We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“is this a hotel or a prison?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Ranked #61 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 20 January 2011

I am frequent traveler and often stay at moderate priced hotels. This hotel was "picked" through a travel website for a quick vacation and was extremely disappointing. True, it is on the beach, but this place has nothing else going for it. You better pray the weather allows you to use the beach, otherwise you will feel like a prisoner in this place. Never in my life have I felt more unwelcome in a "hospitality" environment. Staff is rude and unfriendly, nobody smiles. They must be oppressed workers. You will be nickel and dimed to death, including a $10 "refundable" charge for beach towels...but you check out the towel, and there is nobody around to return it later in the day. Room is old, crusty paint, musty smell, non-working fridge, broken door to outside shared balcony (used chair under doorknob for security). Creaky room floors are not level, carpet needs to be replaced, minimal furniture (how about a desk?), shower is disgusting. Hotel restaurant was completely empty for two days....open, just nobody to assist. And there are minimal restaurants or nightlife nearby to escape to and help dull the pain....just dozens of senior citizen residences. The whole place just felt shady, as other reviewers have stated. Upon checking out, I was looking forward to responding to the usual front desk question "how was your stay?", but they never asked. Why would they? Management realizes they will never have repeat customers.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duffer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,023 - 1,029 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2011

The location Is nice, but the hotel itself is not good. The room smells like your in the public toilet. We had big problems with the hotel store, the prices there are 10 times more than in the store across the street so don't even go there. The staff is mean. They won't let you sit outside during the evening by the table, I just don't get why, you have to pay $10 for parking per day and the chairs by the ocean are also $5 a day. Over all the hotel policies are terrible. Wont go back. And would not recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 26lena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

The Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is a wonderful getaway. Right on the beach and next door to the Ocean Manor which has a tiki bar that is so alive at night! The food is great and service too. I am staying there again this April (2011) and cannot wait! Family and kid friendly. Not to mention every room has a balcony which is so amazing and the rooms are very clean! Cant wait for my next adventure at the Ocean Sky!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We checked into this hotel after a week at a Disney resort in Orlando. The reception area is clean and tidy. Self parking is $10/day (normal for Fort Lauderdale), with only valet parking allowed near reception, you have to park across the road. The safe is compulsory @$1/day. The room smelt damp which they blamed on the air con. We complained to Virgin Holidays who quickly contacted the hotel who offered us a room without beach view and with the balcony overlooking workmen hammering and drilling on repairs to the adjacent building. We kept our original room. The pool area is good but the best sun spots are reserved for cabanas for hire @ $30/day. In December the sun disappears at 2.30pm behind the hotels by the pool and the beach. Beach chairs are $10/day. The noise from the refurbishment next door continued for most of the day. The rooms are in need of an update with everything looking dated and one of the beds broken. After 2 days we contacted Virgin again and within 2 hours they moved us to The Sheraton hotel which we can thoroughly recommend and different class.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ripplewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2011

We hope that you don't choose an alternative! I wanted to offer some clarification on a few of the comments mentioned. We did charge for the in room safe for $1 a day but as of January 1, 2011, this has been eliminated. Lounge chairs are only charged on the beach as all lounge chairs around the pool except for the cabanas are complimentary. We believe as I mentioned in another post that the rooms will all be fresh and clean as we just put in brand new carpeting in every room.

Thank you for reading my view.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

To many hidden cost, and rooms need to be updated. To many things not working. Would not go back and would not recomnend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommy1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

we stayed here after returning from a cruise and what a disappointment. first impressions were not good. the lobby is ok and the staff friendly but from the moment you exited the lift you realise how poor and dated the hotel is. the paint work is chipping and the whole place needs refurbishing (which they are currently doing). our room smelt musty and even after opening the balcony door, this did not help. the balconies are not separated with a partition so you can walk from one room to the other. on a plus point , the hotel is clean. the breakfast was terrible and lacked any finesse. the waiter served the coffee in a mug with the spoon inside the cup. the service was poor even though at best there were one or two people eating. i think after sampling the food the first time you wouldn't want to come back. Never saw anyone drink at the bar. the hotel is not well located. there is a Mcdonalds, Dunking Doughnuts and a chemist - but the chemist is more like a supermarket. There are no bars or restaurants close by. the nearest is about a mile away so you are limited. so i would say if you have a choice - don't choose this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vercol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2011

I thank you for staying with us but apologize that you feel our resort was not an ideal choice. We feel strongly that there will be a fresh and clean smell in all the rooms as we just completed putting brand new carpeting in every room. We still feel that our location is indeed well located as we are one of a handful directly located on the beach in Fort Lauderdale and within 5-10 minute drive from some of the finest restaurants of all levels and great shopping.

Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Stayed in this hotel with my wife for one night prior to a cruise from Fort Lauderdale.
Friendly staff and a comfortable twin bed room. Needed an evening meal (having flown in from the UK via Miami). Sadly there was no choice outside of the hotel and therefore we had to eat in. We were the only diners and the restaurant lacked any atmosphere -although the food was OK. Breakfast next morning was on the patio and was OK. Not able to add this bill to our room account. Transfer to cruise ship was arranged by the hotel for $35 - a bit expensive. Hotel situated on the beach. For one night this was an OK acceptable stop.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingPensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,158 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,045 reviews
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#49 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Beach Palace
#30 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
649 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,861 reviews
Sea Club Resort
#81 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort

Address: 4060 Galt Ocean Dr, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-6501
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £102 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach, Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is perfectly situated minutes away from major attractions, restaurants and shopping. Rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerators, microwaves, hair-dryers, in room safes and coffee-makers. All standard rooms have a side-ocean view and open air balcony. Oceanfront view, 1 bedroom suites are also available. Our large pool deck features an oversized jacuzzi, heated pool, tiki bar and water sports. The resort also has an indoor/outdoor restaurant, fitness center, gift shop and mini golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sky Hotel And Resort
Ocean Sky Resort
Ocean Sky Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing