We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do your research...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Ranked #60 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 25 October 2011

My husband and I had been planning a trip to Fort Lauderdale for a few weeks and wanted to find a hotel that was close to the airport. After viewing several, we decided that we liked the location and beachfront access this property offered. Of course we checked Tripadvisor for reviews and decided to take the chance even after reading a few horrible experiences. My husband and I called on two separate occasions before booking asking what the fees associated with the hotel were and we were told that there was only a $10 per night parking fee. We decided to take the chance to book.

We decided to do some sight-seeing before checking in so even though our room was supposed to be ready by 3:00pm, we did not arrive until 9:45pm. Upon arrival, we were told that the parking lot was full and we would have to park in a parking lot around the corner (not something you want to hear when you are paying $10/night to park). At check-in, we were told by Blaga that there were only 2 rooms left with a partial view of the ocean so we picked one. Then we were surprised when she told us that there was a $25/night deposit even though we were told that the only fees/deposits on two separate occasions was for the parking. After bringing our luggage up to our room, we were surprised yet again to walk into what appeared to be an already occupied room (bed unmade, towels on the floor, binders on the table.) When we walked back downstairs to share this information, Blaga argued with us as if we were lying about what we saw instead of apologizing for the encounter. Another check-in attendant, Ivan, reluctantly helped us find another room, which was the last one they had left even though we pre-booked a partial ocean view. Already somewhat irritated, we walked to our new room and found within minutes that the TV was broken, but most importantly, the toilet did not work. Now extremely mad, we walked back downstairs to have neither Ivan nor Blaga offer an apology to either one of us. Ivan was extremely rude and pushy. Horrible customer service. Finally, the third NON-ocean view room was acceptable, even though a room was supposed to be ready by 3:00 and it was now 10:30pm.

The rooms are very plain/bland. Does not offer many amenities. Definitely in need of renovation and touchups. Definitely not what you would think would be typical of a nice beach resort at all. The lobby is beautiful but they forgot about the rooms.

The outside view helped to put us in better moods the next day. The best thing about the hotel is the beachfront property. It is absolutely beautiful and their pool deck is very nice. It is almost as if they put all their effort into the pool deck and beach area to help compensate for the horrible customer service and extremely run down rooms.

Overall, the experience was disappointing because of the horrible customer service and lackluster room. Other people have said that it is a beautiful resort run by incapable management who can not upkeep the hotel and we completely agree. If you are not looking to stay in your room at all and can deal with unhelpful, rude, and uncaring hotel staff and management, then you should consider staying here because the beach and pool are beautiful. The only friendly/helpful staff member in the entire place was the parking attendant. Maybe he should be promoted to management.

Room Tip: Hope they give you one that is unoccupied....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rabrown0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2011

I do apologize for the inconveniences that you encountered. I would encourage a return visit as we are excited about our changes through our renovation. At that time, I could get the chance to meet you personally as I know that you mentioned Management issues but I never had the pleasure of meeting you. I would hope to change your opinion on us and hope that I get that opportunity to do so.

Thank you.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

932 - 938 of 1,530 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed on night before our cruise. Valet parking attendants were friendly and good service. Front House staff were also friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a good location, The rooms are big but dated and our room smelled of stale smoke, like it used to be a smoking room. I was under the impression all rooms were an oceanview, mmh they are but you have to satnd on your tipie toes and crank your neck. There were workers on our balcony.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2011

I appreciate your feedback and also everyone's patience as we finish our renovation.

Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This is a very good Hotel with a very good beach that is what I like most in life, very well located the bus stop is just around the corner. The staff is very friendly, It's the second time I have been threre, they are renovating everything and the rooms are very clean. Every day we went to the beach, shopping in the evening and dinner at night, it is the right place to relax!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 324martha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Eddy, William and the Valet team, THANKS for all of your help and concern making our week long stay a real vacation! If you are thinking of staying here and need anything at all, just ask Eddy, he is the greatest and he has assured me things will be changing at the hotel itself which means I would consider staying here if we come back to Ft. Lauderdale.

The construction and lack of balconies was initially an issue and was quite noisy at times but the majority of the staff and service personnel were great. We had a large group of 24 and had booked the hotel in March 2011. Several in our party are smokers and we were told while it was a smoke-free property we could smoke on the balconies. When we arrived we found out the balconies were not available due to construction and could not be used until possibly January. After making this an issue the hotel did give us all a $4/night reduction in the price which was nice but I feel the hotel should have notified us immediately once they knew the balconies would be unavailable so other arrangements could have been made if so desired. The rooms were serviceable and the lobby/Restaurant is luxurious. The pool is small and unheated and the prices in the restaurant and Tiki bar are somewhat high for the fare.

So, as a review, I would say this is not a 4 star resort but a 2 star serviceable hotel and I would consider staying here again as long as Eddy was still employed there! Hotel owners please listen to the changes he would like implemented....

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2011

Thank you for the nice words about Eddy. We are very fortunate to have an employee such as him. Please also be rest assured that those changes to the property are well underway.

Hope to see you again.

Thank you
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Ocean Sky hotel for three nights for our two year anniversary. I'd say that the absolute best thing about this hotel is the location! Every morning for breakfast we would walk about a mile up the beach to a cute little restaurant on a pier. Sooo romantic!
Our room in the hotel was only so so, it was a little musty smelling and definitely needed a bit of a renovation, but in our minds the rest of it made up for that. It was clean at least and the staff was very good at keeping the bathroom nice and towels stocked, which is very important to me!
I'd suggest this hotel to anyone that will be on foot and is willing to trek it a little to try great food and shopping. The walking was great, especially because it helped us burn off the wonderful restaurant food that we'd eat every day!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheDibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2011

Thank you for the great words and it's fantastic that you took advantage of nature's beauty with your walks.

Hope to see you here anytime.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I have just read the reviews and i am amazed by how petty people can be, we as a family were there in July and yes work was going on on one side of the hotel but peter and his staff did everything to help our stay wonderful and gave us rooms on the opposite side away from the building work the rooms were cleaned every day and all the staff were helpful and gave us lots of advise on where to go look forward to seeing them again great holiday

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terry041499580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2011

Thank you so much for the kind words and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed here after a cruise in the spring. My mother in law was sucked in by the usual Priceline bait and switch, and after reading positive reviews of several other Fort Lauderdale hotels, threw her hat in the ring hoping Priceline would match her with one of her preferred hotels. Instead Priceline selected The Ocean Sky for our party. Once my mother in law read the less than flattering reviews by prior Ocean Sky patrons , she went into panic mode , trying to convince the OS management to refund her money, which they were unwilling to do. With assurance from the staff of the OS that we'd be pleased with their establishment, we felt we had no recourse but to follow thru with my Ma in Laws Priceline OS assignment. Although the stay was uneventful , the common balcony running in front of the rooms lent an unsettling feel of insecurity. The rooms had been updated, but they still felt dirty and old. Although things turned out OK, I'd recommend other similar priced options over the OS...and don't let your mother in law reserve your hotel room thru Priceline!

Room Tip: Reserve similar priced room at alternate hotel for better experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deroney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2011

I appreciate your feedback. I know that you mentioned a feeling of insecurity concerning the balconies. Our renovation is a complete restoration of the balconies themselves as well as the placing of new glass railings and dividers so they will be a great feeling of privacy as the project will be completed soon. Hope to see you in the future.

Thank you.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
#21 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,131 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,989 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#49 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
193 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,730 reviews
Royal Beach Palace
#38 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort

Address: 4060 Galt Ocean Dr, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-6501
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £101 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach, Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is perfectly situated minutes away from major attractions, restaurants and shopping. Rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerators, microwaves, hair-dryers, in room safes and coffee-makers. All standard rooms have a side-ocean view and open air balcony. Oceanfront view, 1 bedroom suites are also available. Our large pool deck features an oversized jacuzzi, heated pool, tiki bar and water sports. The resort also has an indoor/outdoor restaurant, fitness center, gift shop and mini golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sky Hotel And Resort
Ocean Sky Resort
Ocean Sky Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing