We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not put rooms next to elevators”
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #27 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The rooms next to the elevators are too noisy especially at night with the elevator machinary being so close to the sleeping area.
Overall, I had a great stay and found the staff very friendly and supportive.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smriti72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Smriti72,

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay, but am sorry to hear that your room a bit noisy. On your next visit, please feel free to request a specific room area and we’ll be happy to try and accommodate. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best,
LBosco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,353 - 2,359 of 4,145 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

Great location.
Beautiful property.
Rooms were nice. Beautiful views.
Blazing fast room service.
Staff was extremely courteous and service oriented.

We were planning on leaving later in the evening so I asked the front desk if we can extend it by another night. Since they had upgraded us to a suite and the suite was already booked for the next day, the manager suggested that we check out late (around 4) and check into a hospitality suite (which is usually only available for an hour) till later than night (10 PM) - all free of charge. It was a nice gesture on his part, especially since I was okay paying for another night and he could have charged us.

Room Tip: A lot of people recommend the full ocean view. It is great during the day but nothing to see at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChaudharyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

ChaudharyS,

I’m so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay and that our team was able to accommodate your special room request. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon for some more sweeping views!

All the best,
LBosco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

If you are looking for the most gracious and attentive hospitality among impeccably kept five star surroundings where the atmosphere is vibrant, yet tranquil where you can relax and still be 20 minutes away from the all the activities of South Beach, this is my first pick in all of Florida.

This beach front property is conveniently located within walking distance of a number of attractive restaurants overlooking the Atlantic ocean, a short distance from the culinary and art districts of Las Olas.

One of the towns favorite night lounges and restaurants, Steak 954, is just an elevator ride from your room on the first level of the hotel.

We had never before extended a stay 3 consecutive times, and we only wish we had stayed longer.

Front desk manager, Paula and general manager Michele went out of their way to accommodate our changes, even when the hotel was sold out.

For breakfast on the terrace with a breathtaking view, Alex and Jorge seem to come out of a world class school where service is a career, not just a job. The same applies to everyone else, from the minute you valet your car, until the luggage gets to your room.

We stayed in three different types of rooms. They were all beautifully appointed, but we definitely recommend the ocean front residential suites. The comfort of home, surrounded by impeccable modern architecture and spectacular views make this choice one of the best values of any beach destination in the US.

A few more shout outs to Julien at the concierge desk as well as Ryan and Garrett who threw a great Starwood Platinum Member get together party!!!

We will definitely be back soon!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Luis S,

Wow – thank you so much for such a wonderful review and for highlighting so many of Talent (we’ll be sure to pass along the kudos). I’m thrilled to hear that we were able to accommodate your extended stay and that you were able to experience so much of the hotel and Fort Lauderdale. We certainly hope your travels bring you back our way soon! Until then…safe travels!

All the best,
LBosco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This was our 4th year bringing a group of 25 Sr. Executives to this property, and we were once again blown away. I run an event management company and we take clients all over the world, at the W Fort Lauderdale they really get it. The Valet staff when you arrive are great, front desk and check-in area can sometimes be busy but is never anything to worry about, and our guests loved the accommodations and the Whisky Bar as well. See you next year!
Andrew

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Andrew J,

Thank you so much for your kind review and your continued loyalty. It’s wonderful to know that you and your guests were well attended to and entertained. We look forward to your next visit!

All the best,
LBosco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The hotel is pretty nice, a typical W hotel. The finishing of the property looks a bit bare and simple. Compared to it's Asian W Hotels, this W hotel seems like it was built on a budget. However, the views of from the large balconies are amazing, looking at the endless ocean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

veller Shanghai,

I’m so glad you enjoyed the view from your room! And thank you for your continued loyalty to W Hotels, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
LBosco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The bad:
Service: As a platinum, I was upgraded to a suite. The suite was a beautiful ocean view, however it was not well maintained- it was kind of dirty. Also it had a hand-held shower, so I asked for a standard room. They took 1 hour to switch our rooms, I honestly think the person attending to us forgot about us
Cleanliness: Rooms were kind of run down, and messy

The good:
The pools: There were two options - quiet corner side or noisy beach front. Both were great.
The location: Beach-front, walking distance to the "happening" part

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicola____484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

nicola____484,

Thank you for your review! I’m sorry that the room didn’t quite meet your expectations but am happy to hear that you enjoyed both WET East and WET west. It sounds like you were able to explore the beach a bit as well, which is wonderful! We hope you enjoyed your stay overall and hope to see you again!

All the best,
LBosco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Normally I stay at the Westin next door, but our meeting was scheduled at the W. Upon arrival we were greeted pleasantly by front desk staff and upgraded to 2 br suite in tower 2. So far so good, but I would have rather have had normal room with comfortable bed and linens. 2 nights of hard bed, and having to sleep with king size pillows. And no coffee maker! When I get up at 5 am to start working, I do not want to have to get dressed to go downstairs to get coffee. I'll be going back to the Westin.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Annette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBosco, Manager at W Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Zkiki,

I’m sorry that your recent visit didn’t meet your expectations, but we certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We hope your meeting went well and wish you safe travels.

All the best,
LBosco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#15 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,015 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#5 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,591 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,990 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,730 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#31 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Fort Lauderdale

Address: 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £178 - £437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking South Florida beach with unobstructed ocean views, W Fort Lauderdale has sand and surf on one side, and intercoastal elegance on the other. A daily resort fee of $26.50 will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
w Hotels Fort Lauderdale
w Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing