We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I've stayed a lot at this wonderful hotel and it's amazing! The beauty of the facility is gorgeous and the rooms have the most gorgeous views ever! The staff is truly incredible and the restaurant is absolutely fantastic. I can assure you, you'll enjoy your stay there!

Penny England

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Penny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Penny E,

Thank you very much for your kind words and your lovely review of the il Lugano. We are incredibly happy that you had such a nice time with us during your stay. We are excited to have you back again the next time you visit Ft Lauderdale!

Thank you again,

Andrew Funt
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,338)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

659 - 665 of 1,338 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel is beautiful inside! We stayed here when we got married before departing for our honeymoon. The rooms are gorgeous and have very tall ceilings. I felt like I was in a movie! The balcony overlooking the inter coastal waterway was quite a magnificent view. I just loved eating breakfast out on our balcony each morning (even though they do not provide breakfast). Our suite was one of the cheaper suites but it still had a washer and dryer, dishwasher, and toaster, oven, and microwave. The pool was rather small and mostly shaded but the area surrounding it had many padded sun chairs/beds where you could lay out. The hotel bar had very friendly bartenders and had a nice atmosphere. There were a lot of shops and salons, bars, and restaurants in walking distance of Il Lugano which made it nice because many of my guests who stayed there for my wedding did not rent vehicles.

The staff initially were not friendly and an issue arouse where I was told the shuttle service to transport my guests to my wedding would not be available. Initially I was told the hotel had a shuttle within a 3-mile-radius. I reported this to the general manager who promptly took action to ensure everyone would make it to my wedding via the shuttle service. She was wonderful and made sure all my guests had transportation both TO and FROM my wedding!

This hotel is priced right also!

Room Tip: Get a "water view" room, otherwise you will have to look at the parking lot from your beau...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Stacie K,

First and foremost congratulations on your wedding! We greatly appreciate you having your wedding guests stay with us and I'm delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay here. I apologize about the initial issues with the shuttle situation and I am glad that all got situated out for you. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope you can join us again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Andrew Funt
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Had a three night stay at the Il Lugano Hotel in Ft. Lauderdale, FL over the Columbus Day weekend. The facility was beautiful. Between the ocean and the intercostal waterway, just north of Oakland Park Blvd, close to A1A. Our two room suite was on the top floor, the tenth floor. It was tastefully decorated, quite and very relaxing. We enjoyed the suite's balcony overlooking the Atlantic ocean, and spent late evenings enjoying the cool ocean breeze and early mornings watching the sun rise over the Atlantic. We had a king bed that was very comfortable. The hotel staff were pleasant and professional, ready with directions or recommendations regarding attractions or restaurants Over all the Il Lugano is very upscale. We definitely would return to this facility when we return to the Ft. Lauderdale area. However they only offer valet parking at a cost of $25 per night . If one desired to self park one has to use the municipal lot across the street (free 6 PM to 8 AM) and metered at all other times. This was the only negative of our entire stay, and a minor one at that. Overall the facility is outstanding and my spouse loved it and said it was the best accommodation we've had since returning from Egypt a bit over six years ago.

Room Tip: Our room 1004 overlooked A1A and the Atlantic Ocean to the East of the hotel. We had a fantastic v...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daDA144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear daDD144, Thanks so much for your great comments on our fabulous Hotel and team – we are very proud of our hotel and love to hear from our guests about their great stays with us!. We look forward to welcoming you back in to the IL Lugano Hotel when you are next in Florida. Best regards Amanda Hawkins-Vogel/General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The place was very upscale. Staff was very friendly and held open all doors. We were able to get a room upgrade without even asking. The hotel is located next to a strip of restaurants so dining options was not a problem. Hotel has views of the inner costal and the ocean. Beach is only a couple minute walk.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Chris, So glad you had a great time. We have the best of both worlds here – great Intercoastal location and the beach just a few blocks away – it doesn’t get better than this!. See you next trip – best regards Amanda Hawkins-Vogel/General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Overall a wonderful stay. Some things made it a little different such as a very small driveway to come in but I guess that is what you get with a boutique hotel. Very good view when you get the intracoastal side, recommended. The rooms were large and comfortable. The kitchen was a nice addition. My only complaint would be the bathrooms. With large rooms and beautiful area they could have done more with the bathrooms, at the very least shower door rather then a curtain. But overall a great experience and we would stay again.

Room Tip: Go high on the water side.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breakout58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Breakout58, Thanks for taking the time to review our wonderful hotel. With our large rooms and amenities, Il Lugano is perfect for that overnight getaway or a extended stay here in sunny Florida!. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Fort Lauderdale. Best regards Amanda Hawkins-Vogel/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My wife and i stayed here in September and had a really nice stay the staff are amazing always helpful and the room was great and the restaurant serves the best soup i have ever had the view from are room was great room 714

Room Tip: go for the inter coastal room the view is great and go to the blue jeans blue bar across the road
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulk1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear paulk1234,

Thank you for your recent feedback and for being a guest of ours this past month. I'm delighted to hear how you enjoyed Da Campo Osteria and the il Lugano. We're happy to have you join us again any time you would like!

Kind Regards,

Amanda Hawkins-Vogel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Yesterday morning I wanted to buy a gift certificate to surprise my sister for her bday. Since my RE office is just steps away and I had about 1 hour before she arrived(we own the office) at the office, I decided to stop by Il Lugano, a place that I frequent and love... the ambiance and restaurant...Since she never tried it, I wanted to give her a certificate from there. I am not only a frequent, but also send my clients (I work with a lot of foreign buyers) to stay there while we go out and help them purchase their beach property...and I have recommended many times the nice bar and restaurant as well.
Everything that I thought about this place changed yesterday when I arrived at the front desk and mr. NO personality, Mr. Koenig asked me how he could help me. The story ends like this, I waited over 15 minutes to see a person named Carly, who never showed up, no manager came to apologize, and all I saw were staff members coming in and out of an office. The staff member didn't even apologize. I had to leave and left my business card with the front desk staff member, Mr. Koenig; hoping to hear from a manager and expecting to have someone deliver the certificate to my office...(remember...walking distance) to my surprise, not even a call. My view of this hotel-condo will never be the same, I will definitely not recommend a place that lacks customer service and professionalism.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Travelgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Travelgirly,

I'm incredibly sorry about your interaction and negative experience this past week. One of our Executive Committee members has reached out to your email already and I trust you've since recieved that communication from us. It is very unlike our staff to not recognize a guest who is in need of assistance so with that I truly do apologize. Please be sure to stay in communication with us so that we may win back your loyalty.

Best Regards,

Andrew Funt
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,764 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,720 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#27 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
817 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,303 reviews
Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A No...
#9 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano

Address: 3333 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-7120 (Formerly Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £117 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of contemporary design rising 15 floors above the Intracoastal Waterway, il Lugano Hotel is Ft. Lauderdale’s most fashionable address. Experience the height of exclusivity at this spectacular Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel -- offering ultra-luxurious suite-hotel accommodations and lavishly appointed private residences. Stay only minutes from the city’s financial district, shops, beaches, restaurants, and nightlife. Enjoy stunning Atlantic Ocean and waterway views, world-class amenities, and availability to arrange private dockage for yachts up to 50 feet. Travel to nearby shopping and fine dining establishments in our luxury Cadillac Escalades* (based on availability, fee may apply). Blending the style of the world’s finest boutique hotels and a dedication to flawless personal service, we are redefining expectations for Fort Lauderdale hotel suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Lugano Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Il Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing