We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale and comfy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Upscale and comfy!”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We had to extend our stay in Fort Lauderdale a few nights and the hotel we had been at was all booked up. So we used a new - to us - app called Hotel Tonight and found a great deal on a room at Il Lugano in North Fort Lauderdale, just off Oakland Park at A1A. Sleek-looking and hip hotel! Check-in was seamless. We were on the 9th floor with a west-facing view of the intracoastal with the city lights beyond. Perfect for chilling with a glass of wine late at night after a long, stressful day with a loved-one in the hospital.

Super-comfy king bed in a suite-type room with tv and music on console, desk with lamp, table with four chairs, couch and coffee table; nice-sized bathroom, plenty of closet space with robes, iron and ironing board; good-sized kitchenette with stove and microwave, and a washer-dryer in the unit - not to mention an in-room safe too - very convenient! Plenty of lighting. My room had a large concrete patio with table and four chairs; one could watch the sunset in style.

Front desk people were always warm, attentive and professional; a bonus having a prompt doorman!

Three small negatives: the first being my in-room coffee was not been replaced by housekeeping the second day so that when I got up on day three...no fresh coffee to brew. Another was a somewhat noisy hallway; I was on the end and so had a few more doors in close proximity to mine; people were unaware of how easily sounds travel into the rooms from the halls. The other was at checkout; they assumed I had used valet parking which I had not; it was easily dealt with in a friendly, proficient manner.

Room Tip: Didn't see the view from the east-facing rooms but if you are hoping to see the ocean, there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
On behalf of the il Lugano Staff we are honored to have provided you and your family with a relaxing stay during a difficult time with your loved one, however wish to apologize as it relates to your housekeeping service. Your experience with housekeeping is in no way the standards we have set for our hotel. We hope to host your next vacation and provide you and your family with a true il Lugano stay.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    334
    75
    45
    22
See reviews for
326
596
63
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed at the hotel on May 1st. We had a view of the inter coastal waterway from the balcony. The room was a beautiful studio apartment with a kitchen, dining area, living space, washer/dryer . Great stereo! The bedroom area adjoined the balcony. The outdoor space included a pool and hot tub with lounges overlooking either the waterway or the pool. The beach is a 5 minute walk away but you would need to bring your own chairs etc. The hotel is a 20 minute cab ride from the cruise terminal. We loved our stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a waterway view room, the ocean view looks over tall buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caymansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rookieWindsorRookie
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My wife and I stayed in Fort Lauderdale for a conferance for 5 days last month. Her company put us up at the "W" for the first 2 nights on the cuff. The next 2 nights we stayed at the II Lugano Hotel. Mind you it is off the stripand is a little north of the action however!!!! This Hotel totally smoked the "W" in every aspect!!! First of all the price was a quarter of th "W" and the rooms were twice the size with total kitchenettes all cherrywood and with a full size fridge. The bedrooms were amazing with 2 flat screens and cleaner than clean had the right to be!! The service was amazing and the valet told us about parking across the street that was free which saved us $35 a night. Down the street is an amazing neighborhood blues bar with live music a crazy owner and great food!!! The water taxi will pick you up and drop you off at all of the ocean dock bars so no need to drive. Have fun Y'all.... From the crazy Canadians EH!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rookieWindsorRookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
On behalf of il Lugano we appreciate you feedback and compliments. We are honored to have had the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations and wish to have the opportunity to host to next Fort Lauderdale vacation.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel! All of the staff I encountered were very friendly and helpful! The redhead doorman saw that my friend and I were headed to the beach and offered us chairs to take with us and to drive us there! We took him up on the chairs, but the beach is very close, so we just walked.

Ken, at the front desk, was great! He was always smiling when we walked in and he was able to take us on a boat ride down the intercoastal highway - very neat!

The food and beverage in this hotel is by far the best "hotel food" I have ever had!! The croissants and parfaits from room service, for breakfast, are amazing!!! da Campo Osteria was great!! The lemon risotto ravioli is very good and the mozzarella prepared tableside is quite an experience! The young gentleman who pulled the mozzarella for us, the young lady with red-ish hair (server) and Sasha (?) who appeared to be a manager were all excellent!! Plus, the restaurant windows face the West so you can watch the sunset over beautiful homes on the Intercoastal while you dine!

The room: Perfect. The room was very clean, very well laid out and I loved all of the room amenities!! Everything I need was already there!

Only negative (if you can call it one!) is that the shampoo, conditioner and body wash are very thin... almost watered down feeling.

Thank you all for a great stay!!

Room Tip: By the location, I think all of the rooms would have a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJL1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you, we appreciate your feedback and compliments. As a team we strive in meeting and exceeding our guests’ expectations. It seems you enjoyed all the amenities our hotel has to offer from our suites to our Italian restaurant da Campo Osteria. We hope to have the opportunity to host many more great stays for you and your friend.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I was recently in Ft Lauderdale and had to make a hotel change. Looked on Hotels Tonite app and found Il Lugano for a great price... just $92/ night! I was delighted by the room's comfort and amenities, including a kitchen and washer/dryer, super comfy bed and lovely view of the intracoastal waterway. This would be a great site for an extended stay ... who knew? Have seen ads for Il Lugano multiple times and was attracted to its contemporary feel. But, I was impressed by the convenience, comfort and functionality in this contemporary, hip hotel. Didn't get to enjoy the pool, lobby bar or restaurant but liked the free papers in lobby. Try Il Lugano... You won't be sorry!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seattlexs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Good: really big, clean and spacious. All the things you might need. Super comfy bed. Good location. Tons of space in bathroom for toiletries and everything. Service was attentive but not in your face. Nice lobby area as well. Ordered the breakfast french toast which was quite good, although portions were tad small for price.


Bad: not as close to the beach as I hoped, but thats probably my poor map reading skills. Balcony wasn't as clean as rest of property. Living area sofa could use some updating. Wish they could let go of the old school shower curtains in bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Stayed here for one night 8 July to split our trip up from the Keys to Orlando.
Very easy to find at the northern quieter end of Ft Lauderdale.
First contact was with valet parking which was weloming and friendly, there is only valet parking or you can use the public parking across the street.
Upon entering the reception area we were srtuck by the modern clean lines of it.
Check in was a breeze and were shown to our corner suite on the top floor.
All i can say is wow the first thing that struck me was the view of the waterways which were amazing.
The room itself had everying thing you could want full kitchen , washer/ drier, safe and a large sitting area .
Had a couple of drinks in the lobby bar that evening and the service from the barman was excellent
Now the only downside to this stay breakfast next morning.
We were shown to our table which still had crumbs on it and the seats, my wife tried to clean them up as best she could while the server looked on, at this point we asked if she would like to clean it again, she did so but was not very happy.
After we had ordered we observed the same server cleaning a table next to us and instead wiping the crumbs up she just brushed them on to the seats .
While waiting for our food we observed and heard very clearly an argument between the chef and serving staff
Would i stop here again , oh yes, it is a magnificent hotel with great views, its just a pity the restaurant experience let it down a little.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEVCO36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,655 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
801 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,490 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,010 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano

Property: Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Address: 3333 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-7120 (Formerly Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of contemporary design rising 15 floors above the Intracoastal Waterway, il Lugano Hotel is Ft. Lauderdale’s most fashionable address. Experience the height of exclusivity at this spectacular Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel -- offering ultra-luxurious suite-hotel accommodations and lavishly appointed private residences. Stay only minutes from the city’s financial district, shops, beaches, restaurants, and nightlife. Enjoy stunning Atlantic Ocean and waterway views, world-class amenities, and availability to arrange private dockage for yachts up to 50 feet. Travel to nearby shopping and fine dining establishments in our luxury Cadillac Escalades* (based on availability, fee may apply). Blending the style of the world’s finest boutique hotels and a dedication to flawless personal service, we are redefining expectations for Fort Lauderdale hotel suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Lugano Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Il Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing