We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Ranked #7 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

When we checked in, we were upgraded at no extra charge to a large suite. It was beautiful & luxurious! We ordered room service for breakfast, and it was a bit on the expensive side, but it was great. The service was excellent. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schnoodle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We always want to ensure our guests receive the best available room type and we inform our guests about any available upgrades upon check-in. We are happy we were able to do this at no extra charge to you. On behalf of il Lugano we hope to be part of your next Fort Lauderdale vacation.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

934 - 940 of 1,339 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

First the one downer. The decent size pool is situated on the north side of the hotel and the poolside loungers only get direct sun early in the morning and late in the afternoon. The pool itself is essentially in the shade always. The 4 or 5 story white wall of the garage housed on the lower floors is a dull site to look out at. On a positive note there are a few loungers and numerous canopied daybeds facing the inland waterway that receive direct sunlight from 1 PM onwards and the view of the boats going by is delightful.

Hey the beach is just 3 blocks away, and while I didn't use their service...they'll take you there. Beach towels provided.

Spent 3 nights in a Lugano Suite (one that was handicap modified). One word: FABULOUS. Spacious, impeccably clean, modern design, kitchen with microwave, electric stovetop, big fridge and 2 stool granite marble. 2 LCD flat screens. Big balcony facing over strip mall with ocean view from 8th floor. Very Happy!

Lovely lobby with supremely attentive and pleasant staff. The air is scented and it's a delight to walk into the cool and modern lobby.

Dinner at restaurant: pricey but terrific. Watched the boats go by. Excellent, entertainingly solicitous service.

Good continental breakfast in same restaurant. Attentive waitress.

Plenty of car parking across from hotel but bring rolls of quarters and put your timer on for that 3 hr limit!

While I did not fuss about it, housekeeping came rather late, around 5 PM, so what is the point of turndown service? And one time, napping with the DND sign on door they actually rang the bell and knocked awakening me from a deep slumber. OH...and one time they raised the thermostat when they serviced the room.....wondered why I did not sleep as well the second night, it was up to 74 ! (lesson learned.....always recheck thermostat! ) OH.....did I say the bed is SUPERB....like sleeping on a cloud: firm mattress with super plush topper/ mattress pad.

Overall a VERY classy place.....and considering the week I was there and the prices they wanted on the beach, it was a great value.

Now if we can just have them move that pool to the roof ! LOL

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwsmd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We planned to stay only one night and extended - mainly to see more of Ft. Lauderdale but also because the room (or should I say apartment) was so spectacular. We had a bedroom with walk-in closet, a living room, kitchen, bathroom.

Can only agree with "tinatark" and "suzeshoes".

The breakfast they served was a la carte and was tops

As we were on our way to the keys we had to leave after two nights. If and when we travel to Ft. Lauderdale again we will definitely book at the Il Lugano - and for more than two nights!

By the way: There's a watertaxi stop nearby. The taxi took us down the waterway to see all the luxurious villas and yachts plus drop us off at one of the recommended restaurants (thanks to the tip from the reception). The Il Lugano restaurant was closed on that day.

Room Tip: 7th floor overviewing the waterway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron_Muc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

On behalf of il Lugano staff we appreciate your wonderful feedback and are very honored we had the opportunity to continue exceeding your expectations by extending one more night. As you mentioned above our suites accommodate our guests’ for extended stays if desired, due to the spectacular amenities provided in each one. We hope you enjoyed Key West as well, and hope to see you again in the near future.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed one night pre-cruise - got a great deal via priceline. If you are flying in, cab from the airport to the hotel is at least $30 - we rented a car for less. Cruisers, Budget has rentals at the airport, you can return at the 17th St. Causeway location, less than a mile to the port.

Il Lugano was SO nice! Beautiful, large studio apartment-type rooms facing the ICW! Very well appointed - full kitchens, washer and dryers, sofa, 2 televisions and a great balcony. We were only there one night, but it would have been very comfortable to stay for several days.

Room Tip: Priceline - FLL beach zone with free rebids!
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
Thank tinatark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We hope you enjoyed the cruise as much as you enjoyed your stay at il Lugano Hotel. Being less than twenty minutes away from the Port of Fort Lauderdale, makes staying here before or after a cruise extremely convenient. We hope to see you again in the very near future.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

After a very late flight due to engine issues and rerouting to a different airport & city, we arrived at Il Lugano late in the evening exhausted. We were happy to note that the property housed an excellent restaurant we had been to years ago. Our room was ready--clean, comfortable, spacious, quiet, with superb views of the ocean. We had to leave the following day for a cruise, but would definitely stay here again and recommend it for couples who are looking for a quiet escape prior to cruising. It is not cheap--but you get what you pay for and between the professional staff, great location and luxurious comfort, this is worth every penny!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suze_shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I have a tiered way to judge a hotel room. First, the bed - second, the bathroom and third, the air conditioner. All three were excellent. I can see staying there for a few days would be great but we only needed a night. They also let us check out late and there was no problem. All in all, a nice place and I'd definitely stay there again. Plus it's close to the Mai Kai.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pablus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Got an excellent price on priceline which i do not normally use and this hotel came up! we got a room with a view of the intercoastal waterway on the 6th floor - huge dbl width balcony. Room was terrific - great beds - new fully stocked kitchen, immaculately clean and filled with all cleaning products! full size fridge and dishwasher and stackable washer/dryer which we did not see till the last day! big bathroom..lobby was elegant and chic, there is s Todd English Italian restaurant in the lobby and small gym with nice locker rooms/w/sauna. The pool is not huge and only gets partial sun till about 1 at one end. There is sun along the intercoastal and you can move your chairs to get sun but it does not go on the pool. The hot tub was broken for our stay - they did try to repair it but then said it was shut. A water taxi stops at the hotel and we meter parked adjacent to the hotel to avoid valet charges. We walked to the beach about 2 blks and found it clean and quiet with showers. The night desk clerk was very helpful and told us what was open for good late nite snack. It is situated just adjacent to Lauderdale by the Sea the north end of Ft. lauderdale next to Oakland Rd it is a few miles to get over to Las Olas for shopping and dining. This is a very clean, well appointed hotel with great touches and you cant beat the quality of the rooms! There are a few local shops within a 3 min walk to grab bkfast snacks or get your hair done or grab some drinks or dinner - but otherwise, you need to drive to most places.

Room Tip: we enjoyed viewing the intercoastal and watching all the yachts passing thru the drawbridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jerseygirl138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,797 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#19 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,730 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#27 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
822 reviews
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,853 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
5,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano

Address: 3333 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-7120 (Formerly Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £129 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of contemporary design rising 15 floors above the Intracoastal Waterway, il Lugano Hotel is Ft. Lauderdale’s most fashionable address. Experience the height of exclusivity at this spectacular Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel -- offering ultra-luxurious suite-hotel accommodations and lavishly appointed private residences. Stay only minutes from the city’s financial district, shops, beaches, restaurants, and nightlife. Enjoy stunning Atlantic Ocean and waterway views, world-class amenities, and availability to arrange private dockage for yachts up to 50 feet. Travel to nearby shopping and fine dining establishments in our luxury Cadillac Escalades* (based on availability, fee may apply). Blending the style of the world’s finest boutique hotels and a dedication to flawless personal service, we are redefining expectations for Fort Lauderdale hotel suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Lugano Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Il Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing