We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best kept secret in Ft. Lauderdale” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Manor Resort Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
Ranked #21 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Magog, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best kept secret in Ft. Lauderdale”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

This is our THIRD stay here. We come for a month; normally April and November, "in between" months up north. This is not a 5 star place; however, the LOCATION is FIVE STAR PLUS PLUS. its a hotel/condo mix. We first rented through the hotel. It was ok. The owner has been renovating and its a lot better today with hallways and rooms much more up to par. Trip Advisor rates this way lower than it should be. You've all the amenities of a hotel: restaurants, shops, coffee shop (open 24/7 with great coffees and sandwiches and pastries), a tiki bar on the beach with 10-12 flat screens for sports and great flatbreads, burgers, pub food. Salon for manis/pedis and everything a class salon offers. Fabulous pool....on the beach. All this on Galt Mile, close to Lauderdale by the sea. Not A1A or Lauderdale Beach but close to everything yet the very desirable Galt Mile. Free trolley to Coral Ridge Mall or Galleria. Winn Dixie and Cvs across the street. Ok. You get the picture. LOCATION. LOCATION. LOCATION. In a classic hotel environment. Fabulous lobby. So yea. I'm sharing this as much as I hate to.....cos Ocean Manor is a best kept secret in Ft Lauderdale and I almost hate to share it. Cos I don't want it to change!!

Room Tip: Ask of its a renovated room. The management is very accommodating and will find you what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    286
    154
    143
    368
See reviews for
414
398
50
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Dirty, old, run down. They charge you for everything!
I honestly think this is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in.
The old thing that was good was the bed and that's not saying much. It was comfortable, but the sheets were old and had holes in them.
There was only one dim fluorescent light in the bathroom, when we called they sent maintenance who told us they could not fix.
Kitchen pots were old and dirty, no coffee filters, had to go downstairs and beg for one. Mold on the chairs. TV volume did not work. Shower water did not turn off, took some messing with it to make it work.
Weird smell in the hallway.
They advertise airport shuttle, we called from airport for pickup, it took them nearly an hour, then when we got to the hotel, they tell us it's a $40 charge for the shuttle, a cab would have been about $35, or we could have rented a car for the 24 hours we were there for about $25. One reason I chose this hotel was for the shuttle, my bad!
Next time, I'll stick with a reputable chain hotel.
The only good thing was the Tiki bar restaurant, great staff and food.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochgelly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This hotel was needing a bit of decorative updating and the furniture in the suite was outdated. Having said that, the hotel was clean and the staff friendly. There was a bar and restaurant right on the beach where the food was excellent. Car parking was via the valet and, though not expensive as such, a tip was expected every time he brought or parked your car.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

The hotel is old and unkempt. The kitchenette cabinets were broken. There were also old bug traps under the sink. There was a moldy water damaged ceiling in the bathroom among other problems. Parking across the street was a little pricey. As we returned from an evening out there was a prostitute pan handling in the parking lot. The night before we witnessed a suspect pummeling two police officers--it mirrored a scene from a movie --scary.
I did not see one picture on the site that reflected what the room we stayed in looked like.
The pool area and grounds were nice however you had to pay for the use of towels and chairs for the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

You must valet park even though the lot is directly in front of the hotel. You are not allowed to sit on the beach in front of the hotel unless you pay for their chairs and umbrella. You have to pay to use the towels. There are bottles, cans, and dirty diapers all over the beach. The water was filthy. The pool was never open and cleaned on time in the morning. The only guests that received good service appeared to be related to the owner or manager. It was like Jersey Shore in South Florida. I would not consider it family friendly. We were treated like second class citizens because we had kids.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Indymomma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestib
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

The hotel needs updating. Our apartment was large but needed plenty of TLC, the bath was badly chipped and it looked like someone had tried to paint over the chips, which of course did not work. We stayed with family in September and the weather was wonderful, the location was great and the pool and Tiki Bar with its food is highly recommended. We just walked straight onto the beach from the condo and it was within walking distance to the shopping area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ryeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel looks nothing like the pictures you see on webb sites. Needs alot of updating. Our room was a one bedroom suite with full kitchen. The walls were very dirty, there was mold around the air conditioner and the bathtub was all broken up at the bottom. There was alot of chips from tub all over. It looks as if they tried to patch it up but it didnt work. You could not take a shower. When we complained the clerk gave the impression that she didnt know it was that bad, I can't beleive we would be the first to complain. We were then given a 2 bedroom suite with a full kitchen. It was better but not fully equiped. We asked for coffee pot which took 2 days to get one. They made the beds daily but that was it. Floors look like they hadnt been washed in some time. Our friends were in another room and on the last night they went to go to their room and could not get in. They went to the desk and got new keys, when they opened the door the bed was taken apart and leaning up against a wall. It appears they were spraying for some insect. They did it in the wrong room. They were suppose to do the room below theirs. They were given another room for the nite. The outdoors is what makes it. The pool area and the ocean are beautiful . The tiki hut is alot of fun and the food is good. .

Room Tip: Tell them you want a room that has recently been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
#51 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,625 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#52 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Manor Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Manor Resort Hotel

Property: Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
Address: 4040 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Manor Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Ocean Manor Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Manor Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ocean Manor Fort Lauderdale
Ocean Manor Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing