We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I ever stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
Ranked #21 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 15 September 2011

When we pulled up to the hotel, there was music blaring so loudly, I could hardly hear myself think. When I went inside to check in, the room the music was coming from was directly across from the check-in counter, and there was no one at the counter. It took us a LONG time to check in. I was abhorred by the room's condition, which included grease all over the dressor, missing light fixtures, bathroom fixtures that were badly stained,etc. It was so late and I was so exhausted, but I literally stood in the center of the room for about 30 minutes wondering if I could fall asleep standing up, because I did not want to get in the bed.

The only enjoyable thing while staying at this hotel was the beer I had the next day at the Tiki bar.

Room Tip: I heard the upper part of the hotel is under renovation. If you are dead set on going here, which I...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank BrianofVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,116)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,631 - 1,637 of 2,116 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

I cannot believe what I'm reading!! I rented a room for a week that was privately owned...guess this is the way to go at this hotel!. The place is nice...it was in the middle of being upgraded and looking pretty good. The apartment I stayed in was in a category of its own. I went through some listings on here because this came up in the search engine...and from what I see, nobody has left a review for this specific unit. The unit or condo # was 808...I'm almost positive. Great amenities, VERY clean, the view was breathtaking...The pictures were great and didn't even give it true justice. It looked even better in person! Definitely maje sure you are renting from a unit that is privately owned! Very important!!! Not only was the apartment gorgeous, but the owner was so sweet and thoughtful...she left a bottle of wine and fresh fruit as a welcome gift. Nobody does those kinds of things anymore...such a nice touch. I recommended this place to a friend and she came back to me with these terrible reviews and I can't believe it's the same hotel. We had such an amazing time! And plan on going back there again!!!

Room Tip: Contact condo 808! Trust me...you will NOT be disappointed. What a sweet woman to deal with. Easy...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Fran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

LETS START WITH THREE Ds... DIRTY, DINGY, DISGUSTING! the lobby is a complete fake out, hallways and rooms are nasty .. peeling paint chips , roaches, just flat out dirty ! they gave us one towel for four people, the employees dont care about anything you say or ask for, the AC didnt work and nobody addressed the concern, the first nite was full of rowdy out of control clientele that fights broke out , people running and yelling down all the hallways between 1 and 5 in the morning, police were called, we left the next day, you have to rent chairs if you want them right on their own beach, COMPLETE RIP OFF ! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY HERE, THEY DONT DESERVE IT !!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dennis p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I planned us a trip to this place and it was the one of the worst mistakes of my life. When we got to the hotel the front desk was so disorganized I wanted to scream! after 30 minutes she got us a room, but we already had reservations so I am not sure what took her so long, she gave us a room and when we went to the room the door stuck when we tried to open it, then we looked out on the balcony and there were 3 men working on scaffels staring at us. So I went back to the front desk and requested a new room, she took another 20 minutes and said she couldnt give us a king bed but would 2 doubles be okay and I said yes just so it has a balcony without men staring in, so we went to that room and opened the door to the balcony and there are these gigantic fans down below that are so loud you can't hear anything but them, forget hearing the ocean waves - no way, I guess they are the fans to the whole hotel air conditioning system. it was a joke. But we stayed in that room, because at that point I figured every room was going to have a problem. The bathroom door was dryrotted on the bottom. when you are out on the balcony there are all kinds of old lounge chairs just thrown in a big pile, and all kinds of trash just thrown down there. Now to top off the whole thing- I asked for a hair dryer and housekeeping told me she would get me one, well by 7 that evening she hadnt brought one so I called the front desk and the Manager told me they sell them as Winne Dixie and CVS. So that was it - we checked out , it was a BIG joke, do not go to this place if you want anykind of comfort. It is partly my fault for not realizing it was a 2 star, but I wouldnt even rate it that. More like a minus 2.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LINDAWoodburn_Ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We arrived on August 1, 2011 early evening and pulling in and seeing the first floor we were impressed. And thought the reviews were pretty harsh...Not! Once we were given our room and went to the second floor. We were met with aweful smells and odors, the room smelled like mildew the lamps in the room did not work. The room was a dump!!! so we asked to be moved and then we were moved to the 3rd floor. The room was a little better but it still had an odor but we were only going to be there 2 nights. However our door was not secure so we placed a chair up against it while we were inside the room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ArleneL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

ok after booking this hotel, i read all of the reviews and i got really scared, but when we go to the hotel the valet workers were really nice and the lobby was beautiful. we got a really nice clean room with a city view on the 8th floor is was gorgeous. their was construction next door and it was annoying, but it was all good. the pool was really clean and the food was great there! i really recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarolinaS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We happened to have been lucky and got 2 updated rooms which were actually very nice. Oceanfront view was spectacular. The cleaning staff is terrible. One particular cleaning girl had a terrible attitude. The rooms were not properly cleaned at all and the proper amount of towels were not provided for my family. We had to put the used towels on the balcony to dry just so that we had towels to shower with the next day. Now the good part... upon complaining to the front desk, I was able to have a private meeting with the hotel manager who was very understanding and accomodating to my family, therefore making our stay much more pleasant. The hotel is under renovation and has the potential to be a nice place to stay in the future. I would probably visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theresa218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,761 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,966 reviews
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
#59 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#19 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,720 reviews
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
#18 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,583 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#30 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 4040 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-6501
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £78 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Manor Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ocean Manor Fort Lauderdale
Ocean Manor Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing