We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Pity !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A Noble House Resort
Ranked #10 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“What a Pity !!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

Beautiful location - couldn't get better but that is where it ends. The staff lack training and are not equipped to deal with a situation, as for Wes- he could do with a bit of guest relation training as well. We asked Reception several times if the shops were open on new years Day - No was the answer. Well guess what all were open even the Sawgrass Mill !!The valets or guys at the front door will not do anything for you unless there is a huge tip waving in front of their face. When we left they watched as my children and I stuggled with our suitcases, absolutely shocking behaviour and not a good reflection on your staff (once again). The floor in the bar is absolutely filthy - I put my bag on the floor on 2 seperate occasions and both times it was BLACk on the bottom - doubt if it has ever been cleaned.
The breakfast is not great and they are extrmemly stingy. The GM should have his hadns full here !

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PetraSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,204
    834
    303
    152
    88
See reviews for
1,128
1,264
111
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,010)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2010

We were thoroughly amazed at how gorgeous this hotel is, and how wonderful everyone was. We were there for a wedding with lots of family and friends, we had the whole second floor with that amazing verandah and the connecting rooms. The views were gorgeous, the pool and lazy river were so much fun, and the staff were attentive, efficient, and fun to be around. It was an amazing vacation and wedding, not one detail was overlooked, and we have wonderful memories. We will certainly make it back to this wonderful "old world" hotel in lovely Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickkitty10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

The only positive thing about this hotel is the location. The hotel itself is dirty, the staff are rude and not caring about guests at all - Wes, the front office manager should not be in the role that he is in as he is not equipped to deal with hotel guests effeciently and in a decent manner. Overall the experience was very poor and we most certainly do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmartiesSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

old style charm with great veranda restaurant, excellent swimming swimming pool for kids, right on beach with amenties, helpful staff
a few negatives - no room service after 10pm, no wifi.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London005London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

When we booked our stay at the Pelican Grand our expectations were high. We were turned off at first by the $24 parking charge PER DAY (dont forget the tip because they wont, theyll hold the door for you until you tip them!) Its bad enough that you have to pay to park but if you wnt to go anywhere youll have to call valet and wait for them to bring your car EVERYTIME! Next, there is a 1 night penalty fee starting at $250.00 if you pay in advance and check out early. One last thing, for a cup of coffee in the lobby it will cost you $2.60 and don't expect a free refill. I stayed at many hotels in Fort Lauderdale and I would not add The Pelican Grand Resort to my list.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikensand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

We brought our 3 young kids to a wedding at this hotel and every aspect of this hotel exceeded our expectations! This was our first hotel vacation with kids and they were extremely accomidating. The ocean view double king room was very spacious and we really appreciated the seperate seating area with a couch, table and chairs, tv and refridge. We were able to have snacks and meals in our room or out on the beautiful deck facing the ocean.
The pool service (especially Tom) was outstanding and it was so nice to just walk down a flight of stairs and be at the beach. The had servers on the beach as well.
The wedding was amazing. So much wonderful food and service. Ben the bartender was fantastic and seemed to be there everywhere we were. Chaz and Diana at the evening dinner events were spectacular and so helpful, especially with our kids dining needs.
Christy the event planner was by far the hotels biggest asset. Not only did she plan a perfect, beautiful ceremony, she always lead us to someone or somewhere that we needed. She helped set up an airport shuttle service, helped find facials and massages, and helped those who didn't pack properly for the occasion. When I think of this hotel, she is the first person I associate with it! And that would be a huge reason for us to go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenAChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

We stayed there recently over the holidays. When we arrived, they did not have the plastic pool towel cards available so they told us to return the next day to pick them up, which we did. They never said anything about needing to return them. When we checked out, we did not have the cards and had not even thought about them because nothing was said. And they wanted to charge us $15 a card because we did not have ours. At over $400 a night, surely they can afford the plastic cards. Just like hotel keys, these should be disposable. And they were not even very nice about it. At the end they did not charge it but only because I told them the vent cover also fell off the wall and almost hit my daughter. They should be ashamed of their treatment of guests.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjsteinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#7 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,950 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A Noble House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A Noble House Resort

Property: Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A Noble House Resort
Address: 2000 North Ocean Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305-3727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A Noble House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A Noble House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Grand Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Pelican Grand Beach Resort
Hotel Pelican Grand Beach
Pelican Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing