We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest view of all of the million dollar yachts !”
Review of Coconuts

Coconuts
Ranked #19 of 1,332 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$100
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Central Beach
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
262 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Greatest view of all of the million dollar yachts !”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The best cold slaw that I have even eaten. I was very disappointed in the Stone Crab. It was very very expensive and the claws were very small. They also tasted as if they had been frozen and not fresh. Their raw oysters were also very expensive - but good. I will return and try the oysters during their 'Happy Hour'.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billanddoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,009
    1,099
    297
    85
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistently delicious food in an easy breezy atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Every time I come to Fort Lauderdale, the place is a must-stop! Fresh ingredients and delicious food. I like to eat outside and look into the water to see my yacht, okay, someone else's yacht :-)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Stay over during a downpour”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stopped by for a late lunch with a great seat by the water and sunshine to boot. The food was really good, although a bit pricey for the appetizers. Our server was very friendly and accommodating since toward the end a downpour began and we moved inside to wait it out. Since we had walked from the Sheraton, we decided to sit back down for late dessert after more than a hour of POURING rain. There were some excellent choices for our sweet tooth. I ordered the coconut cheesecake and my husband and daughter ordered the ice cream cookie sandwich to share. The price seemed reasonable, however the server could have let us know that this dessert is more suited to 4 or so people with two cookies about 8" in diameter and what seemed like a half gallon of ice cream. I wouldn't have ordered the other dessert, but we ended up wasting about half of it since it was huge and just too much. Would definitely go back, but be more aware of the portions and price.

Helpful?
1 Thank skersley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't take kids!”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Unbelievable! Went there Sunday morning for brunch with family. Hostess would not seat us because TWO YEAR OLD granddaughter was not wearing a top over her two piece bathing suit! Gotta be only restaurant in the world with a dress code for two year olds! We have been going to this place couple of times a month without grand kids, but never again. Change the name to 'Loconuts'.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ummm..."be nice" with the price???”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed at the Marriottt hotel across the street and this was recommended by the front desk clerk. So when it was windy/raining at dinner hour we decided to walk (run) across to have our dinner vs. driving around to find other options. The place is "upscale" seafood on a bit of a waterfront/canal setting, and their menu/signage has "Be NICE" written all over it (not sure why...hmmm). First off, the menu advises that "ALL parties will be charged 18% gratuity"...really? Your waiter just got 2% less than we usually tip!! Which we would have added in, gladly, if he had been "nice", but he was NOT so we did not. Our food, admittedly was good, albeit HUGELY pricey. We made the mistake of ordering the appetizer special without asking the price...it was a bit of cheese, with 3 small pieces of stale bread, and some chopped pieces of tomato drizzled with balsamic something...?? $16??? really?? The grilled wings, however, were meaty, deliciously spiced and AWESOME and a good value. The seared scallops were also pricey at $26 but delicious. The waiter, when asked questions about the very "vaguely" presented menu, and what various items included (or did not), was put off and rather rude. I guess he felt he could be since he was getting his tip anyway. Overall, it was tasty, but at almost $80 total, not worth the value at all. So, buyer beware. But if you want to be "seen" and "be nice" then, go for it!! You will be tipping 18% though, remember, no matter what!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Moniclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coconuts also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Coconuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing