We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay in FL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Pros: nice hotel; spacious room/suite & bathroom; washer in the room; close to the beach; nice heated pool/pool area with intercoastal waterway view; valet parking & very friendly and helpful valet guys; water taxi stop behind the hotel; free child crib; balcony with nice view; free beach buggy
Cons: location a bit far from the center; thin "paper" walls in the room (you can hear noise from other rooms); we asked for the room with intercoastal waterway view but they told us we have to pay extra money! ; at the check-in we got no information about the hotel and its services (we had to ask for everything); a bit noisy kitchen equipment (fridge), missing pots and pans in the kitchen

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuMaLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Lucia, Thank you for providing some feedback on your recent trip. It appears that although enjoyable, your stay was not as stellar as it should have been. We will certainly share your comments with our team and be sure to do all we can to improve immediately. We look forward to welcoming you again soon to Fort Lauderdale. Best regards - Amanda Hawkins-Vogel/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

563 - 569 of 1,370 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Il Lugano has 2 beautiful bars. One is in the lobby and one in the restaurant. The atmosphere is relaxing. I was fortunate to be helped by Lindsay who not only made a great margarita, but did so with a warm and wonderful smile. I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: I recommend the Intercoastal View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Brian, thank you so much for sharing your feedback on this wonderful site. We are truly proud of our team and we appreciate you singling Lindsay out - she really is a star. Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!. Best regards - Amanda Hawkins-Vogel/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Pros:very clean rooms,excellent staff,valet parking,housekeeping,large balconies

Cons:restaurant,price of valet,not many great food options nearby

I had an overall great stay. The intercoastal room was large and they upgraded me for free; nyaani was super nice. The room was clean except two spill spots between the bathroom door that was never cleaned but it didnt bother me. The room was cleaned every day we arrived back to the hotel and the valet came as soon as we pulled up and took our bags up. The only thing i did not like was no notification of the fees for parking and no other parking option suggested.

The restaurants breakfast buffet was $15,it was only some gross eggs,bacon and potatoes cereal and stale pastries,a total ripoff. We got room service one night , my burger was undercooked and the shrimp scampi tasted awful but i have to say when we complained we were not charged even though we had 2 more dishes.

I would definately return,as the service was great, the rooms with stove,fridge& microeave was nice and the views were nice. The only thing i would change is the restaurant, if it was better i would give it 5 stars instead of 4. Also i left my bracelet and my sons toy in the room and when i called they held them immediatly.once i got them back i found that left some gold earrings and a few other items i didnt even mention to them. That was the best part of my trip!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jujuboo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your candid review regarding your recent visit. We were disappointed to hear that we did not perform well in our Restaurant and you can be assured that we will be sharing your feedback with our team to ensure the opportunities are addressed immediately. We hope you will accept our apologies and we hope that we may have an opportunity in the future to show you just how great we can be. On a positive note, I am so glad that you received your left items promptly!. Best regards Amanda Hawkins-Vogel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Family of four spent three nights in a suite for a post cruise shopping trip to Fort Lauderdale. The location is just OK there are a couple of cafes etc close by but you will need a car to visit the main eating and tourist areas. We did not try the water taxi. Check in and out was quick as was the valet parking. Room was huge and very clean. There is a kitchen but in our case no pots and pans and i don't think they really expect you to actually cook. However the extra space is welcome and we used the fridge.

We had some issues on first night with the sofa bed and it took a few calls to get the necessary linen which was a pity as it was late and our quite young children were tired but we got there in the end.

Safe is on the floor in a closet and you have to go on all fours to use it which was a pain but it was at least a decent size.

I enjoyed the visit and would stay again but would probably try somewhere nearer the 'action' next time. The price was OK but certainly not cheap but then again it was Easter weekend, however the hotel seemed quiet.

Room Tip: I wouldn't bother with the sea view as the hotel is set back quite far from the beach and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidBahamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thanks so much for the great review. We are big believers in Clean here!! Sorry about the sofa bed linen situation. We typically have the linen available in all of the closets in the rooms and for some reason this was missed in your room. I will definitely follow up with Housekeeping for you. We can't wait for you to visit us again soon, and you have to take the Water Taxi - it is an outstanding way to see Fort Lauderdale!. Best regards - Amanda Hawkins-Vogel/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Mark G.
First of all they where he best to work with from booking to departure. I read some reviews and these people would complain about anything they could find. Buy you own place and stop complaining about a hair, one of the best hotels in FT Lauderdale. I have been at the best in the country, and the people at the front desk and Sheila made sure everything was excellent. The bell men where the best, the girls at the front desk always made you feel at home and where great all ways going out of there way for you. This place was so clean you could eat off the floors. The room service was excellent ,one call and it was delivered on 20 min. I have never written a comment before on a hotel, but I came home feeling the hotel made our stay the I could have asked for. Most of all the best relaxing time at a hotel.. My wife and I where with the President and CEO of the largest gaming company and they where pleasantly surprised. We will be back again soon with more people Thanks II Lungano. Don't worry Andrew, I did not forget you for making sure all went well.

Room Tip: Any room I feel would be just as good as mine was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Mark - thank you so much for your fabulous review!!! We are all very proud of our fabulous hotel and our team are so pleased you enjoyed yourself!. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to IL Lugano Hotel. Best regards - Amanda Hawkins-Vogel/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

According to Conde Naste, this is amongst 20 best hotels in Florida. Therefore this criticism is written accordingly.

The hotel has large suites and comfortable beds, but in some respects it can be a triumph of design over practicality. There are no bedside tables or cupboards - just round drawer-less side tables. The room safe in our suite anyway was on the floor, so you can't see numbers unless you are able to get down on your hands and knees.

It is in a rather seedy area, so choose a upper floor suite overlooking the Intra Coastal Canal. The room had a balcony but only one sun-bed. When we asked for a second one, we were told that only one per room was allowed! This seemed to be the same principle with the room teas, coffees and sugars packets etc.

The resturant is good, if a little expensive - but what other choice is there locally?

Be warned that this hotel is at the far northern end of the Water Bus service, which means that you are well out of things in Fort Lauderdale.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor facing the waterway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review with the Trip Advisor community and of course with us. You had some great points to share and we will certainly look into them. We truly value your continued patronage and hope to see you again in the future. Best regards Amanda Hawkins-Vogel/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel over Easter. It isn't near anything but the hotel is great. Staff are very friendly. Pool area has great lounge chairs. Wonderful views of the sea and the inter-coastal. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant. Jen really looked after us. She is fabulous.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

thank you so much for sharing your feedback on this wonderful site. We are truly proud of our team and we appreciate you singling them out, especially Jen - she really is a star. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Fort Lauderdale soon. Best regards - Amanda Hawkins-Vogel/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,910 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
847 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,053 reviews
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdal...
#2 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,053 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano

Address: 3333 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-7120 (Formerly Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £141 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of contemporary design rising 15 floors above the Intracoastal Waterway, il Lugano Hotel is Ft. Lauderdale’s most fashionable address. Experience the height of exclusivity at this spectacular Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel -- offering ultra-luxurious suite-hotel accommodations and lavishly appointed private residences. Stay only minutes from the city’s financial district, shops, beaches, restaurants, and nightlife. Enjoy stunning Atlantic Ocean and waterway views, world-class amenities, and availability to arrange private dockage for yachts up to 50 feet. Travel to nearby shopping and fine dining establishments in our luxury Cadillac Escalades* (based on availability, fee may apply). Blending the style of the world’s finest boutique hotels and a dedication to flawless personal service, we are redefining expectations for Fort Lauderdale hotel suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Lugano Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Il Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing