We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Ranked #64 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I am the owner of a well know property management company located in Boston. I can not say enough about the friendly and more than helpful staff and the cleanliness of the property. It is convenient to all the attractions and it has no become part of the concrete condominium towers that now make up Fort Lauderdale. The beach is awesome and the pool is a great change up from the beach or for the kids. The staff at the water sports tiki hut is incredible. Some people expresssed that paying $15.00 per night for parking is expensive, Its a steal at that price, try going to other major cities and paying $50.00 per night. All the rooms have a view and the restaurant over looking the pool and ocean is an added bonus. I would stay again just because of the staff and the quality of the hotel. This price is well priced and has everything to offer and more. Job Well Done to the management and staff members.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

It's always great to hear such nice words, especially from someone in this industry. We are very thankful for the nice comments on friendliness and cleanliness. That means a tremendous amount to us and something we take great pride in. It is a pleasure to know that you will be back with us.

Thank you again and hope to meet you at one point.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 574 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

. Everyone from the front desk to the valet guy is always great. Hotel is really looking good with all the improvements being done. Have been coming at least once a year for the past 10 years. Everything you really need is in walking distance. Grand daughter wants to move to the Ocean Sky

Room Tip: South side higher up rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Greatest compliment in the world that your granddaughter wants to move to Ocean Sky! Thank you so much for noticing the improvements over the years.

Thanks and Best,
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I was here for 10 days in April 2014 (this was my second week long stay - the first was in 2012). I booked the room on the hotel's website, and paid the advanced stay rate up front. It is not the cheapest hotel in the area, but it is the cheapest BEACHFRONT one. It is literally on the beach - you go down in the special beach elevator and voilà: a beach.

I had a king bed which was very comfortable and had lots of good pillows. The room was clean and very quiet. It had a fridge, microwave and free electronic safe. The airconditioner worked well, and while it might be a bit on the loud side, I liked the noise when I was sleeping. There is wifi internet, but I really only had decent connectivity when on the pool deck, or in the hotel lobby. In the room I was only able to connect 1 time out of 3, if that. The ice machines were on every second floor so if you don't want to walk to it, ask for a floor that has one.

The hotel seems to enforce their non-smoking rules, so nobody was smoking on their balconies around me. Though they do smoke just outside the main hotel entrance, so the lobby often smelled like cigarettes. The employees were always very friendly. I stopped into the gift shop but the prices were high (there is a Wings store across the street with the same stuff for less), and the staff a bit... err... snappy.

I spent 8 days lounging on the pool deck, and popping into the ocean periodically to cool off. The tiki bar has good drinks and service, but is pricey. I did not eat in the hotel as I was travelling with someone with Celiac and there was no gluten free options listed on the menu. There were tons of loungers available, so you didn't have to arrive early to get one. The pool towels are free, and there was never a shortage of them.

There is a MacDonald's, Dunkin Donuts, liquor store, and Winn-Dixie across the street. There is a CVS just a bit farther. Apparently there are lots of restaurants around, but I think they mean 'as long as you have a car'. I did not rent a car. I did, however, take the city bus to Galleria Mall (takes 10-15 mins and costs $1.75) and to Sawgrass Mills (takes over an hour - but bus 72 has free wifi on it). The buses supposedly have a schedule, but they were never on time. Not that it mattered, I was on vacation. If you do have a car, you will have to pay $15 a day for parking. Don't complain about it, that is the price.

All in all, it was exactly what I was looking for. It is not a 5 star, but then, you are not paying 5 star prices either. It is a good 3.5 star hotel with an unbeatable location. I will be back.

Room Tip: Ice machine on every second floor. Means those floors are a bit noiser, but then you don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for the review. We are very happy that you will be back with us for your next stay as well.

Thank you and best,
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. We spent 2 days here pre-cruise and 3 days post cruise. The hotel is located right on the beach and there are several restuarants around to eat in. The pool area was great with lord of chairs and towels around with a good pool bar and restuarant.
The rooms were clean, but dated. The only negative thing that we found was it was hard to get more then 2 facecloths at a time in our room and there were 4 of us there. The hotel is a excellent value for the price we paid which was about $120 a night Canadian.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mphilpott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for the great comments on our value and amenities. We are an excellent spot for pre and post cruises as we are close to the port and directly on the beach. Our pool deck for its size and views is one of the best in Ft Lauderdale.

Thank you again.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Went here last may with my husband for our anniversary. Loved that it was right on the beach. The staff was friendly and the place was pretty clean. We had a balcony and the view of the ocean, so it was nice to wake up and look out into the blue water. The pool and hot tub is nice and clean. Like that theres a lot of chairs by the pool. If we come back to ft lauderdale we will stay here again deff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for the nice comments on the friendly staff and cleanliness. We really pride ourselves on these two areas. Also, as you say, there are not too many hotels in Ft Lauderdale with our views from the rooms.
Best of all is the knowledge that you will definitely stay with us again.

Thank you.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay if you want to be close to the beach and close to the airport. Very clean and staff are very friendly. Rooms are great and access to the pool and beach are easy. Shopping right across the street. Seadoo rentals in front of the resort.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank 247tiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for the kind words. It is greatly appreciated.

Hope to see you again soon!!
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We were staying in Ft. Lauderdale for the Tortuga Music Festival that was in town & the staff was very helpful when needed, for example, getting a taxi when needed. When I forgot a special item @ the hotel, I called them to see if they had found it & they did, I asked them to hold it for me if possible because I was a little over an hour away. I was not with my husband when I returned to hotel after a day coming home, a little over an hour away, they treated me with respect, which I was greatful for, I am only 5 foot tall, 135 lbs. Nothing damaged, nothing missing! Valet service was very nice! Hats to Mauricio!

Room Tip: Do your research & it pays off, loved the 9th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzy1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

We are just as happy to find a lost item as our guests. Makes us feel great to find something thought lost. Mauricio is a great asset to us and we appreciate your kind words more than you know.
Heard it was a great festival. Hope to see you again next year for the show if not sooner!

Thank you.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
#21 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,149 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#45 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,021 reviews
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#51 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Beach Palace
#31 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
624 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,827 reviews
Sea Club Resort
#81 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort

Address: 4060 Galt Ocean Dr, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-6501
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £101 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach, Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is perfectly situated minutes away from major attractions, restaurants and shopping. Rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerators, microwaves, hair-dryers, in room safes and coffee-makers. All standard rooms have a side-ocean view and open air balcony. Oceanfront view, 1 bedroom suites are also available. Our large pool deck features an oversized jacuzzi, heated pool, tiki bar and water sports. The resort also has an indoor/outdoor restaurant, fitness center, gift shop and mini golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sky Hotel And Resort
Ocean Sky Resort
Ocean Sky Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing