We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coziness during hurricane”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Ranked #8 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

We arrived at "Il Lugano" in a windy and rainy afternoon during Isaac hurricane. As we had not reserved, a very kind girl proposed to show a regular room (I believe) that was large, cozy, with all the comfort, included a small laundry and a very nice terrace. We got an upgrade to a suite that was amazing: in addition it has a large living room with a fully equipped kitchen and a wonderful terrace channel view. I regret I couldn't relax in the nice swimming pool and hot tub. The gym is located in a suite, with all the basic equipments.
The restaurant is trendy and offers a tasty selection of Italian food. In general all the staff was very kind and professional.
The entrance is located in a place that do not reflect what's inside. Anyway the beach is at five minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peik80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you were able to enjoy your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to host your next Fort Lauderdale vacation in the near future to enjoy our pool and jacuzzi under a spectacular South Florida weather.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

890 - 896 of 1,368 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2012

My wife and I have stayed at Il Lugano for a week. The price was very good so we booked the place quite close to the departure date. However, before leaving Montreal, reading comments on Trip Adviser we started worrying: someone said that he has to sit the entrance door to get some Wi-Fi juice, the staff was distant and cold, the rooms felt bizarre, the pool was in a completely shaded place, and more. It was a bit depressing.
It was booked, so we went. The realty was much better than the critics. The Wi-Fi is just fine, and free. The staff was more than OK, they were helpful, kind and smiling. For the room…, the rooms are small apartments. Actually, Il Lugano is an apartment-hotel. If you don’t want an apartment, book elsewhere there are plenty of good hotels in Fort Lauderdale.
The strong point: the small apartments are well furnished. The small kitchen let you prepare all the meal you may want to have at home. The bed is very good. The place is spanking clean. The pool is pleasant. Actually, we enjoyed a lot staying there for a week. I recommend Il Lugano to all those who like to have many meals at “home” instead of in South Florida restaurants.

In this respect, for those who know the brand, there is a very good “Whole Foods Market” close by. It may help with the cooking. The supermarkets in this chain are providing organic/refined food items. (I know I advertise them a bit, but I don’t have any relationship with them beside appreciating the very relevant addition they provide in the food offering in States.)

Room Tip: Rooms on the Intracoastal waterway enjoy better view. The front desk offer us to update to such a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DPMont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

On behalf of il Lugano thank you for your feedback and the opportunity to host your vacation. Its seems you and your wife truly enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting many more Fort Lauderdale vacations for you and your family.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I cant say enough great things about this place!

First off I was there this weekend stuck in the room most of the time because if TS Isaac. The staff is beyond friendly and courteous and the food is delicious.

The room is like an apartment, kitchen, living room 2 TVs huge bathroom and nice deck.

What could have been a disaster because of the weather turned out to be a great experience and I will definitely be coming back to this location in October for Miami vs FSU.

The gym also was good enough to get a solid work out in to pass the time.

Great great great value

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

On behalf of il Lugano, thank you for your feedback. We are honored to have provided you with a great experience during Tropical Storm Isaac. Though it seems you enjoyed some of our amenities, we hope to have the opportunity to provide you all the amenities we have to offer in the near future in order for you to experience a true il Lugano vacation.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

If you have to stay in Fort Lauderdale, you have to stay in Il Lugano.
The rooms are large and spotless, the view from the balcony are amazing.
The staff is courteous. It really practical if you stay at least 2 nights on a long trip in Florida, like we did, because you can do your washing. You can easily enjoy the beaches, 2 blocks away from the hotel. Il Lugano is really the place to stay in Fort Lauderdale.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank savoisurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Awsome is not a wordI use often but it seems appropriate. This hotel rocks!! We were celebrating my husband's birthday . They did everything right, . Early check in, fantastic
upgrade to a gorgeous 10th floor suite. Our room was spotless, huge full suite with a seperate
bedroom.Great view of the Intercoastal and a peek view of the Atlantic. Full kitchen, which we used for breakfast. It even had a washer and dryer for our wet clothes from the beach. A TV issue was resolved within minutes. Comfortable bed, premimum bedding - I can't find anything to complain about.Every single person we dealt with was warm and friendly
We loved it, you will too. Easy walk to the beach and bars and a wonderful little French Cafe
33rd & Dine,a block away for an incredible affordable lunch. We will return soon!!!!!

Room Tip: Our 10th floor room had a view to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaandMarkKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

On behalf of the il Lugano staff thank you for your wonderful feedback. It was an honor to have provided you and your husband with a memorable birthday experience. We hope to be part of many more special events in the near future.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I needed a hotel very close to Lauderdale By The Sea. I checked Tripadvisor, as I always do, and there were very few hotels in the area with more than a three star rating. I usually stay in chain hotels, but there weren't any decent ones nearby. I checked out the Il Logano, and from what iread and saw, it looked like a first class hotel. August is off-season, so I got a decent rate, around $120.
The Il Lugano is an oasis located in a tired area off A1A on the Intercoastal Waterway. There is what once was probably a cute shopping and dining area within easy walking distance, but half of the stores and restaurants are empty. Another casulty of the recession.
The hotel have valet parking which I didn't see on their website ($25), but was welcome, even with the . The hotel is beautiful inside with the back overlooking the ICW. Checking as a breeze. The room was a suite with a kitchen, living room, bedroom and bath. A balcony with lounges and chairs ran in front of the glass walls of the living room and bedroom. There were distant views of the Atlantic. The suite was immaculate and in perfect condition, and had nice touches like terry robes.
Had breakfast in the restaurant. There was 15% off coupon in the room which we used, but it was still pricey. On the menu was 2 eggs, potatos, sausage and toast, $18! I had an omelet, my wife had eggs Benedict. Coffee was extra. Breakfast with tip, $38 after the 15% off coupon was applied.
This is an excellent hotel, and I would stay here again if I needed a room in this area.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank OcalaTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

this must be our 4th time to stay here and we were not disappointed.
rooms are spacious and well equipped with a small kitchen fridge and washer dryer,you can eat in or go out but at least you have the choice.
beds are very comfortable and all the other furniture is of a very good standard.
the beach is 10 minutes walk away (3 blocks) but best to have a car for getting about.
we found the staff very friendly and helpful and have no hesitation in recommending this property for an excellent base to see around.
frankly i cant think of anywhere else to stay of comparable quality at anything like this price

Room Tip: ocean view has morning sun intercoastal the more interesitng view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 905beatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

On behalf of il Lugano thank you for the opportunity to host your Fort Lauderdale vacations. As a team we thrive in providing great vacations in order to continue having our returning guests. We hope to continue hosting your Fort Lauderdale vacations.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,904 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
845 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,052 reviews
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdal...
#2 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,050 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano

Address: 3333 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-7120 (Formerly Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £143 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of contemporary design rising 15 floors above the Intracoastal Waterway, il Lugano Hotel is Ft. Lauderdale’s most fashionable address. Experience the height of exclusivity at this spectacular Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel -- offering ultra-luxurious suite-hotel accommodations and lavishly appointed private residences. Stay only minutes from the city’s financial district, shops, beaches, restaurants, and nightlife. Enjoy stunning Atlantic Ocean and waterway views, world-class amenities, and availability to arrange private dockage for yachts up to 50 feet. Travel to nearby shopping and fine dining establishments in our luxury Cadillac Escalades* (based on availability, fee may apply). Blending the style of the world’s finest boutique hotels and a dedication to flawless personal service, we are redefining expectations for Fort Lauderdale hotel suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Lugano Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Il Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing