We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below par”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Ranked #56 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Below par”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Below par. Old building that appears remodeled on a budget. Odd number rooms on the 4th floor starting at about 419 and up are right over huge AC units and so noisy you can't sit outside. Presume 3rd & 5th floors are the same. No privacy on balconies. AC unit is a through the wall unit so the hot air blows onto the balcony. Ice & soda machines are only on ODD numbered floors and snack machines are only on floors 5 & 9 -- pretty ridiculous.

UPDATE
I just watched a valet guy whip someone's SUV out and back into a pole. While they were waiting on the police the same valet backed a Camaro the length of the lot rather than driving around the circle and almost hit a guy walking in. THEN, while they were talking to the police the hotel manager slipped out the back door, walked down a side lot and squeezed between the bushes to get to her car avoid being seen by the lady talking to the police. No, she didn't have to walk down that lot, there was a clear space she could have walked down directly to her car and she was looking over her shoulder peaking to see if she was in the clear the whole time. A local told me the owner refuses to spend money to make it nice and that Ocean Manor next door is even worse.

Room Tip: Do not get a room below the 6th floor that's numbered X19 or highter. e.g. 419, 519, etc. These...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troyy0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We actually try and remodel the right way and ownership is very concerned about making our resort a very comfortable one for our guests. I would be very surprised to know that the noise from the A/C units can be of that much noise up on the 4th floor? Our balconies have been completely redone with blue glass and they do have separations.
Yes, our valet did have an accident in our parking lot with a guest's car but our Front Office Manager did not avoid the guest and our valet ownership handled the situation very quickly directly with our guest. We were very sorry it happened but accidents do occur and you must then rectify them. But I must say that you are very observant to details.

Best Regards,
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    496
    341
    181
    158
See reviews for
443
547
61
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Wish I would have stayed at Ocean Manor Resort next door, selections of rooms are much better overall staff and cleanliness far out way this hotel. Rooms were dirty the view was not as advertised and pictures are misleading. Beach is better, pool is better and tiki bar is far better. From now on I will be staying at Ocean Manor.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
It seems odd that you would say that our neighbor has a much better product when it sounds as if you haven't stayed with them yet which would make it hard to make such statements or to compare.

Best Regards,
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here for our birthdays. We were not disappointed at all. The front desk was very friendly and so were the valet guys. The view from he room was beautiful. Loved the balcony. The door leading to the balcony was strange. It made the room dark.. Didn't care fot that part. I'm use to sliding doors. The pop land oversized hot tub was fabulous. The only negative is that the drinks at the bar sucked but we went right next door and their drinks and food was fantastic. The gift shop was way over priced. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jenjen523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Happy Birthday! Thank you for the nice comments on friendliness and our oversized jacuzzi. Very happy to see that you definitely will stay again!

Best Regards,
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, ND
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Myself and a friend both from North Dakota decided enough was enough of the weather up here, and planned vacation to Florida. The boys couldn't make up their minds whether to go or not, and boy did they miss out. Hadn't been to Florida before-selected Ft. Lauderdale because it was further south, looked for hotels on the beach with direct/private beach access-no walking across the road to get to the beach. The Ocean Sky was one of the most reasonable, and the reviews were good. A person has to realize that more people will write a review to complain, than remember to write one after a good trip. The hotel is on North Beach which is beautiful and quite laid back. The hotel room was very nice with a balcony off the side. The hotel itself is very upscale inside, but we were there for the ocean and the beach. The pool area is very large and right on the ocean beach. There is a tiki bar with drinks and food, hot tub, pool, and large section of beach chairs on the pool deck. The chairs are free, the cabanas I think you have to pay for. There is a beach elevator that goes right up from the pool area to the rooms so you don't have to go through the hotel in your swimwear and sand. You just walks a couple steps down from the pool deck and you are right by the ocean on the beach-beautiful! They have jet ski rentals, and windsurfing. You can walk all the way down the beach to the pier, which is actually on the end of right smack downtown, though you wouldn't know it till you get there. The pier has a beach bar and restaurant on the back of it, and you can fish off it for $7 I believe. Then throw your cover up on and head downtown to shops, dining & refreshments etc. On the evenings and weekends most of the bars and restaurants have musical entertainment. As a bonus the beach walk in the sand and popping in and out of the ocean on the way is very good exercise. All the staff were very friendly, the (sad) day we had to leave, we had a later flight so the concierge kept our bags, checked our flight schedule for us, arranged transportation from the hotel, and set a reasonable time for us to be back at the hotel to go to the airport. With all this taken care of and no worries, we went back down the beach for one last little hurrah before heading to the plane and back home. Note: there are inland water taxis not far that take you all over-we didn't make that because of limited time and other attractions we went to see - next time! Google Ft Lauderdale water taxi schedule and get the info you need. Then use google earth to find the best place to get on, or ask the hotel staff. One more note: we felt very secure with our belongings and safe at this hotel and in the area we were in, and we did have new flat screen TV in the room to refute the complaints about that, though we never watched it. Unless you have the flu, why would you go to Florida on the ocean to sit in your room and watch TV?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellowbirdnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for the great rating. Glad that you came to Ft Lauderdale for your first Florida trip and very honored that you chose us for that first stay! Our location directly on the beach is a real plus. We are happy to have the beach elevator for our guests convenience and glad that you took advantage of the beach one more time before your flight! Thank you also for commenting on feeling safe here, that means alot to us.

Hope to see you again soon.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had reserved 5 rooms all together if possible which we received. Very happy for thay. I had emailed 2 days ahead to see if we could get in earlier and they said the would let he staff know. We got there early as the email stated and they said the rooms weren't ready. OK we went for lunch and left our luggage there. Got there about 2. One hour before check in. Room still not ready. 2:45 still no room. Miraculously 3:00 it was ready. Seriously? All 5 rooms all ready at 3:00? Sweating in my travel clothes all day. Also beach was about 20 feet wide and crowded. Staff were at least nice while they were BSing us.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akabln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for the great rating.

Hope to see you again soon.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very cozy and clean hotel. Pool area is very convenient, has enough shade. Beach is clean and never crowded. Rooms are clean and have been recently updated with new detailing. Supermarkets, pharmacies and lots of restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the other side of the hotel entrance. Their conditioners are very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13Noname13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for the great rating and nice comments on our cleanliness.

Hope to see you again soon!
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was a long way from the cruise terminal, which meant a long trip back to visit people that I met on the cruise. Very frustrating and yet another mess made by the travel agent. Each way by taxi was crazy. I guess I didn't arrive in the best of shape, the taxi had a flat tyre, I had to jack the car up, then proceed to change the wheel and had to pay for the full meter reading. Back to the hotel, it was nice and everyone was pleasant, but it certainly is not a choice I would make after getting off a cruise ship. Breakfast and meals were great, remember this is a resort not a hotel so that's what you get. Lots of children, fight for a deck chair and the cost of drinks, orange juice, was a bit cruel. It's horses for courses I guess.

Room Tip: As stated, do not choose this property if you have just completed a cruise and you are intending to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victorc779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Please remember that we are only 20 minutes away from the cruise port and you can stay directly on the beach!!
For those that want the best of both worlds, please come stay with us!

Thank you.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,795 reviews
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#52 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,615 reviews
Royal Beach Palace
#63 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort

Property: Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Address: 4060 Galt Ocean Dr, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-6501
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach, Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is perfectly situated minutes away from major attractions, restaurants and shopping. Rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerators, microwaves, hair-dryers, in room safes and coffee-makers. All standard rooms have a side-ocean view and open air balcony. Oceanfront view, 1 bedroom suites are also available. Our large pool deck features an oversized jacuzzi, heated pool, tiki bar and water sports. The resort also has an indoor/outdoor restaurant, fitness center, gift shop and mini golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sky Hotel And Resort
Ocean Sky Resort
Ocean Sky Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing