We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Ranked #56 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
berkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nightmare”
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We recently stayed at Ocean Sky and our last three nights were disturbed by Spring Break youngsters partying all night long, and the noise just went on and on until about 5am. We and several others complained numerous times during these disturbances. Some people even checked out early because of this. When checking out we asked to be refunded for our three nights disruptions. We were told to contact the company Otel that we booked through, which we did. They contacted Ocean Sky Hotel regarding this only to be told that they had no complaints about this incident. Don't stay at this hotel - there are others in Fort Lauderdale to choose from.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank milliemonkey11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    501
    346
    182
    159
See reviews for
448
554
61
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2011

This is our second stay at Ocean Sky. Last year we came in May and loved it so much we came back for our March vacation this year. Stayed in a suite and room was prefect for the price. The concierge and bar staff are wonderful and made our stay that much more enjoyable. They even remembered us from the previous year! Pool is prefect and right on the beach. Get outside early to get a chair. Next door is the best tiki bar with happy hour every week day half priced apps and drinks. Love it here and will always return!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang1699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2011

great time at hotel from parking attendents to maid service , be back next year- 2012

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MUCCA11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

First of all they take a picture of your drivers license - why? who knows..I was told never to let anyone make a photo copy of you id. Manager assured me we would get back on checkout - front desk gal said it went to accounting and didn't seem to want me to have back so I repeated to her 3 times before she went and got it for me. The gals at check-in were nothing but rude. I booked a partial king room and was charged for it so when I called down when we got to our room it was 2 double beds - the gal said we didn't have no more kings available and i ask if I would be getting a refund because that is what I payed for - well she told me to come down and she would get me a room. Any other hotel we have stayed at they always send someone up to help us get moved. So went and got key to other room. When they tell you all have partial rooms. That is so not true. If you can step on your tippy toes - you may see it. They also never said when I booked the hotel that there is a $10 vallet parking fee. Do not expect much from this hotel - I do agree with one other that wrote - don't expect much after you leave the 1st floor. Pool area is nice. Old pool towels and they charge for some of the pool chairs. Don't go by the pictures on line because it does not look like any of it. Very out dated - smelled terrible in the rooms. Balconies all run together. Looks like someone tried at one time breaking into our room from balcony because the door jam was all busted out and they were working on the dead bolt jam. It did have a change link - but I don't think i would of trusted that. Vacationers beware.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackeND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

We and our parents all stayed before and after our cruise. Let me state that as long as you do not leave the first floor, everything looks great. I have nothing good about the rooms. I felt the following - Stinky, damp, noisy, musty, bed linen appears to be bought at a second hand store. mattresses are cheap & worn. The towels were all severely pilled. The walls were so thin that noise transmits very easily. single vanity in the bathrooms with absolutely no counter space. Terrible showers with obvious poor plumbing conditions in both of our rooms. Two elevators appear to be near failure by all of the noise that they make, the third never ran because it was broken down. Ice is not available on all floors. Found what appears to be evidence of bed bug activity behind the head board. You will be sorry if you don't take warning from this review.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRealDeal73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We had a Great Experience here and would stay again.There is an old saying " If Your Looking for dirt check in the corner and you'll find it" While nothing is perfect and almost anyone can find something they didn't like about a place they may have stayed i can assure you this place is a good, clean,and safe experience!!! The rooms are clean and the price is Great!! Yes you have to pay each day for parking but that's par for the course in vacations on the beach. The staff and Management are very helpful friendly and they are all willing to go to great lengths to make your stay a positive experience.I read some of the negative reviews before staying here and almost didn't book this hotel. I'm glad i booked it anyway and can tell you the pool and ocean front location made this a deal in itself !! It seems many things have been updated and still are in the process of being updated. Book this place its a "Great value and Experience" Oh yes Incidentally there was no dirt in the corner.
( Frankie B )

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrankieB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

I traveled here with a fairly large group (15 people) for business. Anna and her staff were wonderful, following up with me almost daily to ensure that they had all the info they needed to make everyone comfortable and ensure check-ins went smoothly. Our group was generally pleased - the rooms are clean and comfortable but it is very much a no-frills beach hotel - great value. Location is good and near things to do although a bit far from the strip. Appreciate all the staff did to ensure a comfortable stay and was so impressed with the follow-up before, during and after our stay. Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,007 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,658 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#51 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
180 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,649 reviews
Royal Beach Palace
#59 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort

Property: Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Address: 4060 Galt Ocean Dr, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-6501
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach, Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is perfectly situated minutes away from major attractions, restaurants and shopping. Rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerators, microwaves, hair-dryers, in room safes and coffee-makers. All standard rooms have a side-ocean view and open air balcony. Oceanfront view, 1 bedroom suites are also available. Our large pool deck features an oversized jacuzzi, heated pool, tiki bar and water sports. The resort also has an indoor/outdoor restaurant, fitness center, gift shop and mini golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sky Hotel And Resort
Ocean Sky Resort
Ocean Sky Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing