We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Ranked #8 of 131 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Oh, words cannot express how enjoyable our experience was at this hotel. The staff always went the extra mile to make things more than extremely pleasant. Our suite was very elegant as if it were fit for a king and queen. The grounds were well kept and beautifully decorated. Every area in the hotel was picture perfect. What you see online is actually how the facility looks. We had breakfast in the restaurant there and it was absolutely delicious. Everything about this hotel was just perfect. I plan to stay here every time I visit the area. One warning, if you stay here, you will not want to leave!

Room Tip: You will be pleased with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We are honored to have had the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations while staying here at il Lugano Hotel. Our staff takes great pride in providing the best possible customer service to all our guests. We hope to host your next vacation here in the Greater Fort Lauderdale in the near future.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

943 - 949 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

Title sums it up condo style room incl w/d kitchen Lugano suite incl balcony views ocean and intracoastal the latter being better as hotel is on intracoastal. Staff very friendly and professional rooms modern and clean housekeeping on top of things. Restaurant food okay could use improvement. Proximity to beach 7 min walk an acceptable compromise for great priced hotel with creature comforts of home. Definitely will return.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fivestar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We liked this hotel. Staff are very good. It is pet friendly, but they don't tell you that they charge $25.00 until you check out. Valet parking was sometimes slow.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

This hotel both met and more importantly, exceeded my expectations. As I drove up (which is a little misrouted via google maps!) I was initially slightly turned off by the area, but quickly realized this is somewhat of a hidden gem in its own way. It is off the beaten path, is within walking access to some very interesting privately owned shops, restaurants, and bars, and a 24/7 walgreens.

The staff here were pleasant and professional. Parking is valet only and although there is street parking it is closely metered with a 3 hr max. The valets came across as polite and professional and also seem to act as doormen. The valets appear to be employed by the property (although I could be wrong about this) which very much seems to change their attitude in a positive way. Many hotels outsource to valet companies which provides very frustrating and impersonal experiences and leaves the hotel and valet company pointing fingers should an issue arise (fortunately, I had no such issues)

Upon walking in the door I went to wait in line (short) to check in. Within the blink of an eye the very polite concierge asked me if she could assist, I stated I was waiting to check in and she directed me over to another woman behind the counter.

I booked my room less than an hour before arrival through a third party. Checkin was immensely quick and efficient, and my room was actually upgraded as the hotel was at capacity.

The lobby of this hotel is beautiful and expansive, yet cozy. It provides a very elegant lounge-like feel. There is a "small" but nicely stocked bar in the lobby itself. Much to my surprise, they had a live band (well, one gentleman) playing in the lobby. A very nice touch to the experience.

If you continue through the lobby you will pass the elevators, the hotel restaurant (which i did not have the chance to visit), and then go into the pool/outdoor area. The outdoor area is immaculately maintained and designed, and boats are docked directly outside the door (the hotel has a private boat which is available for charter at a very reasonable rate, as well). Covered cabanas line the intracoastal, and sit atop sand/beach like areas. A very nice touch, again. The pool area seemed to have a similar feel but I did not have the chance to go to the pool itself.

The room I was in had a water view and the whole building has a very "new" feel to it (which it is). Ceramic tile, granite, and other nice touches trimmed the room and provide a home-like feel. You honestly do not feel like you are in a hotel. The ceilings are high and have ceiling fans in the common area and the bedroom. Much to my surprise both TV's had directv, and the wall unit in the common area had a bose wave system - another nice touch. There is AMPLE closet space throughout, and my room had a washer/dryer (not sure if the smaller rooms do). The floor to ceiling sliding glass doors open to the huge patios with lounges, chairs, and tables. The patios have a very private feel to them and you do not look directly at the neighbors or another identical building (as you would in many hotels with multiple towers or rounded exteriors).

The kitchenette area is well stocked as it should be, with full place settings and glassware. A small stove top, near full size fridge/freezer, sink (with garbage disposal,) dishwasher, and counter mounted microwave were present. The only thing missing was an oven. Again, very nicely laid out.

The bathroom has two entry doors, one from the entry hallway and one from the bedroom itself. The bedroom is separated from the rest of the space by a door. This is particularly nice if you will have guests or multiple people in the room, as it gives you a little more separation and privacy.

The bathroom sink area is well done, with a separate door where the toilet and shower are. This was my only disappointment. In a hotel of this class, you would traditionally expect a free standing shower and a soaking tub. Unfortunately, this is not the case here.

It is a very standard tub/shower shared configuration, with a seemingly small (but not tiny) tub. The shower head was adjustable but is not on a handle/hose, so cannot be moved. Another strange thing.

Everything else about the room was top notch. The only minor problem I experienced; which they seem to unfortunately be aware of from prior experiences, is the carpet in the bedroom was slightly wet near the bathroom. Apparently this was likely caused by the A/C, but the a/c functioned fine and cooled quickly regardless. There was no flooding, just slightly damp carpet.

Checkout was a breeze as well, and the valets quickly brought my car around. I was genuinely sad that I had to leave and will find myself making excuses to stay at this property in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SKITZOZTIKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. As you mentioned our suites are equipped to allow you to enjoy a great vacation in the Greater Fort Lauderdale Area, while still having the accommodations of home. We are glad we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. On behalf of il Lugano Staff we hope to see you again in the very near future.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed at the Il Lugano before spending a week on the Allure of the Seas for our 21st birthday (fantastic ship I would recommend it.) We emailed the hotel before and they left us birthday cupcakes in the room which was a nice touch. The hotel and rooms are modern, spacious and comfortable, while the service was excellent. My only slight criticism is the location, a little far out of the centre but a short taxi ride in - there is nothing of interest around the hotel with the exception of the beach.

Joe and Ben

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joebiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

We appreciate your feedback and are honored to have hosted your pre birthday vacation. On behalf of il Lugano staff Happy Birthday once again, we hope to have the opportunity to host many more birthday vacations.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

After having another hotel booked for over a year in preparation for our vacation, we cancelled that reservation when we found this hotel through an Internet search. This review is based on our 1-night stay (06/09-06/10) prior to our cruise vacation. We booked the cruise-hotel package offered through il Lugano.

#1: airport transfer from Ft. Lauderdale airport to hotel was pre-arranged through the hotel (airport2port transport company). Quick and simple pick-up... couldn't have asked for better! il Lugano provided transfer from hotel to port on 06/10; A+ service!

#2: the check-in process was easy. Staff was polite; we were able to get into our suite around 2pm (early) which was nice after arriving early by plane earlier that day. (had a short wait - 2 hours; was able to enjoy lunch while waiting)

#3:the suite that we were kindly (and complimentary) given was amazing! While the hotel is set a few blocks from the beach, but ON the inter-coastal waterway, it's the perfect location for a stay AWAY from the hussel and bussel of the main street/activities but close enough to enjoy it all (10-min walk or short cab ride). The suite was sparkling clean. The bed was very comfortable! The balcony was large and remained sunny for most of the day (sooo nice to sit out and read in the sun!). Having laundry in the suite was SUPER convenient, hotel provides 'sample' detergent for laundry (good for 1 load).

#4: a Walgreens (drug store) is approx. 2 blocks away; many quaint bars close by; great Greek food restaurant (Greek Islands) within walking distance

#5: the hotel's Internet connection -- crappy. The ONLY negative thing about the il Lugano... hopefully they work on that, connection is spotty and doesn't maintain strength/signal.

#6: the doormen are great, friendly. They lifted, transferred luggage to/from room/car.

Definitely recommend staying here!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank monikaesu28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for your feedback and compliments. As a team we strive to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations to ensure they enjoy their stay. We hope you enjoyed your cruise as much as you enjoyed your stay with us here in the Greater Fort Lauderdale Area, we hope to see you soon.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Recently visited this property for some rest and relaxation. It is definitely a hidden gem. The rooms are very spacious with wonderful views, and you can't beat the rates for what the hotel has to offer. A contemporary home away from home, off the beaten path, but plenty to keep you busy. The beach is within walking distance, there is an evening happy hour with live music, and the inter-coastal view is great for watching the boats. The hotel offers transportation to nearby attractions within a certain radius. The water taxi is a must. We will certainly visit again. All of the staff were friendly and accommodating. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Opt for a 1 bedroom suite…You will have a private bedroom with a full kitchen and living room w/ was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deltagirl_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

We appreciate your feedback and are honored to have met your expectations during your vacation. It seems you were able to enjoy all the amenities our “hidden gem” has to offer. We hope to be able to host you next relaxing vacation in the near future.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Conrad Fort Lauderdale Beach
Conrad Fort Lauderdale Beach
#3 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
189 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
2,943 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#4 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdal...
#2 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
1,061 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#15 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
2,084 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano

Address: 3333 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-7120 (Formerly Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £139 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of contemporary design rising 15 floors above the Intracoastal Waterway, il Lugano Hotel is Ft. Lauderdale’s most fashionable address. Experience the height of exclusivity at this spectacular Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel -- offering ultra-luxurious suite-hotel accommodations and lavishly appointed private residences. Stay only minutes from the city’s financial district, shops, beaches, restaurants, and nightlife. Enjoy stunning Atlantic Ocean and waterway views, world-class amenities, and availability to arrange private dockage for yachts up to 50 feet. Travel to nearby shopping and fine dining establishments in our luxury Cadillac Escalades* (based on availability, fee may apply). Blending the style of the world’s finest boutique hotels and a dedication to flawless personal service, we are redefining expectations for Fort Lauderdale hotel suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Lugano Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Il Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing