We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great experience at Il Lugano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another great experience at Il Lugano”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Love this hotel. Upscale but practical at the same time. Washer/dyer in the room along with a frig, sink and microwave. Beautiful views from the balcony. Spacious. I also like that the hotel is a bit north of the Ft. Lauderdale beach scene. It's a pretty quiet neighborhood, but you can walk to several very good restaurants, an outstanding Italian bakery, and a bar that has live music (blues/jazz) most nights. Also, the hotel has bikes for guests to use (there might be a nominal fee). We used the bikes to get to the beach and explore the area. We've now stayed at Il Lugano twice, and we'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Tom R:

Thank you so much for staying with us and I'm thrilled you had a great experience at the il Lugano Hotel. We look forward to that third time back!

Best Regards,
Andrew Funt
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    340
    75
    45
    22
See reviews for
337
599
63
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had a realy good time in Il Lugano. Nice room with a disapointing view (0ceanview). The room is very spacious and well equiped. The personell is friendly and helpfull. The italian restaurant is very good and the valetparking is comfortable. We liked the stop in front of the hotel from the watertaxi.
Overal this is a great hotel what we can recomend.
There is only one downside: the safe in your room is located on the floor of the cupboard. After three days i hearted my back. I needed to go to a chiropractioner.

Room Tip: Do not take oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Ardflo:

Thank you for your review and your recommendation of our hotel. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of the water taxi while you were here and enjoyed da Campo Osteria as well. We also appreciate your recognizing the friendly and helpful staff. Thank you as well for your feedback regarding the safe and the ocean views from your room. We hope to see you again on your next trip to South Florida!

Kindly,
Andrew Funt
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Nice small property directly on the intercoastal waterway. I have been told it was a failed condo project that was converted into a hotel and the layout of halls and rooms seemed to support this. The halls remind one of a mid-range New York apartment building. The rooms have full kitchens and the bathrooms seem more apartment than hotel. The furnishings are nice but nothing special and the televisions much smaller than the minimum standard for the industry. Our room (Grand Lugano Suite) had a balcony that was part of what was built as a much larger balcony but had been subdivided into three separate ones. The suite was probably part of the original, much larger unit. In any case, the "subdivided" balconies were absolutely huge by any standard with great views of the waterway but separated by a short fence that would have allowed one to climb across and, in our case, allowed the people in the room next door a direct view into our bedroom and allowed us to hear everything said on their end.

The hotel restaurant served very good food from start to finish but the waiter gave what seemed an inordinate amount of hassle in terms of checking with what seemed to be an over amount of zeal the ID of our 23 year-old son and his 27 year-old girlfriend. This after they had already been served drinks at the bar, had walked into the restaurant with those drinks, and were eating with us - his 60 year-old parents and his younger siblings. I appreciate ID's being checked and appreciate the humor in our son having his ID checked in front of his parents. A simple check would have been fine but the waiter went too far and it ended up being an embarrassing situation. No raised voices or anger (although our son was seething), just embarrassing and pointless. The restaurant manager apologized for the waiter's zeal but said there was nothing he could do. Once the ID check was over and everyone finally passed inspection, the waiter then disappeared for extended periods of time during the meal, leaving the manager to clear dishes, refill glasses, etc.

The concierge was very helpful in making local travel arrangements and the driver was exactly on time, so all of that was good. Our two big issues involved incidents, the first of which the hotel had absolutely no control over. We were on the balcony around 8pm when suddenly a woman somewhere down the street started repeatedly screaming for help in the most panicked voice imaginable. This went on for just a few moments before a car started up and screamed out of the parking lot of the building next door to Il Lugano with several men chasing after it on foot. Just another night in Fort Lauderdale but it was an unsettling experience.

The second incident occurred inside our room. When we checked out, I left about $200 in gifts for our daughter and her best friend inside a drawer in the bedroom. We had left on a cruise, so I contacted the concierge from the ship the next day. The concierge replied that security checked but that the "items that may have been left" were not in the drawer. When we returned from the cruise, I called the hotel directly. The front desk staff person I talked to was very nice and stated she would check lost and found and wherever else she could and would call me back that day. This was 9 days ago and no call back. I accept full responsibility for being stupid enough to leave things in a hotel room and I do not hold the hotel responsible for the loss. However, the items were totally specific to the girls and only of use to them. It seems inconceivable that a guest who may have stayed in the room the night after we checked out would have taken them and not returned them to the front desk. If you can afford a $380 per night hotel room, how likely are your to make off with customized gifts for teenage girls not worth even half of a night's stay? Almost inconceivable that they would have checked the drawers in the first place. Unfortunately, my conclusion is that the items were taken either by housekeeping or the security staff asked to check the room and their actions are a poor representation of the hotel's name and reputation. Staff or guest, in one way I don't blame whoever took them and I have nobody but myself to blame for leaving the items in the room. In another way, I entirely blame them for their dishonest thievery. Unfortunately, the biggest loser is the future revenue lost to the hotel as this last impression is the final one and we will not be staying at Il Lugano in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a view or balcony overlooking the intercoastal waterway. The beach is a very long several b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CasualReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear CasualReader,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your most recent stay with us. We always appreciate when people take the time to write about the good impressions that were made and also the not so good impressions. While I'm delighted to hear that we were checking ID's, I apologize if it was embarrassing in any way, as I am certain that was not the intention. In regards to your items left behind, please feel free to email me directly at Andrew.funt@illugano.com, and give me the opportunity to discuss the issue with my security and housekeeping departments.

In the meantime, thank you again for your feedback and for staying with us. I hope you do decide to join us again at the lovely il Lugano Hotel.

Best Regards,
Andrew Funt
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Overall, my experience was excellent. The pizza was excellent and Jen, our bartender, really made our time worthwhile. She was very attentive and the martini was excellent. Food as great but w will come back for sure because of her service.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaitlinAntosek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear CaitlinAntosek:

Thank you for the great review and the lovely remarks about Jen! We look forward to seeing you again next time.

Kindly,
Andrew Funt
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

First and foremost I want to thank Andrew for his assistance and hospitality . He initiated a terrific beginning to our 50th anniversary. Thank you Andrew. As for the hotel if I could give a ten star I would. The entire staff had a spirit of service that made you real they cared. The property itself was beautiful and perfectly maintained. By the way the continental breakfast was more than enough. If you are ever in Ft. Lauderdale treat yourself right at the best

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Izzy1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Happy Anniversary! and thank you for your kind words about our fabulous hotel and of course Andrew who is indeed a rock star!!. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Best regards - Amanda Hawkins-Vogel/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

While we were awaiting our home to be completed, we had the opportunity to spend a month at Il Lugano, on the intracoastal. The hotel is small, which makes it more intimate - everyone knows your name and is happy to see you each morning. But, not too small that you feel cramped by the quarters. In fact, our suite was very roomy and bright. We had a perfect view of the Christmas Boat parade and sat on the deck, watching the boats traverse the waterway each dusk.

Having two dogs was no problem. Actually, the dogs enjoyed the pampering they received in the elevators by guest that were without their pets. The staff was excellent, from the bellmen to the maids, each one was professional, caring and helpful.

The restaurant on the first floor was a virtual treat because we love Italian food. How easy it was, to drop in for a quick bite or a leisurely dinner. The food was incredible, too!

I would recommend this hotel highly to my family and friends as THE place to stay when your in Ft. Lauderdale. Close to the beach, clubs, restaurants and activities.

Room Tip: Don't go too high up, or you'll miss the boats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pacolbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
We are so glad you and your four legged family enjoyed your stay here with us at IL Lugano!. We love pets and are always pleased when our guests bring them to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!. Best regards - Amanda Hawkins-Vogel/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Very nice place by the canal, with just the right level of service.

A nice restaurant downstairs called Costa makes all the difference. A Cuban chef with Italian skills...greaaaaaaat. Try to eat by the kitchen watchiung the meals being prepared.

And the barman...outstanding! Good wines, conoisseur...makes you feel home.

Don't miss the restaurant.

And the hotel wa sthe best value I found in the area.

Room Tip: Eggs benedict in the morning... A bottle of champagne by the pool facing the canal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fair2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review IL Lugano. We really appreciate all of your kind words!. We look forward to welcoming you back again to Fort Lauderdale!. Best regards Amanda Hawkins-Vogel/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,732 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,700 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,101 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,021 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano

Property: Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Address: 3333 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-7120 (Formerly Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of contemporary design rising 15 floors above the Intracoastal Waterway, il Lugano Hotel is Ft. Lauderdale’s most fashionable address. Experience the height of exclusivity at this spectacular Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel -- offering ultra-luxurious suite-hotel accommodations and lavishly appointed private residences. Stay only minutes from the city’s financial district, shops, beaches, restaurants, and nightlife. Enjoy stunning Atlantic Ocean and waterway views, world-class amenities, and availability to arrange private dockage for yachts up to 50 feet. Travel to nearby shopping and fine dining establishments in our luxury Cadillac Escalades* (based on availability, fee may apply). Blending the style of the world’s finest boutique hotels and a dedication to flawless personal service, we are redefining expectations for Fort Lauderdale hotel suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Lugano Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Il Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing