We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly old dump, do not stay here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Ranked #64 of 131 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 15 September 2009

If you listen to one thing make it this. I am in no way a picky person but this is the worst hotel i almost stayed at. Arrived at hotel with all good intentions the there website makes the rooms look nice but that all changed when i got to the room. Opened the door and was hit in the face with the worst smell , That bad that it made my stomach hurt. That was the best part, the bathroom had mold everywhere and the comforter had bloodstains on it!!! then i went down to the lobby and tried to talk to a very rude manager and all he said he could do is give me another room. so i looked at other rooms and it was much more of the same. so i asked for again for a refund and he would not do it, my guess is that they get alot of complaints and would end up refunding everyones money. ended up leaving and staying at the hilton marina very nice. also they will charge you $9.00 for parking in a little uncovered parking lot , not sure what your paying for here??? Just please dont stay here!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cletez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,130 - 1,136 of 1,570 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2009

As a family of five it was oky. some staff were friendly. the rooms were not nice needed a good clean. also look out 30 dollars a day to hire deck chairs around the pool also on the beach. also 9 dollars a day to park your car.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettyboo611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

The Pictures on the internet makes everything look nicer but I think that goes for all hotels. The hotel is a little outdated. However, it was clean, has friendly staff, and location was awesome. For the price you cannot complain. All though parking/valet was $9.00 per day it was well worth it. People at the valet were great!!! I definitely will stay there again. Great Location!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rowbau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

I booked this trip through hotwire and in the past had very good experiences. This time I was given the hotel from HELL... This dump has the furnishings of a 1970 motel 6. Even the lamp shades have stains. The hotel smell aweful and the employees are very rude and unprofessional. The closet doors won't close and the safe does not seem to work. The mandatory parking and safe deposit is a gimmick to get more money. The customer has to leave their automobile keys with the valet or park across the street in a lot. After calling hotwire and they confirmed this nightmare I was moved to another hotel the following day... AVOID THIS HELL HOLE!!! I would not recommend this dump to my worst enemy...

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

I stayed at the ocean sky hotel for 1 night before a cruise. Overall, the hotel is OK but it's the location that makes this hotel a potential good one.

HOTEL PUBLIC ROOM AND AMENITIES : The lobby area is good looking with marbles and nice furniture. The pool deck is really nice with lots of lounge chairs and it's just in front of a large clean beach. On the other hand, the restaurant of the hotel is not good. The service is pretty mediocre and the food doesn't taste very good.

HOTEL ROOM: First, let me say that the elevators and the hallways to the room are old and not so clean. The actual room is OK. The bathroom was clean with good size towels. The bed sheets were nice but the mattress and the pillows were pretty hard. The room is really not luxurious. The hotel really needs to do some refurbishment, in the rooms particularly.

SERVICE: The service overall was ok. Nothing more, nothing less. The service was representative of a 3* hotel.

OVERALL RATING: I give the hotel 3* out of 5* because the rooms need some refurbishment and the restaurant needs to improve dramatically (food and service).
But the location in front of the beach is what makes this hotel a good one if you want proximity to the sea.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinceg89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

I recently was booked with a group to stay at this hotel and I have nothing good to say about it. We had a very late arrival but was held up at the front desk for an hour while they experienced electrical/computer problems. We booked a king size room, got a double overlooking the garbage bin and the maintenance man was having a nap on our bed when we opened the door. We paid a manditory safe fee but there was no door on our safe! The bathroom and the bedding was dirty, everything smelled damp and the decor looks like it hasn't been updated since the 1970's. The second room we were given with the king bed was no better, the safe had a door but inside the safe we found illegal drugs! We talked to the manager and were offered a free continental breakfast and two free drinks (as long as it was beer). This was adding insult to injury! The whole hotel stinks of mildew and the restaurant was always empty for a reason. We ate there once and regretted it. The food took forever to arrive even though it consisted of sandwiches and fries, and it was gross and overpriced. The staff were unfriendly and unhelpful in all respects. There was a wedding reception one night and so all the hotel guests were forced to park their cars in an empty lot across the street even though we paid for parking! This place doesn't even rank a 1 to me, despite being beachfront--which was also dirty by the way.
Take my advice, find another hotel! The hotel refused us proper compensation so we made a complaint to the travel agent who booked us there and she sent it on to the Holiday Network where she makes her bookings. We got most of our money back thank God, and we'll never ever use this travel agent again. She said she was unaware of any problems but she obviously don't make it a part of her business to check online reviews or she'd never said anyone here ever again!

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Avalon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Upon arriving, the place looks nice from the outside. Lobby is pretty. Goes down hill from there. Elevators had expired certificates in them. Carpets all looked old. Room needs many repairs. Shower would leak all over the floor from faucet head. Balconies had very poor view and hate that all basically shared one. Bar and restaurant grossly overpriced- explains why no one was ever in the restaurant. Not allowed any outside food or drinks but have to because hotel overcharges for everything. Nice to have grocery store, McDonalds and other places within walking distance. Pool towels were very nasty- either bleach stains or red stains of some sort??? Wonderful access to the beach. Nice pool and pool area. Staff is not very friendly but valet attendants were very kind!!! Get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pittsburghgirl132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
#24 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
2,190 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#39 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
4,157 reviews
Royal Beach Palace
#33 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
2,943 reviews
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#47 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
219 reviews
Sea Club Resort
#89 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort

Address: 4060 Galt Ocean Dr, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-6501
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £95 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach, Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is perfectly situated minutes away from major attractions, restaurants and shopping. Rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerators, microwaves, hair-dryers, in room safes and coffee-makers. All standard rooms have a side-ocean view and open air balcony. Oceanfront view, 1 bedroom suites are also available. Our large pool deck features an oversized jacuzzi, heated pool, tiki bar and water sports. The resort also has an indoor/outdoor restaurant, fitness center, gift shop and mini golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sky Hotel And Resort
Ocean Sky Resort
Ocean Sky Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing