, and would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoaoLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
JoaoLisbon,

We appreciate your feedback. I’ve shared your concerns with our team for further review, but am very happy to hear that your overall stay was enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Location of hotel could not be better ocean view from our balcony rooms were spacious but privacy in bathroom was difficult as our room had no privacy glass from bathroom to bedroom so to put it plain and simple if you were having a shower no privacy curtain, The gym had plenty of equipment in it and was adjacent to the roof top pool which was first class. A pool bar with complimentary fruit and food available . Hotels in this location are very pricey and this hotel was exception.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkerderry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Walkerderry,

Thank you for sharing the details of your stay. I’m glad you found the amenities enjoyable and had some time to enjoy the pool. For your next stay, feel free to dial Whatever/Whenever and they’ll happily bring you a privacy curtain for the peek-a-boo shower.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

The staff at the W made us feel very welcome as soon as we arrived. each day staff members welcome you and take time to acknowledge your presence in the hotel.
Great pool area with lots of loungers and the gym facility is well equipped.
Enjoyed our stay - will be back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wilma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Wilma L,

I’m happy to hear that our Talent made your stay all the more memorable and that you were able to enjoy some of our amenities like WET and FIT. We hope your travels bring you back our way soon!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

STARWOOD: GOLD
MARRIOTT: GOLD

After one night in Miami, i would be coming up to my city of birth for a little R&R and since i was needing to secure more stays to maintain status, and the other Starwood properties were priced too high and unfriendly, the W was the obvious choice. I was excited as well, as this would be my first W experience. I advise lots of travelers on what hotel to stay at and being a huge Starwood fan, i needed to add W|Le Meridien & Element to my profile ;) I can now check W off but i will undoubtably return....

HOTEL: This is a huge, beautiful property shaped somewhat like a boat and it architecturally flows nicely with its proximaty to Ft Lauderdale beach (A1A) crosses between the Hotel and the beach itself. It is 2 Towers both i believe something like 24 stories. There are two rooftop pools, Wet East (way too windy when i was there) and the secluded and just amazing Wet West. Wet West might be the best rooftop pool in the city. I almost dont want to tell anyone it exists as i had it too myself both days and i loved it that way ;) It definetely takes the first day to figure out the layout of this property..multiple elevators, some only go so far up etc. Valet is mandatory and expensive but comes in handy. I did avoid this by parking a block away. I dodged a ticket but im sure i was very lucky and wouldnt recommend this as a solution to the parking. Also within the hotel is a couple bars, a very hip lounge, pool tables etc...i was too busy this stay to partake in any of this but it looked to be fun especially with all the happy and presumed to be drunken people wandering from the lounge Saturday night.

THE LOCATION: Ft lauderdale Beach has come along way in my opinion from just 15 years ago. having stayed at the Courtyard down the beach a bit and also the Marriott Villas a block away i can say the W is North of the action but a very close walk to fun nightlife such as RokBar. Looked to me like Climate change is doing a number on the beaches as they are half what i remember but they are always beautiful and its just a fun location with everything you would need for a short or long stay.

THE ROOM(S): Checked in Saturday with very friendly staff. Two grrls, i dont recall their names but they were very attractive and very kind. I happily accepted the 'you cant be upgraded tonight sir' from them LOL. They did their best as they were soldout, they stated and i had a Tower 1 (Beachside) very high floor with a nice view. I heard but did not witness, the suites here are absolutely huge. Regular rooms are not very big though and honestly i wasnt very impressed with them. Bed was very comfortable though and large balcony, just not very warm. My second night i was somewhat upgraded to an OceanFront from an Oceanview..same size room though (this was a dissapointment as they werent full and i would think they would want to showcase a better room to me). i did enjoy the serenity of the waves while i slept that evening.

THE STAFF: The first two girls at check in were great. I experienced a few other friendly and helpful staff during this stay as well but i also experienced some very surly and not so helpful or friendly staff. I think with the motto, Whatever! Whenever! all staff need to remember to be friendly at all times..its really not a hard thing to do


Was my Elite recognized? Yes, but again i feel i was stiffed on the upgrade i expected, especially the second night. The hotel was a ghost town and the best they could do was same size room on the Ocean, a bit pathetic

I would recommend this property but there are alot of hotels along Ft lauderdale beach to choose from. Many are dated however and atleast this is new and exciting. Not as comfortable as i wouldve liked but if only for that amazing WetWest pool i will be back. Hoping for a better experience next time. I gave it Four stars because it is a great property.

Room Tip: OceanFront as always but the Oceanview is not bad. I wish i could say whether i was in a Wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcusBeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
ryan b,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share such a detailed review! I’m thrilled that you enjoyed your first W experience and that we were a part of it all! It sounds like you really had some to time to explore the city, which is great. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

If you are looking for a very nice hotel with all the amenities as a reasonable price, look no further. The W met my every expectation. The common areas are contemporary/elegant and cozy at the same time. The room was very clean with an upscale decor. The staff ~ can't say enough good words ~ just exceptional service and courtesy. With every request, they certainly elevated my experience!

The pool area is very nice, and the beach access is very convenient from the main hotel exit. Lots of food and shopping just a couple blocks south. Awesome location.

Room Tip: I had a south view during my November stay - I think any floor would still give you the same awesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 414erink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Erin K,

Thank you for such a great review! It sounds like you were really able to experience all that the hotel and city have to offer! We hope your travels bring you back our way again soon.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,961 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#30 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Fort Lauderdale

Property: W Fort Lauderdale
Address: 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — W Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking South Florida beach with unobstructed ocean views, W Fort Lauderdale has sand and surf on one side, and intercoastal elegance on the other. A daily resort fee of $26.50 will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
w Hotels Fort Lauderdale
w Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing