We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vacation & fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Ranked #56 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“vacation & fun”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This was our fourth vacation to this hotel in the last two years. Every time we return they do something to improve the place. This time they did the elevators over and gave them a new and modern look and they were also in the process of putting new rugs on every floor with a new paint job. You can not get a better location for the beach for it is only a matter of steps from the pool. Any one who visits this property is sure to return over and over. A special thanks to the whole staff from the valet parking to the hotel manager for making us feel comfortable and safe.

Room Tip: A better view on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for your loyalty and that you noticed our efforts to improve the property. We just finished putting new carpeting and fresh paint in the hallways. We are very proud of the new look.
It is our great fortune to have repeat guests like yourself.
Thank you very much.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    501
    345
    182
    159
See reviews for
448
553
61
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Erfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I stayed at Ocean Sky in April 2012 for the first nights of a 3 week Florida trip and have got a comfortable room of good size with balcony and partial ocean view in a convenient area of Fort Lauderdale.
The pool area is clean and offers sufficient chairs for chilling in the sun or in the shade infront of the ocean. You can rent jetski right by the pool and ride the waves.
The beach is clean and the ocean just great for a swim. Walking by the ocean you can get to Lauderdale by the Sea with nice small restaurants.
It is aprox. a 10 minute walk to get to a stop of the water taxi and I went all the way to Hollywood and back – a nice way to see Fort Lauderdale from the water and you can get off anytime and anywhere you like.
You can order breakfast a la carte by the pool which is nothing out of the normal, but good enough. You find a CVS pharmacy in walking distance for getting some water or so.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathrin_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for the nice review. We hope to see you again this year and for many years to come.

Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed one night.y daughter loved the pool, I loved the beach at sunrise. The tiki bar had no staff both times we went to get a drink. The only downside is the restaurant. They were unable to make a mojito due to not having any mint. I ordered a margarita, and it came in a styrofoam cup. The food items were leas than impressive. With a new chef, and overhaul of the menu this could be a perfect hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBrandyGunderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for the nice words. We will look into the food and beverage comments. Definitely nothing like the sunrise view! Hope to see you and the family again soon.

Thank you.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband and I Travelled there from August 9 to 13 !! We had an excellent stay there. Clean rooms great service and best part is that we have our own private beach !! The hotel is a bit old but when u travel u don't go there to stay in the room !! Do not listen to the bad reviews go there and make your own judgements !!! I'm gonna rebooked there for next year !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for the great comments and support. We definitely look forward to your return trip next year.

Thank you and all the best.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We booked directly with the hotel doing the prepay and saved quite a few dollars that way. We didn't have a car thank god, so no worries about paying the daily parking fee. The hotel itself has been updated on some floors and was clean. The problems we encountered is the fact we checked in to the 6th floor during our 6 night stay, on our second day we went out and upon coming back we found that our room key didn't work. When talking to the front desk, this was done intentionally because they wanted us to move rooms due too remodeling. I can understand the remodeling but why put us in room for one night only to move us to another the next day. They had to know ahead of time that they were doing renovations on the 6th floor (not just the day before) and didn't bother to tell us this at check in. So that's one negative ...lack of communication and the inconvenience of having to pack everything up again to switch rooms.

Number two problem is the pool deck police they have. Apparently you can't bring outside food or drinks to the pool area, which includes a bottle of water. This is ridiculous and a money making scheme. I can perhaps understand that alcohol is not allowed, but not allowing you to bring water, that you have to buy it !! Also why charge $3.50 for a small glass of coke that's 3/4 filled with ice and not even refillable. So..that's strike number 2....trying to make some money is one thing but nickel and diming guests not such a good practice.

The last problem...is not so much with this hotel but the view we had to stare at everyday..The Ocean Manor Next door. Everday our view was of an alley full of trash, I don't mean just a dumpster but of trash and garbage strewn all down the side of the building. Yes we could see the nice view of the ocean but also had to see every time we used the balcony the mountain of garbage next door. I know this is beyond the Ocean Sky resorts control....but as a neighbor they should say something to next door about this...it must be an attraction for rats.

On a last note...the woman that works in the restaurant in the mornings and early afternoons is excellent....the other staff in the evening...well they should perhaps get off their iphones and look outside from time to time to see if there's people waiting to be served. I actually had to walk into the kitchen to get a staff member to come out. And yes we did see staff just sitting around texting while waiting to be served.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterD356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
We are currently doing a renovation of all the hallways including new carpet, new tile and new paint. I am sorry that we had to move you and we do know ahead of time but there are times where our occupancy was such that we had to put some guests for one night on a floor before moving them.
We do not allow coolers on the pool deck but we are not so strict as to not allow a bottle of water from a room so I assume that it was a full cooler of items. We will reattempt to discuss with Ocean Manor concerning their cleanliness.

Thank you.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

dirty rooms and overpriced the beds were 20 years old on rollers and you could hear someone fart and cough from the other room the walls were so thin i wish i was kidding im not true story do not be fooled by the pictures on kayack ha this place is a joke a bad non refundable no compensation just "sorry for your bad 200 dollar experience....we will take the parking fee off" type place omg worst hotel ever it gets less than a one star from me and any normal clean human being who accidently stays here. there were stains on the bed and hair in the shower the hot tub was broken the pool area shuts down early which is the only reason someone would book a hotel by the beach to enjoy the outside and they claimed that they were short staffed worst staff and hotel ever! the woman in charge was fake and didnt give a crap about the horrible stay my boyfriend and i had. its the biggest rip off and the type of place you need to check for bed bugs and the sheets for gross stains. nobody cares at this hotel they are just there on the beach to fool people into staying there the say haha our hotel sucks thanks for your money we dont need you back because plenty people accidently book there it looked like mostly people from other countries who didnt speak english or out of state like us that didnt know any better. this hotel and so called resort should be shut down if it is not already.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank waves28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
With all due respect, you must have an agenda because what you wrote is not fair or accurate.

Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I booked my stay through Travelocity and when I arrived; somehow they showed my reservation as cancelled. The staff was not helpful at all in getting my issue resolved, pretty much I had to deal with Travelocity (which was another nightmare) and get my reservation resolved. The lobby is very nice but the rooms leave a lot to be desired. The pictures on the website only show the nice parts of the hotel which is not at all comparable to the rooms.
Also, I reserved a king size room but when we arrived, there were no king size availables.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dargis22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Sometimes there can be miscommunication when there is a 3rd party reservation made but it does not happen often. Sorry for that inconvenience. We have done a lot of work upgrading the soft goods in the rooms and we have more plans in that area as well.
We hope that you come see us again.

Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,006 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,658 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#51 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
179 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,648 reviews
Royal Beach Palace
#60 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort

Property: Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Address: 4060 Galt Ocean Dr, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-6501
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach, Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is perfectly situated minutes away from major attractions, restaurants and shopping. Rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerators, microwaves, hair-dryers, in room safes and coffee-makers. All standard rooms have a side-ocean view and open air balcony. Oceanfront view, 1 bedroom suites are also available. Our large pool deck features an oversized jacuzzi, heated pool, tiki bar and water sports. The resort also has an indoor/outdoor restaurant, fitness center, gift shop and mini golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sky Hotel And Resort
Ocean Sky Resort
Ocean Sky Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing