We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Ranked #55 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Vancouver
Level Contributor
139 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Pretty good place”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

They are finishing up some external renovations on th balconies and paintin the exterior but that certainly did not get in our way. Right on the beach. Nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VancouverDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    501
    346
    182
    159
See reviews for
448
554
61
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WestVirginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We read some poor reviews and were leary but we would stay again. The lobby is beautiful as noted by most, the rooms have not been updated, however, all is clean and functional. Water pressure and temp was absolutely fine and thats what matters to me. One of these days the balcony job will be done. They work right outside your window but not at the crack of dawn. Restaurant food good and service good as well. Pool and hot tub outstanding. Nice tiki bar and nice outdoor eating. There is a concierge in the hotel lobby to answer and assist with sightseeing. On Friday, the manager had a complimentary rum punch and lemonade hour mid afternoon. You are right on the beach! Delightful!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debmomto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you for the nice review. The balconies are indeed open and finished. We also continue to update rooms. The complimentary punch 3PM Fridays is a thank you for our guests.

Thanks again.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwest Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We were looking for an economical place on the beach to stay for one night before our rental was available. Ocean Sky served its purpose for our family but I wouldn't recommend staying here for an extended vacation. Really enjoyed the tiki bar and food was good too. Front desk wasn't very helpful with answering questions or getting our families issues resolved.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you for your comments. Please come see us again and I'm sure that you will find better service from us in the future.

Thank you.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, RI
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I stayed at the Ocean Sky resort for one night January 5, 2012. The lobby and the pool area are beautiful. The check-in was fast and easy. They did give me a AAA discount and they waived the parking fee since the hotel is under going renovations. All of the balconies are closed due to the renovations.

The rooms are old - need to be updated. The lighting in the rooms are poor, the showers are awful, the refrigerators are hard to open.

The pool is nice but the building is high and the sun sets behind the building by mid afternoon.

There is a business center with free use of the computer and printer and I printed my boarding pass there with no problem.

There is valet parking and the attendant was very nice and helped us with our luggage.

I would never stay here again because I like a more updated room.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Please note that all balconies are now open and renovated. I appreciate your feedback on the rooms, but also know that we just placed new curtains, bed skirts, bed scarfs, bedspreads, pillows, sheets, new contactless door locks and new room carpet in all rooms. Please come and give us another opportunity.

Thank you.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My family stayed here for 2 nights in April, following a cruise. Our group included 2 kids, 2 grandparents and my partner and I. The hotel itself was basic but comfortable enough and a clean place to lay your head after a fun day swimming in the great pool or enjoying the beautiful beach. There is a nice outdoor BBQ area and a simple outdoor restaurant that is shaded and a great spot to watch the kids in the pool. When I'm traveling sans kids I tend to lean towards the more luxurious properties - W hotels / Morgans hotels are faves, but with kids it's another story. This was an unpretentious, friendly spot where everyone could let their hair down and feel comfortable that we weren't disrupting the other guests. It wasn't overrun by kids either, which was nice. Just a great mix of people of all ages and a very relaxed. The rooms were comfortable and clean but dated - not the kind of place you'd want to spend loads of time in. But with such a great beach and pool area nearby, you won't be spending much time in your room anyway...especially if you have little ones.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeredithP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you for your comments. Now that we have updated the soft goods(curtains, bedspreads etc) in the rooms, please see us again as I'm sure that you will have seen a difference in the rooms. Thank you for saying how we are comfortable for families, that is a nice compliment.

Thank you.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadiz, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Worst hotel we have ever stayed in - really seedy - and they have extremely noisy renovations going on for the next year. We checked out after the first night and found a wonderful hotel (IL Lugano) very close, for not much more.....HUGE difference in class of hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane147310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
I am sorry that you were misinformed about our renovations. They will not be going on for another year and are in fact, completed. We are indeed one of the very few resorts located directly on the beach and while it is your right to prefer another hotel, I respectfully disagree with your assessment of ours.

Thank you.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to our cruise. The hotel was a good price, but I'd rather pay a little more & get something nicer.
The manager did reply promptly to my e-mail before we left which was impressive but his customer care doesn't seem to have filtered down. On arrival after a VERY long journey, the staff were not welcoming or friendly & it's the first time on check in at any hotel that we've ever stayed in that were not been given any information about the hotel, - where the pool or bars are etc.
The common areas are OK, but the room wasn't great - very old fashioned & all the decor in the rooms & corridors an awful 'sludge' colour which certainly doesnt do the hotel any favours at all.
None of the rooms had balconies at the moment as these were being worked on.
On the plus side, the bed was wonderfully comfortable and it is in a lovely spot & right on the beach and a nice walk to some bars, shops & restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jinny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
I apologize that you were not properly welcomed upon check in. I would be very grateful if you could give us another try now that the balconies are complete. We have updated and will continue to update our hotel.

Thank you.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,007 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,658 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#51 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
179 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,650 reviews
Royal Beach Palace
#59 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort

Property: Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Address: 4060 Galt Ocean Dr, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-6501
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach, Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is perfectly situated minutes away from major attractions, restaurants and shopping. Rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerators, microwaves, hair-dryers, in room safes and coffee-makers. All standard rooms have a side-ocean view and open air balcony. Oceanfront view, 1 bedroom suites are also available. Our large pool deck features an oversized jacuzzi, heated pool, tiki bar and water sports. The resort also has an indoor/outdoor restaurant, fitness center, gift shop and mini golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sky Hotel And Resort
Ocean Sky Resort
Ocean Sky Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing