We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you need”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Ranked #60 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Exactly what you need”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Before booking our stay at this hotel, we read through a lot of the other reviews on this site and took note of the many, many complaints. We decided that, for the good price we were getting, it was worth taking a chance. We're very glad we did. Here's our responses to the more prevalent complaints that we read:

Having to pay for chairs on the beach: When we went outside late morning, there were still PLENTY of deck chairs available in the pool deck area; when we wanted to stop sunning and jump in the ocean, we walked down the whole six steps to get there. If you're really that picky about whether your lying on a lounger beside on sand versus on concrete but still looking at the ocean and soaking up that Florida sun, then maybe it's worth the rental fee! But the deck area was lovely and still had a fantastic view, so we didn't feel there was any need to rent anything.

Bugs: We saw no bugs at all in our room or the hotel grounds whatsoever. It seems like this problem existed prior to the renovations.

Walls are thin: Okay, this one is true. You can hear the people next door, but we personally never discovered this to be a problem.

$15/day valet parking: Also true, but we didn't drive, so it wasn't a problem for us. A note for other non-drivers: The hotel does offer a shuttle to the airport. I can't remember exactly how much it was, but I think it was $10 deposit and $25 on arrival at the airport, cash. And Ace, our driver, was the best!

Location to amenities: This hotel has so many great hidden gem restaurants nearby, I don't know where to begin. Head north to Lauderdale-by-the-Sea to Pa D's, where they have terrific (and well-priced) homemade Italian food. Head west to Flip Flop's on Sundays for $3 beer/wine/spirits during all-day happy hour (this is also where the water taxi picks up).

Friendliness of staff: I think all of the staff members we had interactions with were nice. The shuttle driver (Ace) in particular was wonderful, and the front desk was extremely warm and helpful. The housekeeping staff even gave us a friendly hello in the morning.

Slow Wifi: We definitely noticed a slow-down connecting to the wireless internet in our room. When we were on the balcony side of the room it was almost impossible to get a signal, but if you moved closer to the door, the signal improved. However, we were also on the far edge of the building, so that might be a more room-specific issue.

View: Our hotel room did overlook a parking lot if we did look straight out, yes. But we saw spectacular sunrises and sunsets if we turned our heads gently to the left :) No complaints about that view.

Beach Elevator: This was a great feature! No need to walk through the hotel in your bathing suit!

To sum up: When you need a room that will put you right on the beach, is in walking distance of lots of restaurants, and has some added perks like an in-room fridge and safe and nearby grocery store, this is a fantastic choice. This hotel is perfect for bringing you to the beach and close to the water taxi.

Last note: I can't recommend taking the water taxi enough. It travels along Fort Lauderdale's canals past the multi-million dollar homes and and mega-yachts, and takes you right to the Las Olas Blvd. shopping district in downtown Fort Lauderdale, as well as several other notable locations. The trip was wonderful and a real highlight for us.

Room Tip: Rooms with a higher number (e.g. 520 vs. 501) are closer to the ocean, and therefore have a better o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank torricus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for the great review as well as your review of other reviews! As you mentioned, the view from the pool deck is second to none. Thank you as well for the nice comments on staff including Ace and the front desk friendliness. That really means alot to us.
The beach elevator is a great feature!

Thanks again and hope to see you again soon!
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    501
    351
    186
    163
See reviews for
455
558
61
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent Island, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We purchased a package which included this hotel. We asked for a king suite, but were told that since we didn't book directly through the hotel, those rooms were given to other guests. To park in the main parking lot, guests must pay $15 a day for valet parking. To sit on a lounge chair by the pool is free, but you must pay to rent them on the beach. The hot water is non-existent & you need to run the water for at least 15 minutes to get it tolerable. Elevators worked off & on. There has been an attempt at a makeover, but it's still mostly dated. However, most of the staff were very nice & attentive, especially the valet attendants. The price mostly matched what was received. By far not the best place I've ever stayed, but certainly not the worst either. In fact, some goofball stayed there who brought their Rolls Royce. They clearly had other options & chose this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RustyNickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
That is not accurate about renting suites. If you reserve with us through another website, we offer upgrade pricing to move into one of our suites from a standard room. We offer that every day if suites are not sold out. Our suites are a tremendous value and recently renovated. We did have a temporary problem with the hot water but that is now fixed completely. The elevators were being renovated and are also now completed.
We are happy to receive all guests, Rolls Royce or any other vehicle of their choice!

Regards,
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundas, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Check out my reviews, there is an equal balance of reviews from great to terrible and everything in between. So this is not just another whining rant from someone who is never satisfied.

The lobby and pool area appear very impressive and suck you in to think that this place is really a "resort" as advertised. However, this is sadly just a façade. The hotel is in terrible condition and there is no sign of any motivation to change anything.

The rooms were horrible. Any 40 year old 2 star hotel has better rooms. The first we were offered stunk of stale smoke. The second had a broken lock between it and the adjoining room next door, meaning that anyone from the adjoining room could enter your room at will. The final room we were offered was also dirty and falling apart but we were tired.

There were numerous things in need of repair in each room and there was an overall feeling of dirtiness. Other than a run around with a vacuum, it is doubtful that there has been any real cleaning or repair/maintenance to these hotel rooms in over a decade. There were marks up high on the walls where something had splattered years prior and had not been cleaned. There was very old dust, grime and mildew around the baseboards and in crevices around the room. This place needs a good power hosing and bleaching before it could be considered a 2 star.

The walls and doors were also paper thin. You could literally hear people in the next rooms going about their daily business. They weren't noisy, it was just that there is no sound insulation at all. I listened to one phone conversation from the next room and heard every word, even though I turned on my t.v. in an effort to not have to listen.

The elevators are hit and miss, but even if all three are working (which is rare enough) they are always filled and you often have to wait up to ten or fifteen minutes.

The pool area is nice. There are lots of chairs and there is soft music playing. But the pool itself is quite dirty and too small for the quantity of people at the hotel. And because the hotel has a restaurant and tiki bar connected to the pool area, the over-zealous security dude takes it as his responsibility to create business for the restaurant and bar by telling children (not their parents!) that they could not eat potato chips on the loungers because it upset the restaurant staff. What foolishness. When I asked the manager whether this was hotel policy, he said it was not, and then he.........did nothing!

The food at the restaurant was bland and boring, but passable. They impose a 15% gratuity because the service is so poor that tipping might not occur without this. The lady in the towel dispensary was morose and used a cumbersome check in/out system for towels that could lead to long line-ups. Has anyone here ever heard of the simple system of leaving a couple of towels with each room and just letting people "leave two and take two" when they needed new ones?

I wouldn't ever recommend this to anyone. There are so many nicer places to stay in North Lauderdale. Try any of them first.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamester1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
With all due respect, anyone can see that we are not "a dump". In fact, the owners have been very motivated to making changes on the property. The adjoining rooms have locks on both sides for security so you cannot simply go into the next room if one lock is broken. The elevators were recently renovated and that is why at times recently one would be out of service at a time. Our pool is very clean as we take great pride in keeping it that way and is quite a good size in fact. Most of our guests appreciate that we provide security to keep the area secure and safe for our guests to enjoy. I would appreciate if you gave us another opportunity to change your mind about Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort.

Thank you.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We have stayed at Ocean Sky several times now and always enjoy it. With this property it is all about expectations. It's an older property that has been refurbished and updated. It is a nice newer version of an older Florida resort. We have stayed for twice the price in the main hotel zone but found it was noisy, expensive and you had to cross the street to visit the beach. At Ocean Sky you are right on the beach, no traffic noise or party people on the side walks interrupting your evening. The parking is valet only for $15 per day, but trust me.. On the strip you will pay much more! Also, the pool area is beautiful and the beach is great. You can choose to grab a no charge pool chair or for a fee rent a chair and umbrella on the beach from a vendor. Great beach area, perfect for walks. If you walk 20 minutes north you can find some some nice beachside restaurants, too! Enjoy this property if you are looking for a nice stay at an older well kept beachfront resort and do not mind buying away for the main craziness. We will be staying here again in a week and are looking forward to it! Fast, free wifi, too!

Room Tip: All of the rooms offer a partial view if the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for the great review. Your feedback is all things that we strive for.

We really appreciate the kind words and your observations.

Thank you.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 4 days and 3 nights and had a very pleasant stay. Like many this time of year (March) we were looking to escape the cold and wanted to stay somewhere that is close to the beach.

The Ocean Sky is right on the beach, has a nice pool area with a jacuzzi and bar, and many chairs. You can also rent beach umbrellas, cabanas, and chairs on the beach for a fee. The interior of the hotel was nice, and featured an office center where we printed our boarding passes, concierge where we stored our bags/had a cab called from, and nice gift shop.

The room itself met all of our needs. It was clean, the beds were comfy, had a mounted flat screen TV, and had a balcony with 2 deck chairs and a nice view of the ocean. The bathroom was sufficient as well. Housekeeping cleaned our room fairly well.

The staff was very helpful and friendly. The guys who set us up with beach umbrellas and chairs were friendly and accommodating. The receptionist let us check in early. The concierge stored our bags for us, and told us about the airport shuttle, which was $15 cheaper than what we had booked. Overall, if you are looking for a place to stay in Ft. Lauderdale that is on the beach, and isn't as expensive as some of the other resorts, look no further. My girlfriend and I had a great experience, and would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for such a kind review. Your feedback is very rewarding for us.

We hope to see you again soon. Hope to say hello sometime as one of my favorite restaurants is located where it says you live!

Many Thanks.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I spent the weekend here with a friend and we both agreed the location was much too far from downtown Fort Lauderdale for us. The hotel itself is OK - nothing fancy, a very typical hotel room. By 4 pm, the beach in front of the hotel and the pool deck were already in the shade - making it too cool swim or stay outside. It was a long drive into town for dinner (there's not much happening in the evening at this location) but that was nothing compared to the time it took the next day - which was a Sunday in the last weekend of Feb. The traffic jam heading to Las Olas Blvd. was crazy and it took about an hour to get into town. Parking anywhere was virtually impossible. The beach area in downtown Fort Lauderdale is so much nicer because it's not in the shade and next time around I'll look for something much closer so I don't have to rely on a car.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jurnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Late February does get a little busy traffic wise but many prefer our location on the beach away from the hustle and bustle of the more public beach near Las Olas Blvd.

We hope to see you again.
Thank you.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Clean room, nice pool area, loved the beach access. Staff were really wonderful. A good beach hotel. The cable in the room was a bit grainy, but the mini fridge and coffee maker came in handy. Don't expect the room to blow you away, but it was fine.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmacaluso84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for the nice comments on our cleanliness and amenities.

We hope to see you again soon!
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,084 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#45 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,918 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,726 reviews
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#51 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
186 reviews
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort

Property: Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Address: 4060 Galt Ocean Dr, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-6501
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach, Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is perfectly situated minutes away from major attractions, restaurants and shopping. Rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerators, microwaves, hair-dryers, in room safes and coffee-makers. All standard rooms have a side-ocean view and open air balcony. Oceanfront view, 1 bedroom suites are also available. Our large pool deck features an oversized jacuzzi, heated pool, tiki bar and water sports. The resort also has an indoor/outdoor restaurant, fitness center, gift shop and mini golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sky Hotel And Resort
Ocean Sky Resort
Ocean Sky Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing